Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Bible
A huge book in every possible way one could look at it. Just the thought of the immense work that was required for it makes my had ache. The editing could have been a bit better, with my main concern being the diagrams that are not visible. Of course one could argue that I can download them for the web site (which I did) but that is not why I paid more than 100 euros for...
Published on 8 Jan. 2013 by Kostas Lonis

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turgid
Worthy and comprehensive but completely turgid and therefore barely readable. It lacks the fun, soul and readability of her previous Vines, Grapes and Wines - which I found excellent - but now in need of an update. It has its uses; I refer to it often but it is akin to choosing wine based on a tech spec sheet of acidities, dry residual, alcohol and sulphur, rather than a...
Published on 24 April 2013 by Chesters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Bible, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
A huge book in every possible way one could look at it. Just the thought of the immense work that was required for it makes my had ache. The editing could have been a bit better, with my main concern being the diagrams that are not visible. Of course one could argue that I can download them for the web site (which I did) but that is not why I paid more than 100 euros for it (with the postage). The arguement about how thin are the pages and how small are the letters are valid, but on the other hand the alternative would be a book twice the size and weight. And I do like the fact that its one volume and not two.

This is a serious collective work, that requires a considerable amount of money and I strongly believe is only destined for those who are in the wine trade, wine students or just people that have a strong interest in wine. This is not something you would read casually sitting on the couch. The vast amount of information in this book, will be lost to someone who just drinks a glass of "(I don't care what) wine here and there".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy but Rewarding, 27 Mar. 2015
By 
Hugh de Lacy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
In 1986 Jancis Robinson broke new ground in popular wine writing when she published her book 'Vines Grapes and Wines', a comprehensive and very readable account of the characteristics, geographical areas, vinification techniques and lineage of many of the grape varieties grown around the world. This book is now out of print but is readily available on the second-hand market and is well worth reading if you have not already got a copy.

Like many others, when 'Wine Grapes' appeared three years ago I assumed that this was some form of updated version of the previous book. However this is a very different work, much more academic, covering a larger number of grape varieties and concentrating particularly on the lineage and history of the different varieties.

To write this new book Jancis Robinson teamed up with two co-authors: Julia Harding MW (one of Jancis Robinson key team members in the running of her website) and Dr José Vouillamoz, a Swiss grape geneticist with particular expertise in the DNA profiling of grape varieties. One of the outstanding features of the book is the use of original DNA research by Dr Vouillamoz to elucidate the provenance of many grape varieties whose origins were previously obscure. The results of this research form much of the core of the book and often make fascinating reading; to take one example, the book comprehensively puts to rest the Italian versus American argument about the provenance of the Primitivo / Zinfandel variety and which country has the right to make use of the name Zinfandel. Not only is it established beyond doubt that Primitivo and Zinfandel are genetically the same variety, the book goes a stage further and lists both these varieties under the main heading of 'Tribidrag', a previously unknown Croatian grape genetically identical to the other two varieties whose cultivation predates both of them.

While this book contains much information of great interest to serious wine lovers, apart from some introductory sections at the beginning, it is not a book to read through: it is a book to dip into and use as a reference resource. One of its most pleasing features is the inclusion of several family trees illustrating the ancestry of some of the more important modern grape varieties; these are often in double page pull-out spreads and show incredibly complex interrelationships between many modern varieties. They also illustrate how most grape varieties grown today have descended from quite a small handful of ancient varieties, the Pinot Noir of Burgundy being one of these. Unfortunately earlier editions of this book had a binding fault which made some of these diagrams difficult to view (see my note at the end).

The book is well indexed but it comprises a large number of relatively short articles with very many cross-references; this can make it quite tedious to trace the relationship between varieties that do not happen to be shown together on one of the included family trees. For this kind of exercise the Kindle edition of the work would be much more useful; on the other hand the large format and layout of the printed book is a great pleasure to browse and read. The ideal but rather expensive solution would be a copy in each format! The book is a very valuable complement to the earlier work and has become one of the most-thumbed books in my small wine library.

NOTE
Like many books these days this book is printed in China and the first printing run had a serious defect in the production of the case binding: the rear of the case was solidly glued to the back of the page block which prevented the pages from opening flat when the book is laid down on a surface to read - see photos. The most annoying result of this was that it was very difficult to see many of the double page lineage diagrams because they were partly buried in the deep fold at the centre of the book. The publishers made available downloadable PDF copies of the diagrams which somewhat mitigated the problem. It is very hard to understand how one of the most experienced UK publishers, the Penguin group could have made such a serious error in the production of very expensive volume.

I became very frustrated with this problem and ended up taking matters into my own hands: using a knife I forcibly separated the rear of the case from the spine of the book. This allowed the book to open properly but in achieving this I did do some slight damage to the rear of the case resulting in some lumps and bumps on the spine. With hindsight a better tool might have been a thin strip of metal sharpened at the end like a chisel. Attempt this at your own risk!
I would hope that this problem has been corrected on current editions but not having seen a new copy I cannot be sure about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wine grape bible!, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
A fantastic book on wine grapes. If you are dedicated to wine, this is a must in your library. I was a little dissapointed because I belived it would be pictures of every wine grape in the book, that is by far not the case. But you must admire the incredible amount of work put into this book, and I do not regret buying it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grape reference ever!, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
This is it - the one and only true wine grape reference book. If you're a wine geek or professional, don't hesitate! But don't expect a book which you can read from cover to cover. Instead, this is a reference that you will still use 10, 20, or even 40 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content - shame no photographs, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
This is a most valuable reference book which I will dip into for years to come. What a shame that photographs of the grape varieties are not included in the text. The paintings of grapes grouped together are neither useful to identify the grapes in situ or very in keeping with such a good reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference, 1 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
This is the ultimate reference to wine grapes and should resolve a lot of arguments. Every winemaker wishing to deal with non-mainstream or "alternative varieties" should have this book in their library.

P.S. As far as I know, I am not related to Julia Harding ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for real wine gig., 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
If there is only one book about grapes you should have that the one to have. Everything what you where ever wondering about in the grape world is hire, nice and concise a lot of discovery to be make so enjoy it....................LJK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterwork, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
This book represents years and years of research work, a fabulous enterprise in collaboration of 3 experts in the field of genetic variants of different grapes, of the history and of the culinary appreciation of wine.
Fedor B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide ti wine grapes., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
This enormous book deals with the many hundreds of known Wine grapes. It not only describes them but charts their origins, often using DNA analysis, It is a monumental work of reference which is a must for every oenophile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about wine grapes, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
H. Flatland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours (Hardcover)
A great book, full of information. Lots of new insights into well known grapes and lots of grapes never heard of! Very useful and informative.

If you want the deepest info on the wine grapes, this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wine Grapes: A complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours
£108.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews