Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titled Correctly, 4 Oct 2010
By 
J. Rigg (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
Fabulously detailed, nicely balanced between fact and fiction, and beautifully artworked: this book really lives up to its name. Although aimed squarely at the ten-year-old, there is enough in there to engage younger children (my seven year old is totally absorbed in it), and there are a few bones thrown to the older Who geek too (the Target novel cover artwork for each episode in the current series being my favourite part - sadly not by Chris Achilleos, but you can't have everything ;)).

The amount of content in the book impressed me greatly. This is not just a magazine thinned out and given a hard cover as some annuals are; real thought has gone into the content, and there's a lot of it.

I'd recommend this for anyone with a child obsessed with Doctor Who, and there's enough in it to satisfy adult Who fans for the price, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Doctor Who Fans Everywhere, 6 Oct 2010
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
'Doctor Who: The Brilliant Book 2011' is best described as a companion volume to Matt Smith's first series as TV's favourite Time Lord. Part episode-guide, part-behind the scenes tome, part-annual, it pulls together a whole range of features in such a way that it's certain to keep even the most discerning 'Who' fan happy for a while.

Each story gets its own guide and supplementary material blending the fact and fiction elements of the series, some of it by the show's writers themselves - for instance, 'The Eleventh Hour' is accompanied by a guide to Amy's home of Leadworth, 'Victory of the Daleks' includes an insight into Winston Churchill's previous encounters with the Doctor, and 'The Lodger' is supplemented by writer Gareth Roberts' guide to writing for 'Doctor Who'. And if it's new adventures you're after, there are a few short stories in there as well, one of which is penned by renowned SF author Brian Aldiss.

The regular 'Doctor Who Annual' is aimed squarely at the younger end of the children's market, and 'The Brilliant Book' is ideally suited to older children or adult fans. It's been put together with a lot of love for the source material, and is very nicely designed. Many 'Who' fans would be happy to see this in their stocking come Christmas Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book Lives Up to it's Title, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
The must have book of the year for all Who fans is finally here, and boy does it live up to it's ambitious title. It's 131 jam packed pages of all the information, behind the scenes photos, interviews, stories and tips from the last season.

The book reads like an extra special edition of Confidential with lots of snippets from the writers/directors of each the episodes, we see how aliens and costumes evolved or were designed, there's even deleted scenes for each of the episodes.

There's been a great deal of thought put into the extras, there's a fantastic map of Leadworth complete with adverts for bingo night and the summer fete for example. Rory's Twitbook entries from his stag night show another side of him and his life in Leadworth. And his altered history as an Aunton is explored, we see that he and the Pandorica are in the Bayeux Tapestry and that one of his closest friends was Sir Samuel Pepys.

My favourite though has to be Winston Churchill's Lost Diaries which chronicle his meetings with each of the doctors. Starting in 1879, when he meets Doctor 4 during a Punch and Judy show, and ending in 1945, when he meets 9 for the first time and they travel back to Ancient Rome. These letters capture the essence of each incarnation perfectly.

There is of course interviews with all the main cast of season 5, Steven Moffat and composer Murray Gold. Some of the questions are a little mundane, yet are insightful and you really do feel that they all genuinely love working together. In 'Making Doctor Who' executive producer Beth Willis breaks down exactly what is involved in getting the show together. The sheer size of the operation from Moffat's original ideas to finishing the last of the CGI elements is phenomenal task, and makes me wonder how she can always seems to unflustered on Confidential.

The page that I think a lot of people will be talking about it the Dream Lords teasers, a long list he calls a miscellany of misdirection. 'Concealed within the following statements are a smattering of truths about what is to come for our intrepid amigo on his Saturday night sorties on BBC One in 2011. Everything else is a load of codswallop - fabrication - farrago - dream, geddit?!'.

We know that Moffat spent some time hiding some genuine spoilers in this article, some of them seem to hint some pretty big stuff too. I imagine that he will be chuckling away to himself for sometime before may of these, if any, are worked out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book and a must buy for fans of the show!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Lee Hughes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011

I purchased this book recently from Amazon.co.uk and I was amazed by the amount of content contained.
The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 includes interviews with cast and crew featuring the main characters and from Steven Moffat, who talks through the first year as writer for the new series. There is also a behind the scenes look at the music from composer, Murray Gold.

This book has a Hardcover, includes over 100 pages and if you love reading, it will keep you entertained for hours!

There is also an interesting guide to all 13 episodes from series 5 of Matt Smith's debut as the Doctor. Each episode guide is printed on two pages and features lots of interesting and fun facts about each episode.
The cast and crew also take you behind the scenes on the making of the show, which features even more interesting facts and interviews, and lots more. So if you like Doctor Who Confidential this book is also a must buy!

Whether you would like to find out how the Tardis is made or how the new Daleks are designed, creating the Silurians or how the programme gets put together, you can find out in this must have book for all Doctor Who fans!

If you loved the Doctor Who 2011 annual, you'll love this as this is similar. Buy this book now and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply BRLLIANT!!, 5 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
Wow...this book is one of the best doctor who books i have ever bought...it is presented well.....and full of teasers for series 6.....it really is a must for any fan....the brilliant book of doctor who 2011 is simply BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for Doctor Who fans, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Dorothy Connor (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
I bought this for a Christmas present, but of course read it myself before wrapping. Fun and worth buying, but some of it could have been taken from a fan magazine (eg. interviews with series actors).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
I am 13 and I love it! There is lots of information and cast interviews and a fantastic challenge from the Dream Lord!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
I really wish that the old Dr Who annuals in the 70's were 10% as good as this brilliant!! 10 out of 10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant indeed!, 4 May 2013
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
As the euphoria surrounding 'New Who' subsides somewhat, the BBC continues to support its flagship show with quality releases, such as this fascinating and sumptuously designed hardback book. Rather than a bog-standard annual with a glossy cover, this is a detailed and original attempt to appeal to existing Doctor Who fans and those less familiar with the iconic show's current personnel and many exotic worlds. With an episode-by-episode breakdown of the 2011 season, as well as new information from behind-the-scenes and imaginatively thought-up snippets such as a series of diary extracts detailing The Doctor's various encounters with Winston Churchill, this is guaranteed to keep any fan absorbed for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You got to love the doctor, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 (Hardcover)
After reading such good reviews i had to get this book. So glad i did, it's not like your average yearly annual which are aimed at children but more of an adult feel. ful colour pages of all the monsters the 11th doctor faced in series 5. great stories too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011
The Brilliant Book of Doctor Who 2011 by Clayton Hickman (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews