Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good inside track
Blackmore is a notoriously secretive character and in "Black Knight" Jerry Bloom has done a good job of pulling together almost everything that is available in one way or another without formal input from TMIB himself. This includes a range of magazine reviews, a generous helping of personal stories from ex-band members, friends and management plus some of his own...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by S. Foster

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lengthy but light
A full-length bio of the man in black is long overdue and this effort is worthy for the attempt but ultimately disappoints. RB is largely absent here except in the images painted by others from which we learn that he runs a tight ship, tends to play lots of rough but childish pranks on some new band members, learned to drive a car very late, has been known to exploit...
Published on 1 Jan 2007 by Veritas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lengthy but light, 1 Jan 2007
A full-length bio of the man in black is long overdue and this effort is worthy for the attempt but ultimately disappoints. RB is largely absent here except in the images painted by others from which we learn that he runs a tight ship, tends to play lots of rough but childish pranks on some new band members, learned to drive a car very late, has been known to exploit people and has at times been extremely rude. You didn't know this? The early chapters offer the most insights on his development as a player and a person, placing RB in the context of the emerging UK music scene but by the time we get to the DP and Rainbow days the text falls into the album-tour-album-personnel change-album-tour cycle that we all know so well without adding anything new.

Yes RB and co worked at a ridiculous pace in the early 70s, seemingly driven by a management determined to milk as much out of them as possible. That their work has stood the test of time so well is remarkable, but it's not clear why - there is no real critical analysis of the work offered here. The text relies very heavily on well-known interviews from magazines and in part on lengthy ramblng quotes from some of the less important sidemen in his career (Turner, White, etc.) when we really need the Gillan, Lord, Dio views. What makes the man the musician he is we shall not learn here. How do other guitarists of his stature and time view his contribution? How does RB view his own and various others' contributions? How does he create and write music? RB's relationship with his son is minimal, apparently, and he has had several wives and serious partners, though only one of them seems to have spoken to the author. The book is called the RB Story and that is what you get - a story more than a serious biography, pieced together from existing stock and presented too uncritically to offer fresh insight. The author makes it clear more than once that he knows or has met RB but little seems to have been gained from these meetings. It's difficult to get a real impression of the man from this, despite it's length, though I came away from the text with less interest now in RB than I had - he comes across mostly as a bit of a jerk who obsesses about success while feigning no interest in the industry. That he has made some of the greatest rock music ever is easily forgotten here, and why his work and solos went down the tubes in the late 1980s is not discussed though it's widely considered to be the case by fans and critics. In sum, this work needs to be significantly edited with a view to producing a more considered perspective on the music and the man who has lived the life, which after all is what it's all about. Yes, if you're a fan you'll buy it but if you yearn for serious critical analysis of rock music and it's place in our cultural heritage, then the wait continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good inside track, 15 Jan 2007
By 
S. Foster "sfoster105" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blackmore is a notoriously secretive character and in "Black Knight" Jerry Bloom has done a good job of pulling together almost everything that is available in one way or another without formal input from TMIB himself. This includes a range of magazine reviews, a generous helping of personal stories from ex-band members, friends and management plus some of his own anecdotes as an acquaintance of Blackmore's. He suggests he is a friend of Blackmore's so clearly, if he values that friendship, which I'm sure he does, then what's in the book must be pretty reliable. The book is a balanced account of Blackmore's 50 odd years of making music. Each period is dealt with in equal detail. I for one found the early years covering his late teens and early twenties as engrossing as the more famous 1969-1981 period. All the ups and downs from the Rainbow years are well documented and often very funny. They include comments from many of those who didn't cut the mustard and got the bullet - some before they ever appeared on record. I don't think Bloom has fudged anything - most of what's there seems to stack up and cross-reference with other information available. Bloom is well informed as the editor of one of Blackmore's key fanzines for many years - so he avoids the obvious and well-ploughed narrative.

A good read - I got into trouble with the missis for not being able to put it down - even when the kids were screaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re richie blackmore, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore (Paperback)
saw this book a while ago as i had a few books to read at the time skipped it but now ive purchased it found very interesting found lots of things i didnt know about ritchie about the songs he played on as a young man i think this book is informative and interesting recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's Not All Bad, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore (Paperback)
A great read from start to finish, very well researched too. I think I read another review on here stating there was a lack of insight, but I don't think so. The media portrays him as moody and difficult and perhaps he can be at times, but there is a sensitive side to Mr Blackmore that will surprise many. There is one story in particular that is very, very touching and reveals a tender side to Ritchie that most are unaware of. Gillan doesn't have a kind word to say about him, but then he's doesn't strike me as a particularly pleasant character himself. To sum up Ritchie I would say he's a prankster, perfectionist, virtuoso and entertainer - we don't get rock stars like him any more. Deep Purple are a shadow of the band that they were without him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The man in Black, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book, and i expect it will be the nearest you will get to understanding Mr Blackmore. it takes you through his career with Joe Meek,Deep Purple, Rainbow, and up to the medieval sounding Blackmores Night. Ritchie is a very complex character Always the joker, but sometimes what others have called moody and impossible to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Priorities wrong., 20 July 2007
This book was just okay, in fact I was contemplating only giving it 2 stars! My reason for this is that I feel the author has got all his priorities wrong. When I first saw this 400 page hardback I was really excited as I have always been an admirer of Ritchie Blackmore, however, the book seems to drag on and on and the author seems to concentrate as much on the practical jokes Blackmore used to play on people as his music. In my opinion for the useful information contained in this book, 200 pages would have been quite adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long overdue!!!, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Kevin Brennan "kevy" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i ve been a fan of ritchie since the purple ,rainbow days and still enjoy his work with blackmores night. he is a character that you often hear rumours about little stories and such. this eases all of that curiousity. its a very well written and researched history of ritchie. it draws on interviews of people who worked with him and also alot of material contributed by ritchie himself (altough it is an unofficial biography.

i really enjoyed this book and if you want to know more about some of those little stories like the guy who threw the flash cube or his fascination with spirits or him showing up alvin lee (one of my favourite bits!!!!!)

highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ritchie battles against Ian, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book, ritchie is an odd guy who is a plonker. He likes playing jokes on people but if your do it back to him he sulks. Anyway it was worth the time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore is a god, 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore (Paperback)
Bought this as a Christmas treat for myself, Blackmore has always been my hero. Found the book a good read, very informative, would have liked to have had more insight into the man himself,would recommend this to any avid Blackmore fan to get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time too..., 12 Oct 2006
If you're a fan of Ritchie Blackmore.

Don't argue, just by it.

You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore
Black Knight: Ritchie Blackmore by Jerry Bloom (Paperback - 2 July 2008)
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews