Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book apart on the wars against Bonaparte.
A fascinating insight into the Napoleonic Wars and the logistics behind equipping, organising and financing a major war, starting from the nadir of the 1783 defeat to the American Colonies, when British capabilities were called into question. Mr Knight gives the practical details of how to run a major war, rather than tales of battles and derring-do, yet the book remains...
Published 10 months ago by John Grimbaldeston

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rice pudding
It makes me sad to contradict the enthusiastic reviews above, for clearly an enormous amount of research and enthusiasm have gone into writing this book.
But there is no point to these Amazon reviews if they are not able to warn off potential readers, and no point in research if the author cannot communicate its results in an enjoyable form.
In this case, his...
Published 6 months ago by F. M. Stockdale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book apart on the wars against Bonaparte., 1 Nov 2013
By 
John Grimbaldeston (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
A fascinating insight into the Napoleonic Wars and the logistics behind equipping, organising and financing a major war, starting from the nadir of the 1783 defeat to the American Colonies, when British capabilities were called into question. Mr Knight gives the practical details of how to run a major war, rather than tales of battles and derring-do, yet the book remains easy to read, despite the length,though it is also shorter than the Amazon page length suggests, with 250+ pages of appendices, references and indices. Mr Knight's knowledge and attention to detail are impressive,yet he wears it all lightly. Thoroughly recommended, even if, like me, you know little of the campaigns outside of "Sharpe."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rice pudding, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
It makes me sad to contradict the enthusiastic reviews above, for clearly an enormous amount of research and enthusiasm have gone into writing this book.
But there is no point to these Amazon reviews if they are not able to warn off potential readers, and no point in research if the author cannot communicate its results in an enjoyable form.
In this case, his information having been divided into many separate (and repetitive headings), reading the result is like wading through rice pudding. By the time I found myself revisiting the abortive raid on Antwerp for the fourth time, I decided to close the book for the last time.
Worse, because of its uninformative index, I cannot see it being much use as a textbook or for reference.
A terrible shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class history, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
Detailed account that is excellent reading for anyone hooked on fiction based on Nelson's navy. Provides all the historical context that you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read into the 18th and early 19th century defence of the British Isles., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is a riveting account of Britain's relationship with Europe and in particular the machinations of the French Revolutionary war and Napolionic wars and how they affected Britain and the government of the time.

The book also deals with the British governmental structure, the personalities involved, how they were influenced, the decisions they made, their strengths and weaknesses and the outcomes that resulted.

The work is obviously the product of some extensive and detailed research and comes together in a really captivating read about momentous times for the people of this country under the threat of invasion at a time of sail powered warships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective on a familiar story, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Michael G. Hinton (Dover U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
This book explains the financial, commercial and industrial underpinning to Britain's efforts in the Revolutionary and Napoleonic wars. The subject may seem dry, but turns out to be fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English history, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Colin Chetwood "inquiring mind" (south west france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
Very,very interesting part of English history. Written by someone who has total knowledge of his subject. I recommend this book to anyone interested in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but dry, overly detailed, poorly structured., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
This was my choice for my economics book club, and it almost caused a rebellion. Although very positively reviewed everywhere, the book we read was dry, overly detailed and overlong. A few members accused me of having wasted a week of their lives, and spoilt their christmas holiday. Here are my notes:

Overall:
Some interesting information, but overlong, over-detailed, poorly structured, and lacks context. In particular if the aim is to compare the performance of Britain with France, then some discussion of French performance is required. To those of us interested in the broad themes of history, rather than the minutiae of which historical character did what, when, this book could form the basis of a useful pamphlet. It really needed a good editor.

The good:
1. Very good on logistics. I had not appreciated the difficulties of transporting an army to the continent and keeping it supplied. It is clear that Britain had no chance of confronting Napoleon on the field given its logistical problems. It could never hope to land an army larger than 70,000. Also, I had not appreciated how Britain's dominance of the sea gave it a communications advantage, in that messengers could travel more quickly by sea than overland.
2. Although it is not stated explicitly it is possible to see how the need to fund Britain's war effort led to a widening of the tax base, which in turn led to both demands for a widening of the franchise and reform of govt institutions. Middle class tax payers demanded both that their money were spent wisely and efficiently, rather than on patronage, and that they were represented in parliament.
3. Footnotes. As in many dry academic text most of the entertainment was to be found in the footnotes.

The bad:
1. Who was this book aimed at? It purports to be popular history but is dry, overly detailed and lacking in colour (for example, he states that Pitt the Younger fought a duel while still Prime Minister, but does not explain why). Yet for an academic text it lacks context and is poorly structured.
2. Lack of context: if Britain is outperforming France in its war financing, as he mentions, then it would be useful to have some information on how the French funded their war effort etc. There was none of this. We thus cannot adequately compare the performance of the French and British states and have no way of evaluating his thesis that Britain eventually won out over Napoleon because of its ultimately superior social, political and economic organisation. An alternative thesis would be that we eventually won simply due to our more balanced form of government: as Emperor, Napoleon, could do as he pleased, eventually leading to the disaster of the Russian campaign of 1812.
3. Poor structure: either choose to structure chronologically or by theme. Don't do both. The result is a bit of a mess. For example, in the later chapter "Blockade, Taxes and the City of London 1806-1812" he refers several times to the "first financial crisis of 1797", which he had covered in a mere half page earlier in the book. Why a whole chapter devoted to finance during the final 3rd of the war, but only brief mentions of it for the first 2/3rds
4. Excessive detail. What I wanted was a broad overview of the performance of the relative performance of the British and French social, political and economic systems. What I got was a vast amount of detail about who did what, when within the British establishment. Amidst all this minutiae it was difficult to keep hold of the bigger picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
fascinating insight into how the wars affected almost everybody in the british isles and the massive advances made in the period. Today's political class look like what they are: supine and useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815 (Hardcover)
Fascinating book, so thoroughly researched by the author and full of facts relating to the period.
I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain Against Napoleon: The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews