Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, very detailed, but a bit lacking in the important stuff
There are lots of things that are great about this biography. It is very detailed, with a lot of information. It is well written and very engaging. However most of the information it provides is about Dolly's career and the details about that. What it doesn't provide is much information about the lady herself, what she is like, and her emotional life.

In some...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by lightinglife

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!
Totally unexiciting, i didnt enjoy it at all though i did finish it in the hope itd get better but no, thats 3 hours of my life i wont get back!
Published 18 months ago by angie kemp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, very detailed, but a bit lacking in the important stuff, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
There are lots of things that are great about this biography. It is very detailed, with a lot of information. It is well written and very engaging. However most of the information it provides is about Dolly's career and the details about that. What it doesn't provide is much information about the lady herself, what she is like, and her emotional life.

In some ways that is a good thing, as today's celebrities are all too keen to pour it all out in public I suppose. However you finish the book wanting to know more rather than feeling like you've found out more!

I do like the fact that there is little of the hatchet job in this, the writer is fair and when he includes negative stuff (e.g. from National Enquirer) he qualifies this as not likely. You get the impression of a down to earth but tough woman who, like most stars, is a little insecure... but you do realise how hard she had it as a child. I think she is so positive that the hard part of her childhood is rarely seen, but you do see it in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a fantastic woman., 5 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Maloney "Ciara Maloney" (Manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well i have been a dolly fan all my life so am probably biased. But if you dont like her now read this and you will have fallen in love. Growing up in a dirt poor family dolly had 2 fantastic loving parents and in the book you realise that her roots still mean alot to her. You can also read about all the charity work she does as therfe is a very loving caring heart behind the breasts and a very clever mind under the wig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Totally unexiciting, i didnt enjoy it at all though i did finish it in the hope itd get better but no, thats 3 hours of my life i wont get back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started off really well but the the words all blur into one flicked through a number of chapters before finally giving up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems the book just wants to keep naming people that Dolly has been in contact with and I find this rather boring as a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
This was not as expected, it was supposed to be an autobiography of Dolly but it was more of a who's who's, I found it incredibly boring. Some good information in the book but I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pressie Win, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
Got this for a friend and they said they couldn't put it down. I have seen Dolly in concert and imagine, if she is half as good writing as she is singing it will be great.
Friend review is that its a great portrait of the lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Dolly, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. V. Yates "Vinny" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
Bought for my wife but a really good read
The inspiring story of rags to riches whilst keeping her feet on the ground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any fans of country music, particularly Dolly Parton. I bought this as a present and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dolly book, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton (Paperback)
A good read if your a Dolly Parton fan, so hopefully the wife will like it once Santa has been
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton
Smart Blonde: The Life of Dolly Parton by Stephen Miller (Paperback - 2 July 2008)
8.16
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews