Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Not the typical book that I would buy, however with the 150th Anniversary coming up I thought it was worth a read. Very interesting, weighty to hold and great images- goes a LITTLE way to appreciating the level of work that goes into maintaining/upgrading the system!!
Published 18 months ago by jimbos77

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very attractive cover on the book but the inside content did not live up to expectations
I was initially attracted by the cover and subject of this book. As Londoner I kow quite a bit about the london underground, having travelled on it since the early 60s. The content is mostly relevant and interesting but left a lot to be desired. Many of the original stations were in by name only and in a book of this size I would have expected to see many more photos...
Published 17 months ago by Barbara Hosier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
Not the typical book that I would buy, however with the 150th Anniversary coming up I thought it was worth a read. Very interesting, weighty to hold and great images- goes a LITTLE way to appreciating the level of work that goes into maintaining/upgrading the system!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent momento of Tube 150, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. S. A. Bradford "avid reader" (West Sussex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
I decided to treat myself to this book for Christmas as the Tube 150 celebrations were coming up in early 2013. I was not disappointed. The quality of the book is excellent and is very well written with plenty of photos/maps etc. Several of the photos I had not seen before so the authors (there are 3) had done their research well. Would recommend to anyone interested in the history of the London Underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i wanted, 9 Feb 2013
By 
F. Macdonald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
i love the underground and wanted a history of this amazing structure, loads of historical pictures and facts and good representation of the last 150 years of the tube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVING HERITAGE, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
A first class account of the history of the Underground in London. Well written and well illustrated. A must for anyone who has lived or visited London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
This was got for my 7yr old grandson, he has been intererested in london underground and buses since very young, he was over the moon with the book . The book itself has a lot of interest to it, is a nice hard back,and am sure he will enjoy it for yrs to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a specialist encyclpedia, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
All the family dipped into it. The recipient hardly got a look in!!! We all were suppprised at how little we knew about London development. Even my husband who prided himself on his knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, informative and interesting, 28 Jan 2013
By 
billt (Winchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
I've got countless books on the London Underground but this is a welcome addition. It is well-written and informative - what you'd expect from these authors.

The scope of the book is far-ranging from the underground's beginnings to the present, covering the people behind the various lines and the impact they had on the population.

As always, you want more information but there's an excellent "Further Reading" section to compensate.

This book should appeal to all but the most knowledgeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London Underground, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
A nice hefty hard back with lovely pictures about London's underground network from the beginning.
It deals with early planning and design up to new plans and implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very attractive cover on the book but the inside content did not live up to expectations, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Barbara Hosier (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
I was initially attracted by the cover and subject of this book. As Londoner I kow quite a bit about the london underground, having travelled on it since the early 60s. The content is mostly relevant and interesting but left a lot to be desired. Many of the original stations were in by name only and in a book of this size I would have expected to see many more photos of stations. The layout of the book was very disappointing given the quite beautiful cover - a really good graphic design. I opened the book expecting to see page layout etc similarly designed. I will keep the book as a reasonably good record of the history of the Underground but I would not have bought it if I had been able to see the contents. It's a pity when viewing books online that most do not allow access to the inside pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every Tube fan!, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underground: How the Tube Shaped London (Hardcover)
The best documented book on this wonder's 150th anniversary. Happy Birthday!

Bought as soon as I discovered an abridged magazine edition at Victoria Station...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underground: How the Tube Shaped London
Underground: How the Tube Shaped London by Sam Mullins (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2012)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews