Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding your Element is "vital to understanding who you are and what you're capable of being and doing with your life."
According to Ken Robinson, what he characterizes as "The Element" is not a physical location but the challenge is to locate it, nonetheless. "It's about doing something that feels so completely natural to you, that resonates so strongly with you, that you feel as if this is who you really are." Some people locate it in childhood, others decades later, and still others...
Published on 21 May 2013 by Robert Morris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am suspicious of 'how to' books as a genre ...
I am suspicious of 'how to' books as a genre but this one is cheerful, encouraging and optimistic. It can be criticised for addressing a privileged middle class audience who might be able to afford to change career path or have the luxury to indulge a passion whereas the majority of people are either unemployed or in jobs they can't abandon. But...Ken Robinson raises...
Published 7 months ago by Emma


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding your Element is "vital to understanding who you are and what you're capable of being and doing with your life.", 21 May 2013
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life (Hardcover)
According to Ken Robinson, what he characterizes as "The Element" is not a physical location but the challenge is to locate it, nonetheless. "It's about doing something that feels so completely natural to you, that resonates so strongly with you, that you feel as if this is who you really are." Some people locate it in childhood, others decades later, and still others never. "Finding your Element is a quest to find yourself...it is a two-way journey: an inward journey to explore what lies within you and an outward journey to explore opportunities in the world around you." Robinson wrote The Element (2009) with Lou Aronica who also assisted with the writing of Finding Your Element four years later. Ever since the first book was published, Robinson explains, "people have asked me how they can find their own Element, or help other people to find theirs."

In response, this sequel has five main thematic threads that weave throughout the book, each of which is intended to help the reader reflect and focus on finding their own Element and, if they wish to, help others to do so. Robinson provides ideas and principles as well as stories and examples, stories, and other resources such as 15 exercises to complete (more about them in a moment) and clusters of questions to consider at the end of each chapter before moving on to the next. In fact, each chapter title is a question. "Although there are ten chapters in the book, Finding Your Element is not a ten-step program." Just as Oscar Wilde once suggested, "Be yourself. Everyone else is taken," Robinson suggests that only the reader can answer the questions posed. "In the end, only you will know if you've found your Element or if you are still looking for it. Whichever it proves to be, you should never doubt this is a quest worth taking." True to form, Robinson asks most of the right questions but it remains for each reader to answer them, perhaps using some of the tools that Robinson provides. I have found mind mapping to be an especially helpful technique during both an inward journey of personal discovery and an outward journey of the world in which I live. As with answering questions, however, each reader must select which tools to use as well as when and how.

These are among the dozens of passages that caught my eye, also listed to indicate the scope of Robinson's coverage.

o A Personal Quest (Pages xxii-xxiv)
o Three Elemental Principles (19-27)
o True North (27-30)
o Hidden Depths (39-44)
o Finding Your Aptitudes (44-48)
o What's Your Style? (65-71)
o Two Sorts of Energy (84-87)
o The Unhappy Truth (113-115)
o Having a Purpose What Is Happiness? (117-120)
o The Meaning of Happiness (120-126)
o Seeing Through the Barriers (143-146)
o Who Are You? (147-148)
o A Question of 160-165)
o Figuring Out Where You Are (173-174)
o The Culture of Tribes (191-192)
o Moving Forward by Going Back (215-222)

As I began to re-read this book prior to composing this brief commentary, I realized that amidst all the information, insights, and counsel that Robinson provides in abundances, there were certain key points that I had missed. I strongly recommend re-reading this book, highlighting especially relevant material along the way and then reviewing that material from time to time. I also suggest keeping a notebook near at hand in which to record personal thoughts, feelings, experiences, concerns, and other professional as well as personal issues.

As quoted earlier, Robinson views "finding your Element is a quest to find yourself...it is a two-way journey: an inward journey to explore what lies within you and an outward journey to explore opportunities in the world around you." This is a never-ending process because each of us and our circumstances change and adjustments must be made to accommodate them.

This is what Ken Robinson has in mind, when concluding: "Like the rest of nature, human talents and passions are tremendously diverse and they take many forms. As individuals, we're all motivated by different dreams and we thrive -- and we wilt too -- in very different circumstances. Recognizing your own dreams and the conditions you need to fulfill them are essential to becoming who you can be. Finding your own Element won't guarantee that you'll spend the rest of your life in a constant, unbroken state of pleasure and delight. It will give you a deeper sense of who you really are and of the life you could and maybe should live."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am suspicious of 'how to' books as a genre ..., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am suspicious of 'how to' books as a genre but this one is cheerful, encouraging and optimistic. It can be criticised for addressing a privileged middle class audience who might be able to afford to change career path or have the luxury to indulge a passion whereas the majority of people are either unemployed or in jobs they can't abandon. But...Ken Robinson raises some interesting questions about how narrow our current education system is and how it undermines natural talents outside of academic achievement, a topic he has given many TED talks on. Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spring clean your life, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life (Hardcover)
Essential reading for anyone who feels they're just going through the motions and doing what's expected. Open your eyes to what you want to do instead. Lots of good exercises to get you to see yourself differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been shorter., 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ken Robinson is the guy who everyone should listen to when it comes to education, motivation and how the human Development Works. The book has too much fluff before it gets to the point. If it was me I'd publish this book in 40 pages and it would still get the work done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the tin, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life (Hardcover)
The good advice in this book could be written down in half-a-dozen pages at most. The rest is a bit dull. The author is clearly sincere in wanting to help people find their passion and in his belief that going so is a good thing. Can't argue with that. But the declared aim of this book is to tell you how to find your element and it really doesn't do that. The problem is ALL the stories of people following their passions start with a natural process of discovery - most of them a single life changing experience after which they just 'knew' what they had to do. None of the stories tell of someone who found their element through a process of analysis. I finished the book feeling that I hadn't learnt anything new or moved forward. I DID do the activities but this became harder because they are very repetitive and frankly unimaginative.

I came away liking the author and would have liked to have given the book a higher rating but it simply doesn't deliver on its aim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is helpful, 14 July 2013
By 
Anthony "Doe." (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life (Hardcover)
But it is not needed. IF you have 'The element' don't buy this! It is just cashing in on previous success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give this to you teenagers before chosing a profession., 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend anyone who is not clear of their future profession to read this. When you mix aptitude and ability with passion you get the sense of being in the "element". Work takes on a different meaning and is no longer "work" in the traditional sense. I wish more parents would give this book to their kids instead of pushing them to study without a purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take This Book On Your Journey Inwards, 15 Feb. 2014
'Finding Your Element' gives you the courage to explore your talents, passions and skills. You'll end up asking yourself difficult questions, which if faced honestly will provide easy answers.

In the final chapter the authors introduce us to Bronnie Ware who worked with terminally ill patients and they all shared five common wishes:

1. I WISH I'D HAD THE COURAGE TO LIVE A LIFE TRUE TO MYSELF, NOT THE LIFE OTHERS EXPECTED OF ME.

2. I WISH I HADN'T WORKED SO HARD.

3. I WISH I'D HAD THE COURAGE TO EXPRESS MY FEELINGS.

4. I WISH I'D STAYED IN TOUCH WITH MY FRIENDS.

5. I WISH I'D LET MYSELF BE HAPPIER.

Taking this book on your journey inwards maybe your first steps to a life without regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating book reinforcing the fact that our education system simply fails more people than it delivers too. Sir Ken at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Positive., 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The mission of this man is admirable and I wish him every success in transforming our education system. The related topic of this book is something I have practised my whole life (41 years so far), the pursuit of my element. Reading this book hasn't helped me get any closer to finding my element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life
Used & New from: £1.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews