Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2004
This is a great book for anyone interested in a) Pink Floyd, b) the work of conceptual design team Hipgnosis or c) the album artwork phenomenon as a whole. As an admirer of all three of these factors I have found this book to be of continual interest. Designer Storm Thorgerson talks us through the history of the band and his involvement in the early days in creating advertisements, promos and footage for live shows, before moving on to the real meat and potatoes of the book... the album designs as a whole. Here we see conceptual sketches, photographic tests and the actual finished design for landmark works such as Atom Heart Mother, Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here, Animals and the Division Bell. We also get numerous alternative designs and conceptual ideas that were never used, as well as anecdotes and interesting background info about how the designs came together and from where their initial inspiration was found. Thorgerson is a warm, interesting and intelligent host for the proceedings, taking credit where credit is due, but also graciously name checking all those who added to the history of Hipgnosis and the legacy of Pink Floyd. In full, this is an excellent reference book for art students, modern art admirers and Pink Floyd devotees... and, needless to say, it's packed with pretty pictures. 4/5
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
This is a must for the Floyd fan, particularly if you're interested in graphic design. Thorgerson talks us through the making of all of the PF covers that were his, explaining how each one was done often with amusing anecdotes relating to bizzare things like giant chairs and immense metal heads. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
I have always been wary of buying second-hand goods unseen and the description "as good as new" is often abused and can cover all sorts of shortcomings. However, as a life-long Pink Floyd fan I was keen to add Storm Thorgersen's excellent book "Mind Over Matter" to my collection of memorabilia, so I decided to take a gamble and buy a used copy, described as "as good as new", from the DerbyshireBookSeller via the Amazon marketplace. The book arrived less than 2 days after I had placed the order and the condition was excellent -and at half the published price, a real bargain. Excellent customer service - I will not hesitate to deal with this seller again if the opportunity arises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 1999
With a text by Storm Thorgerson(Pink Floyd's artistic advisor for over 30 years), and a foreword by David Gilmour, "MIND OVER MATTER" provides the most reliable insight into Pink Floyd's look, sound and feel. It's the best I've seen to this day. Start to finnish is pure quality full of dazzling artwork and interesting stories. A word of caution to all "THE WALL" fanatics out there; Thorgerson will only reference it twice out of 176 pages. This is probably due to the fact that Gerald Scarfe(A Sunday Times political cartoonist.)was the main artistic collaborator along with Roger Waters. None the less, this book is PRIMO!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 1997
Few people have been more closely associated with Pink Floyd over the band's 30-year career than graphic designer Storm Thorgerson. And virtually no one (outside the band members themselves) has been more responsible for the mystique that shrouds the band and its music.
In "Mind Over Matter", Thorgerson explains in some detail the concepts and techniques behind the creation of some of the most evocative and memorable images in the history of Rock and Roll. With stories and recollections dating back to the band's foundations in the mid-sixties, Thorgerson goes piece-by-piece through most of the band's catalogue, recounting not only how he and his team created the images, but also detailing what they are meant to represent and how they relate to the music.
The book features beautiful color reproductions of the band's album covers, lyrics layouts, and CD booklets. (All but two Floyd albums-- "The Wall" and "The Final Cut"-- are included ; these are omitted because Thorgerson was, in his own words, "temporarily relieved of [his] duties" for these albums.) But the biggest treat to the serious fan are the reproductions and discussionsof lesser-known images, such as a tour promo and program from 1975, and artwork specially conceived for the 'deluxe' boxed set "Shine On". Also included are the designs for the remastered and repackaged CD releases of the Floyd's albums, as well as some art which was apparently created just for this book.
As a full-sized coffee table book, "Mind Over Matter" is gorgeous to look at. Thorgerson's text, which is witty and insightful, makes for a good read. All in all, no Pink Floyd fan should be disappointed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
An insightful look into the thought process that goes on while designing album covers. If you plan on choosing a career as a designer - this is the book for you. If you're only in it for the Floyd - I can also recommend this one. Lots of inside stories, anecdotes and good old fashion gossip from a friend of the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Storm Thorgerson was a truly artistic visionary. The iconic art work found in the Pink Floyd albums is a testament to his genius and this book allows one to view them in all their glory whilst also enjoying the history of the creative process behind them. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of the band,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
Buying a Floyd album isn't just about the music. This book explores the artwork that accompanies every every Floyd release, from the simplistic prism to the flying pig. Storm's excellent comments, some beautifully pithy, make this a book every Floyd fan should have
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I bought this as a gift for my husband who is a massive Pink Floyd fan, he absolutely loves it, as the artwork for the group is so integrated with the music. The book is a real coffee table book with gorgeous illustrations and fascinating info. Even I was drawn in!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
I bought this for my partner who is a MASSIVE Floyd fan. He hasn't stopped reading it and informs me that it is really informative and a fantastic read. would recommend to any Pink Floyd fans out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse