Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous artefact in the form of a book.
The book arrived an hour ago. I opened its cover and leafed through the first twenty pages and it almost brought tears to my eyes. The layouts, the colours and the maps themsleves conjoured up the romance that I love about the railwa. Like the magic of the Orient Express, these early chapters took me through the excitement of opening continents and laid out - in an...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by The Magster

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but
A great idea but the result is a frustrating book let down by the design. Some excellent maps and interesting text, but the maps are often reproduced very small so you can't study the detail and the text is hard to read because it is written in some fancy font in a tiny point size. In addition the author has crammed into too many maps and the designer is clearly afraid of...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by J. S. Fowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous artefact in the form of a book., 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
The book arrived an hour ago. I opened its cover and leafed through the first twenty pages and it almost brought tears to my eyes. The layouts, the colours and the maps themsleves conjoured up the romance that I love about the railwa. Like the magic of the Orient Express, these early chapters took me through the excitement of opening continents and laid out - in an easy to look at format - the routes of the tracks laid down across these vast and largely unkown territories.

The sheer beauty of the maps, the richness of the tints and the sumptuousness of the posters here reproduced alongside the maps, illustrating key features of the subject countries, sometimes figuratively, conveys almost emotionally the passion of the people who made those originals works of art (because that is what they are) and that of the writer of this book.

This is a treasure that I will never lend anyone but my Xmas present list is well and truly sorted this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
This book is totally fascinating, every page is a delight. The maps are mesmerizing, the posters are unique intriguing and sometime baffling - some of the Canadian Pacific posters are quite the campest possible! The commentary is both interesting and humorous. I'm loving this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
Far more than a mere collection of maps, this book demonstrates the impeccable research and meticulous detail that I have come to expect from Mr Ovenden's work, having previously read 'Transit Maps Of The World' and 'Paris Metro Style: In Map and Station Design'. He explains the railways' history, their influence on time, societies and populations, and how they were marketed in the early days, alongside fascinating images. A shocking fact is that the networks of some countries have been literally decimated due to various reasons over the years and are nowhere near as prolific as they once were. The book then lists several maps from around the globe, and it is interesting to see how other countries present their public transport. I believe that every reader might learn something new about railways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
Fascinating book with loads of illustrations. I enjoyed reading about rail cartography and lots of interesting details throughout the book, like how railway time changed the way the world worked and Kharagpur has the longest railway platform (1072 meters) etc. It got more than 60 pages of Atlas of world railways. The author has done phenomenal amount of work to collect such a wonderful selection of maps. It is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
I love this book and have already had hours of fun finding my way across Europe on the train in fantasy! I'm a wimp who won't drive anywhere but the UK so knowing where one can travel to elsewhere on the train is great and this book has loads of factual info and interesting pictorial stuff. Unfortunately for me the maps are quite small and require me to use a magnifying glass to actually read some of the stations when planning my trips, but it's a book I can recommend to anyone who is into rail travel. They should make one of the UK as our railway network doesn't seem to be anywhere near as cohesive as what is in these pages for the most remote regions in Europe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but, 28 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
A great idea but the result is a frustrating book let down by the design. Some excellent maps and interesting text, but the maps are often reproduced very small so you can't study the detail and the text is hard to read because it is written in some fancy font in a tiny point size. In addition the author has crammed into too many maps and the designer is clearly afraid of white space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ideal for christmas, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
my eldest grandson is very keen on the railway system and the content and detail in this books just what he was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tantalising selection of maps, 12 Dec 2011
By 
P. S. Lee (Ely, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
The first thing you need is good light and a magnifying glass... Even so some of the maps are too small to be read properly, which is a pity as the most interesting have the most detail. Nevertheless the first 70 pages of this book do offer a absorbing review of railway history through maps and the various styles of maps and associated posters, and finally some great routes. The second part of the book attempts to provide a comprehensive country by country review of railway maps, but here it is all too clear that the source material used is very uneven in quality and this results in some bizare clusters of countries and a sense that some are included even through the material does not really justify the country's inclusion (eg Saudi Arabia). The title is "Great Railway Maps of the World" but frankly, many are not that great and some are downright "poor". As a result some great maps are given too little space and there is little explanation in the captions of why they are chosen and nothing on how they might relate to each other (eg India, and while we are about it, the historical connection of the Indian system to Pakistan and Bangladesh). This is just too tantalising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and my dad loved it!, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
I bought this as a birthday present for my dad and he LOVED it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Great Railway Maps of the World (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book. The maps are very small - there are generally 4 or 5 crammed on each page. They are in many cases completely unreadable, even with a magnifying glass.
I am not sure what the point is of showing maps when you can't see the actual station names.
Anyway, in my opinion, this book was a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Railway Maps of the World
Great Railway Maps of the World by Mark Ovenden (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2011)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews