Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with some very interesting ideas
Excellent book with some very interesting ideas. I devoured it in a few days, something I haven't done with a book for a long time. I agree with some other reviewers that his terminology can be difficult for people unexposed to economics/finance, but he does his best to provide other examples and to highlight overly complicated sections that can be skipped by the less...
Published 4 months ago by Charlie

versus
58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More is Less
I found the underlying points made by Taleb interesting and enlightening in the sense that it offered a fresh perspective albeit that the underlying issues are not novel. To an extent his subject material is the behavioural equivalent of evolution. Our behaviour is informed by negative events as well as positive and this makes us more resilient. Someone who has the...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
Excellent read. Have read it 6 or 7 times now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final (perhaps) book in the Black Swan trilogy, ..., 18 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The final (perhaps) book in the Black Swan trilogy, Taleb brings everything together in his argument that we are not in fact in control of much of what goes on in the world, despite the assertions of academics and politicians. All we can do is realize what we do not know and optimize, or recognize, the upside potential when we find it. Taleb is violently anti-academic, holding them responsible for much of our lack of understanding and social problems. He also suffers from no lack of ego strength, which can be just a touch wearing after a while. But it is difficult to argue with many of his conclusions, as they contain the ring of truth. And he maintains that that 'ring' is precisely our most valuable asset, and is a more reliable guide than most of our school learned knowledge.
This is a complex work. Taleb is a polymath and he brings in vast amount of argument from mathematics, philosophy, history and every other discipline to make his case. His writing sometimes lacks clarity. But stick with it. This is an important work, and its conclusions apply equally to society at large and your own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
A thought provoking book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POLITICIANS MUST STUDY AND APPLY IT, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Yehezkel Dror (Jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
In principle I do not write reviews for Amazon on books already discussed by many. But this is an exception, because of the outstanding importance of the book combined with my feeling that published reviews miss at least one critical issue, epitomized by the author's statement "We need to..." (p. 412). But no agency which may act upon the crucial insights and recommendations is indicated. In this respect the book, however iconoclastic and paradigm-leaping, follows the usual reliance on some deus ex machine.
Taleb is too knowledgeable in the ways of the world to expect his moral insights to change actual behavior, or his ideas on antifragility to bring about a metamorphosis in the thinking of Nobel Prize economists. Hopefully, with time fuller recognition of Black Swan effects, possibilities to strengthen antifragility, ways to think on very small probabilities (p. 454) and so on may percolate into the minds of those who matter, adding up to a kind of paradigm shift. But humanity may not have so much time.
A current and a global futures example: What insights can be gained from the book on the problem of Iran moving towards nuclear weapons? And, to move to humanity as a whole, a robust prediction (yes, there can be some such predictions despite the counterclaim of the author) is that science and technology will supply easily available instruments of mass killing, and these are very likely to be misused for the worst by diverse fanatic "true believers" (a reality well known to the author in view of his background, as interestingly mentioned in the book). Consequently, prevention of production and diffusion of mass-killing instruments is imperative, leading to the need for a strong global security regime, contrary, however based on subsidiarity, to a main line of thinking of the book if I sense it correctly.
Therefore, critical audiences for the book include the relatively very few who exert significant influence on the future of most of humanity. Accordingly, senior politicians and their policy advisors, as well as public interest thinkers, must urgently study this book and apply it. And it would be good if the author would help by devoting his next book to the domain of public-political action.

Professor Yehezkel Dror
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've yet to Finish It, But I Shall!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It';s a Glorious Rant and well worth buying. I've always believed that we have to own up to personal views (after reading what others are thinking) and find our own Truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Matei Clej (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that infuses one with a new way of looking at the world, and a zest for life. The erudition and irreverence will have one chuckling into one's sleeve or even laughing out loud. It cuts through the petty obsessions and practices of modern life, the phony perceived wisdom, and especially the blind acceptance of certain classes of people as automatically worthy of respect. This book will urge you to rebuild your view of the world and your approach to life from scratch. Personally, I wanted to go out and conquer the world after reading this. I feel as sorry for people who did not get this book, or do not get Taleb, as I would do for people who think Dickens is 'too wordy' or Monet's paintings 'too hazy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fractally "organised/organized", 24 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
You don't learn from order. You learn from chaos. Nature is not ordered, is chaotic.
Brace. Brace. Brace. Then, read it all.
Caveat emptor: this book is not for so-called professional reviewers, who are so fragile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Consumer A "ReaderAAA" (England. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great book to have near you so that you can refer to it and remind yourself of and enjoy the refreshing outlook Nassim Taleb can impart on you. It has to be a book not a kindle. Wonderful, Enlightening and humorous. So enjoyable. There are parts that I found difficult to understand but the great thing about Taleb is his wonderful style of writing. If you continue reading he always manages to explain anything you found difficult by telling a pertinent anecdote which makes everything very clear. I look forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But far from concise. Almost like the author doesn't have much respect for our time. The content could easily fit in half the number of pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TALEB - BOOK 3, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Taleb has already written 2 very successful books: Fooled by Randomness, and Black Swan.

In Antifragile the world is; fragile, robust, or antifragile. Volatility harms fragile elements, robustness is neutral to volatile, whilst antifragility thrives on risk.

Though you may disagree with some of what Taleb covers in his theory, he does put together a strong argument on a wide variety of topics in economics to ethics.

Again a great book, but you do need to concentrate when you read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder
Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder by Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Hardcover - 27 Nov. 2012)
Used & New from: £4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews