Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Watchers
Elizabeth I looked unlikely to ever inherit the throne. However, when Edward VI died so young, after the brief reign of Lady Jane Grey and following Mary I dying childless, Elizabeth finally became queen. She found a country torn between the Catholic and Protestant faiths, rebellions and misery. Worse, she had no successor and, refusing to marry, none were forthcoming...
Published 22 months ago by S Riaz

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - BUT
This story is very interesting. I had not been aware of the extent of the espionage master-minded by Walsingham and Burghley. To that extent, it is well told.

However, the author seems to be unaware that those who are interested enough to read his book will be intelligent enough to follow a character from one chapter to another. Too often he introduces...
Published 18 months ago by LEGAL BEAGLE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Watchers, 1 Sep 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth I looked unlikely to ever inherit the throne. However, when Edward VI died so young, after the brief reign of Lady Jane Grey and following Mary I dying childless, Elizabeth finally became queen. She found a country torn between the Catholic and Protestant faiths, rebellions and misery. Worse, she had no successor and, refusing to marry, none were forthcoming. Luckily for Elizabeth, she had a good and loyal government, who used espionage, interrogation, surveillance, suppression of dissent, treason laws and propaganda to protect the queen from attack and the country from invasion.

Two key men who protected Elizabeth were Sir William Cecil and Sir Francis Walsingham and this book tells the story of how their loyalty protected her against a Catholic Europe that were united against her. They saw Elizabeth as the heretic daughter of the loathed Anne Boleyn and Mary Queen of Scots as the Catholic queen-in-waiting. Within months of Elizabeth being crowned, Mary and her then husband, the French dauphin, had dinnerware stamped with the royal arms of England. Elizabeth was understandably outraged and the insult never forgiven.

There is much in this riveting book about the threat posed by Mary Stuart - Queen of Scots - and this book recounts in detail all the major conspiracies linked to her, including the Babington plot. Mary was a figurehead of Catholic rebellion and she represented the most complicated political and dynastic problem of Elizabeth's reign. There are also threats of invasion, including the Spanish Armada. Lastly, there is much about Catholic priests being trained in Rome, described as, "the heart of the enemy's camp" and being sent on missions to work secretly in England. Spies existed in a network across Europe to intercept letters and gather intelligence, often working as servants, unsuspected in the heart of exiled Catholic households.

Lastly, this book asks how dangerous many of the perceived threats against Elizabeth were. Was there a likelihood that threats were discovered in order to gain advantage with the queen? After all, fear was something that could be used to secure Elizabeth's favour and there was infighting, especially between the Cecil's and the Earl of Essex after Walsingham's death. This is an excellent account of the Elizabethan era and the men who worked tirelessly to protect Elizabeth from harm. It is an exciting tale of ciphers, spying, danger, torture and endless plots and conspiracy. In the end, you have to conclude that whatever else may have happened, these men won by virtue that Elizabeth died in her bed at the age of sixty nine and that, some might say despite her best efforts to the contrary, these men arranged the accession to the throne after her death without religious turmoil or civil war (as you will see in the section about Mary Queen of Scots, these men were not afraid of risking Elizabeth's ire to do what they felt was right for the country). This is a fascinating account of Elizabethan espionage, undertaken by the government during Elizabeth's reign to keep the country safe from invasion and Catholic plots and the queen safe from assassination. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - BUT, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I (Hardcover)
This story is very interesting. I had not been aware of the extent of the espionage master-minded by Walsingham and Burghley. To that extent, it is well told.

However, the author seems to be unaware that those who are interested enough to read his book will be intelligent enough to follow a character from one chapter to another. Too often he introduces someone, describes his role and importance - then a couple of chapters further on, re-introduces the same person as though we had never heard of him!

He also does what is - I fear - a common thing in the days of "cut and paste". He makes a point in one place and then exactly the same point in IDENTICAL terms further on. Maddening.

There were times when I found the narrative "ponderous", as another reviewer said - but the basic bones of the story still gripped me.

Occasionally, I felt that the book consisted of a series of separate essays which the author had done for his MA - and then stitched together to make a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "No part deformed out of mind..as is the inward, suspicious mind", 22 Nov 2012
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In one of those histories that reads like a novel but is based on thorough research, "The Watchers" leaves us in no doubt that behind the swashbuckling exploits of Drake and Raleigh, the routing of the Armada and Shakespeare's vivid dramas, Elizabethan England was a violent and precarious world in which to live, operated like the forerunner of a police state. This was a response to very real threats: Elizabeth was regarded as an illegitimate, heretic queen not merely by the Pope but also the powerful Catholic rulers of Spain and France; the brutal 1572 St Bartholomew's Day massacre of French Huguenots was an ominous sign of what English Protestants could expect if Elizabeth was deposed in a foreign invasion. Many of the leading aristocratic families in England were Catholics prepared to support plots against Elizabeth. Her Catholic cousin Mary Queen of Scots was an ever-present threat ready to take her place.

As chanted from a book of common prayer, "Save us from the lions' mouth, and from the horns of the unicorns: lest they devour us and tear us in pieces."

With reference to surprisingly detailed records of intercepted letters, drafts thereof, and the various ciphers or codes used, Stephen Alford describes how most of the hundreds of Catholic priests who infiltrated England were mainly intercepted to be martyred, imprisoned or deported. He traces the careers of men like Thomas Phellipes, cryptographer, linguist and right-hand man of Sir Francis Walsingham who in turn worked for the Queen's leading minister, Lord Burleigh who wrote, "there is less danger in fearing too much than too little". Phellipes worked with a succession of agents, some "double", and helped to unmask a succession of intrigues, of which perhaps the most infamous was the "Babington Plot" which led to the controversial beheading of Mary Queen of Scots. With a fascinating regard to the rule of law, Walsingham was prepared to falsify evidence against Mary, but there was an insistence on a trial with reasonably convincing evidence, even though Elizabeth would have preferred a neat unofficial murder which would have left her clear of authorising the killing of another "crowned head".

The text is often repetitious, which pads it out unduly, but also helps to reinforce the main points, although some of the plot explanations are a bit long-winded. The list of "Principal Characters" and "Chronology" are useful for the general reader, with detailed notes for the academic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have found treason in trust ..., 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I (Hardcover)
In the Protestant English translation of the Geneva Bible Numbers 13:1-2 was rendered: 'And the Lord spake unto Moses, saying, Send thou men out to search the land of Canaan which I give unto the children of Israel'. Two words: 'The Spies' was printed in large letters at the top of the page. Clearly, then, spying, or in Elizabethan english spiery, could be justified to keep alive the Protestant Queen - Elizabeth. If she died, Alford imagines a likely scenario, then the land would be subject to both invasion - either from Catholic France or Catholic Spain - and civil war.

After 1567 the ante was upped by Mary Queen of Scots fleeing to England seeking sanctuary. (William Cecil remarked that Queen Elizabeth was a patient being operated on by the King of Spain and the Pope, using Mary as their scalpel). Also, it became easier for an assasin to carry out his work because of the development of the pistol, or dag as it was known. (The catholic Earl of Northumberland incarcerated in the Tower for treason took his own life by a pistol shot to the heart).

The Protestant spies came from all walks of life and spied for many different reasons. The reason they had such success was the management of them by Sir Francis Walsingham. Walsingham had the ability to make windows into men's souls and see their human frailities and exploit them for the Queen's well-being. Walsingham's implacable hatred of Catholicism was formed during his embassy to Paris - he witnessed first-hand the St Bartholomew Day Massacre and subsequent atrocities. His letter to fellow englishman Charles Paget whom he suspected, correctly, of trying to use him as a 'stalking horse', reads in part: 'You love the Pope and I hate not his person but his calling. Until this impediment be removed we two shall neither agree in religion towards God nor in true and sincere devotion towards our prince and sovereign'.

All that followed was aimed at one goal: The destruction of Mary Queen of Scots and this book is the story of the men who made that possible - the spies.

Many of the names are unfamiliar, as are their stories, but this book grips from beginning to end. I would say that in order to get the best out of it, you need to be an intermediate to advanced reader of Tudor history. And I would recommend that you follow up by reading John Guy's book 'My Heart is My Own' looking from Mary's perspective at the struggle between representatives of the state and an anointed queen. (Taking my own advice I'm re-reading my copy which, like Alford's, contains a lot of new-found material (2003) and is a compelling read).

Subsequently, I have also re-read Stephen Alford's book 'Burghley' (2008). It was written as part of the Yale series and has, therefore, an impeccable pedigree. Part of the triumvirate who kept Elizabeth in power (Leicester and Walsingham being the other two) he was a political animal through and through and a dynast. Where Walsingham broke himself financially in the service of Elizabeth, along with his health, Burghley finished his earthly course a very rich man indeed - passing on the reins of power to his son, Robert. A big read - my hardback copy is over 300 pages - it is, nevertheless, a worthwhile one to anyone interested in the period.

While I was at it, I also re-read the portion of Elizabeth Jenkins book 'Elizabeth the Great' dealing with the Babington plot. If you can get a copy, well worth adding to your bookshelf. She is good on Elizabeth's mental state at this late period of her reign without being judgmental. I also pulled Derek Wilson's book on Walsingham off the shelf and re-read from the Babington plot onwards. As always with his books I found myself glued to the pages, reading through to the valediction Wilson touchingly ends his book on. Wilson (like Walsingham a Cambridge man) applies Shakespeare's words on the meaning of love to the service Walsingham gave a somewhat ungrateful queen. (If you buy into the Gloriana myth never read a Derek Wilson book as he digs his quill rather sharply into that one).

In case you can't get a copy, here it is:

"It is to be all made of faith and service
... All made of passion, all made of wishes;
All adoration, duty and observance,
All humbleness, all patience, and impatience,
All purity, all trial, all obedience".

'Transfer those words from the romantic context to that of affection for queen and country and you have a fair portrait of Francis Walsingham'.

+++

Ay, a book is a lovesome thing God wot!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Ye Watchers and ye Holy Ones', 3 Oct 2012
By 
Wordman Baz "Baz" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I (Hardcover)
So begins a well-known hymn and it might well have been referring to the Elizabethan England of spies, counter-spies, encryptions, double-dealing and paranoia that Stephen Alford's book eloquently and dramatically re-creates.

As I write, leaders of the Anglican Communion are secretly meeting to choose their next preferred leader, who must be approved both by the Queen and the Prime Minister. The choice of the next Archbishop of Canterbury is fraught with difficulties: who, if anyone, can reconcile the differences that threaten to destabilise and perhaps split the Anglican Communion? Meanwhile, in The Vatican, the Pope's butler is on trial for leaking private papers which, he claims, reveal the corruption and intrigue at the heart of the Roman Catholic Church, a church now apparently trying to minimise the public 'outfall' of this episode, at the same time as it is riven with rumours and evidence of past abuses of those in its care.

Protestantism and Roman Catholicism are at the heart of historical intrigue in the Elizabethan state. Henry VIII made the dramatic break from Rome, desperate to find valid theological arguments to support his case and cause; protestant reforms continued during the short reign of the young Edward VI; Mary I ('Bloody Mary' ) reversed the religious thrust, persecuting and killing Protestants in her crusade to return England to Rome. Who knows how different our history might have been had her reign not been abruptly brought to an end by her death in 1558? Elizabeth and her officers then began the counter-attack, persecuting Catholics and hounding them from the country, where some plotted their revenge and the overthrow of the Queen.

Both within England and on continental Europe, those who challenged Elizabeth's right to govern and to be the proclaimed rightful head of the Church of England were assiduously tracked down, monitored and, in many cases, executed. To make this possible there existed a complex network of spies and counter-spies, passing on information, intercepting letters, encrypting their writing, espousing their cause.

At the centre of the web sit, spider-like, Walsingham, Burghley, Cecil and Essex, caught up in a frenzy of anxiety for the safety of the Queen and her realm, undermining plots, collecting intelligence, screening agents.

This is a book of profound scholarship that reads like a modern spy novel. The detail is engrossing, the narrative compelling. Even if you think you're not really interested in historical writing, you may be surprised by your response to this book. There are no annoying footnotes but an extraordinarily comprehensive chapter-by-chapter list of sources and a lengthy bibliography.

What did it do for me? It gripped me from page 1 to the end. I am not a historian but I have an amateur's interest in how and why this country has evolved as it has. I am also struck by the modern parallels that the reader can draw (Alford only hints at this, but it's not difficult to see). I am saddened that the kind of religious divisions and fanaticism that informed the ages of Mary and Elizabeth still impact in profound ways on our world today.

When I skim through the references at the end of the book I am reminded how much research is needed to write a book such as this. I also wonder at the wealth of information of our island's history that lies in the National Archives at Kew and in other archives.

It's a tribute to the author that, on finishing the book, I immediately wanted to read other books on the period: Stephen Alford's own book on Burghley; Thomas Penn's 'The Winter King' and John Cooper's 'The Queen's Agent'.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great subject, not quite a great book, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people know that Elizabeth 1 had one of the world's first spy systems, under Francis Walsingham, that helped find the evidence that led to Mary Queen of Scots execution at Fotheringay Castle. But many (or at least me) are hazy on the detail. Alford sets out to tell the full story, including: the spies themselves (notably Thomas Phelipes, one of Walsingham's code breakers); the political and religious context; and some of the great cases (the Babington Plot, the execution of Mary, the arrest of Edward Campion etc). Alford read many original documents (commenting on handwriting and amendments), and paints a vivid picture of paranoid times.

Alford tries to strike the difficult balance between providing enough background history for non-experts and enough detail about spies to be new. This did not quite work for me. Too much was a quick history of Elizabethan England (but well done) and there were gaps in the analysis of spying - eg how ciphers were broken, letters intercepted or intelligence used by Elizabeth. I don't blame the author, who clearly wants to reach a wider audience.

So while I enjoyed the book overall, it left me wanting either to buy a history of Elizabethan England, or a more detailed history of the episodes covered in the book. But as an introduction to either, this book works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Watchers, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book! It holds one's attention from the first page as it uncovers the story of spies, agents and double agents in Elizabethan England; the plots against the monarchy and the threats to a fragile Protestant state from the giant forces of Catholicism in continental Europe. The subject is amazingly well researched, particularly as many of the original sources are letters written in code. The author unfolds the narrative in a style which is accessible to the reader, whilst not undermining the complexity of the subject. He has an authoritive grasp of the period combining a deep insight into the motivations of the characters within it. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggling, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been hoping for a well-referenced, historically accurate description of Elizabethan spy networks. This book seems to be from the 'Hitler's eyes glinted' school of literature in which the author seeks to imbue historical figures with characteristics and feelings for which there is no authoritative source. But as a general description of the political currents caused by the Catholic/Protestant divide its an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This factual history is Better than most 'spy' fiction., 30 Jun 2014
What a cracking read. Full of fascinating characters, labyrinthine plots and derring do. As well as this though the truly murky and at times terrifying dealings of the Elizabethan spymasters are revealed.
I found it immensely readable and accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth 1 and those who watched her, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Tudor who played games to get her own way. Her attitude was really quite modern - My way or no way!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I
The Watchers: A Secret History of the Reign of Elizabeth I by Stephen Alford (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2012)
Used & New from: 4.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews