Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2013
This is a very detailled and academic book for the wine professional. It gives the history of each vine variety, but is factually laid out in an informative and straight forward manner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
This large, heavy and expensive encyclopaedia of wine grapes is beautifully produced. It is a worthy replacement for Jancis's original 'Vines, Grapes, Wines' published 27 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Everything you would expect for the wine buff who want to know about the hundreds of grapes used to make their favourite wine. Very comprehensive . Beautiful book. Worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
A must for everybody with a passion for wine and who want's to dig in deeper into the 'cepages'.
A digital version, an app for example could be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
By far the most comprehensive study of wine grapes to date. Outstanding book and I recommend it to anybody with a serious interest in wine. Thanks Jancis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Instant classic, sadly let down slightly by the printing issues on the grape variety family trees that render the parts closest to the spine unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This book appears to me to me incredibly dry and boring, but my husband loves all things wine and cannot put it down. He thinks its utterly brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Any review would have to be from my son ,but he told me that he was gobsmacked by the depth and scale of the book and was delighted to receive it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Really nice work, but it's not ampellography and few photos. Also there are many grape varieties ( especially from Greece) that are missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
A must for all wine lovers. Brings back the origines of grapes and wines and tells something of their itinerary of travel through the wolrd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)