Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wikipedia? I'd rather have this.
Ahh the humble reference book, much maligned in the early part of the 21st Century, but Pears Cyclopedia acts as a reminder of what we'd be missing if we simply relied on the Internet for all our factual needs. Jammed packed with fascinating facts and information this book is a must for any crossword fan, quizmaster or merely the generally curious. It's compact size...
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by J. Bludge

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars booklover
Slightly disappointed.I have a copy of the 1991/1992 version.When the new version arrived it was much thinner due to the fact that the paper quality is very thin and also there were no maps in the Gazeteer.
Published on 13 April 2010 by Mrs. Judith Robson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wikipedia? I'd rather have this., 19 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
Ahh the humble reference book, much maligned in the early part of the 21st Century, but Pears Cyclopedia acts as a reminder of what we'd be missing if we simply relied on the Internet for all our factual needs. Jammed packed with fascinating facts and information this book is a must for any crossword fan, quizmaster or merely the generally curious. It's compact size means it will fit discreetly in any bookshelf yet it is pleasingly weighty being hardback which lends a certain presence to it's feeling of reliability as a source of information. The only minor issue you may have with getting used to this book is the way the information is laid out (it is categorised and not simply A-Z) but that really is being picky. I don't see how you can go wrong with a neat little book like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars booklover, 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
Slightly disappointed.I have a copy of the 1991/1992 version.When the new version arrived it was much thinner due to the fact that the paper quality is very thin and also there were no maps in the Gazeteer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pears Cyclopeadia, 17 Oct 2009
By 
D. Davey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
An excellent book - there should be one on every coffee table or one alongside the dictioary. It's full of very useful information and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Errors, 9 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
I've always found previous editions useful and reliable however the first new article I read "Broadcasting in Britain" (D30)contains glaring errors such as "BBC2 began on 20 April 1962" (It was actually 1964). And "BBC2 pioneered television satire with That Was The Week That Was, 1962-3" when in fact TW3 was on BBC1 (or just BBC TV as it was known at the time) and finished the year before BBC2 opened. For good measure the first error is repeated in the Timeline on D32.

I'm now not sure how much of the rest of this book I can believe without checking the facts elsewhere just to be sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet to be beaten for sheer volume of information, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Helen Williamson "Chanteuse" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
I bought this version of the Pears Cyclopaedia for my mother whose original copy was out-of-date by about 20 years (meaning we were still at "cold war" with Russia!). As ever, the Pears Cyclopaedia is THE fact-file for all things weird, wonderful, interesting and fascinating. Separated into chapters such as "Prominent People" and "Maps of the World" this is a slightly-too-large-for-the-pocket-but-definitely-small-enough-for-the-travel-bag tome of epically small proportions. It contains an extraordinary wealth of information on such fascinating subjects as classical mythology, gardening and cookery and is most definitely the reference book of choice in households across Britain. They do go out of date over time but the old stalwarts such as the atlas aren't going to be changing any time soon and so even if it is a few years old, the majority of the information is still correct.

My mum, being the kind of person she is, reads it before she goes to bed - and whenever I chat to her on the phone, I'm usually treated to a "Did you know..." followed by a great little bit of info.

A must-have, truly great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pears cyclopaedia 2009-2010, 16 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
An excellent reference book for various facts and figures - especially when solving Sunday crosswords!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For sharp eyes only, 18 July 2010
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
I probably would have liked my copy if only the type were a little bigger so I could actually have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great source of info but pity the maps have been discontinued, 14 July 2010
By 
Paula Arthur (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
A very compact source of information - an indispensible "bible" for conversations over the dining table. My family has had a Pears in the house for years, but we do miss the maps in the latest edition. So, please reinstate them - an atlas is just too big to manoevre on the table as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 A very good reference book as loads of informations on all sort of subjects certainly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husbands 'bible', 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 (Hardcover)
My husband needed a new copy, he has used the last one till it fell apart. Good quality and great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010
Pears' Cyclopaedia 2009 - 2010 by Chris Cook (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews