Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handsome, elegant, beautiful book
The Sartorialist brings together the fashion and photography of Scott Schuman in a book as handsome and elegant as the old Milanese men he so admires. What I love about Schuman's photography is the personality. Undoubtedly, everybody in this book looks great, but no one looks the same. In his photographs he captures not just the beautifully tailored suits, the just-so...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by Matt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I only give it 3 stars because of the quality of photos inside
first of all, if your a photographer looking for influence without much of a focus on fashion, (even though i love fashion)
then theres no real point buying the book, its too small and theres hardly any writing in it, and no real order in the photos
feels like he's just slapped this together in a day and wrote a few paragraphs.

If your a big fan than...
Published 17 months ago by sam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handsome, elegant, beautiful book, 27 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
The Sartorialist brings together the fashion and photography of Scott Schuman in a book as handsome and elegant as the old Milanese men he so admires. What I love about Schuman's photography is the personality. Undoubtedly, everybody in this book looks great, but no one looks the same. In his photographs he captures not just the beautifully tailored suits, the just-so chinos and the dresses (summer, cocktail and otherwise), but also the greying hair, the coy smile or the nonchalant stare, all the idiosyncrasies that make his subjects so appealing to look at. And look you do - as just like his sartorially exquisite subjects - you can't take you eyes off this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photobook Volume 3 Candidate?, 22 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
Well worth the money, the pictures are printed sharp and the colours are fantastic.

Look out for the gent in the screaming purple suit WOW!. Or the oldish Milanese lady with a coat that matches her hair (in colour & texture) and her skin tones (colour). Bellisimo.

This book will eventually make it into Parr & Badgers The Photo Book VOL 3, there is no higher recommendation.
Why?
As it is a perfect representation of all Human Beings need to express themselves, their personalities their lives etc via their clothing.

Please do buy this before it goes OOP(Out of Print).

To the author well done a life times work recognised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for the many readers of the original blog, 2 Sep 2009
By 
onion (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
It's brilliant. If you like the photos on the blog, this is a great chance to get to pore over them in close up. I guess more commentary might be good but there's a lot of thought provoking shots in here. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun fashion, 20 Feb 2010
By 
S. Gibbs "Steve Gibbs" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
Really genius little book of image fashion from the streets - although suspect the prices for 'these little numbers' is eyewatering plus it helps to be in a cosmopolitan backdrop to get away with some, it's still fun and suggests you might up the style with a little imagination. I paid 20 in Waterstones for this... shish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Street Style, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
I had no idea who the Sartorialist was before I bought this book, however I read about it on the Topshop website and thought I would investigate further.
Instead of a collection of high fashion photos, the Sartorialist explores classic street style which is both inspirational and aspirational. The clothes speak for themselves (although a little more text would have been nice) and should encourage everyone with an interest in fashion to seek their own style and express themselves through clothes, whether high fashion or budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sartorialist : How to have style .........start by buying this book !, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
For anyone , of any age, Style ought to be of importance, and how you dress is a vital part of being stylish.
It's a fact of life, many people have great ideas about how they want to look, appear to others, but lack the courage initially, to execute the idea.
The Sartorialist, a fabulously illustrated and detailed book, full of exciting photographs of exquisitely clothed men, women, boys and girls, which originally started life as a blog, by a very talented Fashion Photographer in New York, shows what can be achieved.
Lavishly illustrated,the people involved show how beautiful style doesn't always have to be extravagant nor that being well dressed has to be expensive.
This beautifully compact book will excite those that want to dress to feel good, to impress and those that just want to admire the way clothes and accessories can maketh the man ....and woman !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile purchase, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
I bought this photography book as a gift for someone having seen it on a friend's bookshelf..I think it is definitely a key item in any person's book collection for the brilliant fusion of art, fashion and photography which Schuman so wonderfully captures in this piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very inspiring, 5 July 2010
By 
R. Omolekulo "Remi Rezka" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
i really appreciate the content of this book, not only for the clothes and the individuality of each person in the book, but the Sartorialist consists of generally good photography, i really love the story behind each photographs telling a story not just about the photographed pedestrian but also the persona of Scott Shuman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for your eyes, 30 May 2010
By 
P. Sutherland "Island Girl" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
A brilliant journey along many streets...fantastic shots and a great inspiration source for international style! A must buy for fashion students and fashion followers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effortlessly cool!, 11 May 2010
By 
Hannah Rose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sartorialist (Paperback)
I love this book! Filled with pages of super stylish, effortlessly cool pretty people. Whether you enjoy photography or are a budding fashionista, this book has something to offer. It's great for adding inspiration to your wardrobe and you notice something new every time you look at it. It's perhaps lacking commentary, but the original and chic styles speak for themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sartorialist Limited Edition
The Sartorialist Limited Edition by Scott Schuman (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 349.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews