Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Appletown
An original Doctor Who novel. Telling an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory that hasn't appeared before in any other format. This is set somewhere in between the episodes 'Vampires of Venice' and 'The Hungry Earth.'

It runs for two hundred and forty four pages and is divided into nineteen chapters plus a prologue.

The main characters...
Published 13 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unclear Time
I read this novel twice. This was not because I enjoyed it so much that I had to go back for a second helping, though. No, the reason for the repeat was that I found the narrative too complicated to cope with first time around. Unfortunately, the second attempt proved to be just as confusing. The source of my bewilderment is the Doctor's yo-yo time line in this...
Published on 3 Sep 2010 by Foggy Tewsday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Appletown, 28 July 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel. Telling an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory that hasn't appeared before in any other format. This is set somewhere in between the episodes 'Vampires of Venice' and 'The Hungry Earth.'

It runs for two hundred and forty four pages and is divided into nineteen chapters plus a prologue.

The main characters are well captured with dialogue that you can imagine them saying on tv.

The subject matter is suitable for readers of all ages.

The prologue introduces us to two rather different Americans back in the 1970's. A scientist and a soldier.

Then when the first chapter starts the TARDIS brings the Doctor and his friends to a small American town called Appletown, in the early 1980's.

There's clearly something very strange going on there, and more to the inhabitants than meets the eyes. When things start to get out of control and Amy and Rory have to run for their lives, the Doctor needs to save them. Trouble is, his personal time stream has suddenly become rather different...

Although as mentioned the subject matter is suitable for readers of all ages, the plotting here is pretty clever and ratheer complex with it, so some readers might struggle a bit. Particularly with the way that the Doctor's sections fit in with everyone else's. Chapters and scenes will use different viewpoint characters. Sometimes the Doctor. Sometimes Amy and Rory. And sometimes the two Americans. The latter two character's scenes do gradually fill in the back story of what is going on here. Which does end up being quite interesting. The two do become fully rounded and strong characters who are quite good to read about.

Amy and Rory are absent for a lot of the narrative as a result.

Everything does come together quite nicely in the end, though.

The complexities of the structure of the narrative do mean this really is a book you will have to work hard at at times, but it is ultimately rather memorable and worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was fun to read but al backwards, 5 July 2013
By 
Richard Wilkes (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to read the book to understand my review title.
was a great read but a bit short. would of loved it to have been a bit longer but still a good read for fans of the 11th Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and adult if a little confusing, 2 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
A strange departure from the normal situations in this series, in that there are no hero children, no monsters and no innocent community to save. Instead it is scientists experimenting with artificial intelligence, robotics and the cold war. For that it is more tense and unpredictable. It also had a large section which was very original and clever, playing with the time travel idea - with the doctor running backwards in time. I'll admit I couldn't get my head around it - though it would be fun for a couple of paragraphs, there seemed to be inconsistencies in dialogue, and it got too complicated, especially when he began jumping backwards for short periods and replaying parts with different actions which then changed scenes which you had seen that occur before/after the change. In the end it spoilt the book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Nuclear Time, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
'My watch is running backwards.'

Colorado, 1981. The Doctor, Amy and Rory arrive in Appletown - an idyllic village in the remote American desert where the townsfolk go peacefully about their suburban routines. But when two more strangers arrive, things begin to change. The first is a mad scientist - whose warnings are cut short by an untimely and brutal death. The second is the Doctor...

As death falls from the sky, the Doctor is trapped. The TARDIS is damaged, and the Doctor finds he is living backwards through time. With Amy and Rory being hunted through the suburban streets of the Doctor's own future and getting farther away with every passing second, he must unravel the secrets of Appletown before time runs out...

A thrilling, all-new time travel adventure featuring the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked "The Big Bang", you'll like this one, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
This is one amazing read. Intricately crafted, this is a story that toys with the concepts of time and cause and effect in a way that would make even Steven Moffat's head spin!

It starts off innocently enough: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory land in an idyllic little American village - in the middle of the desert. Naturally, not everything is as it seems, and soon, a nuclear bomb threatens to destroy them all... and that's where it gets complicated. Really complicated. Because as a result of his attempt to stop the bomb from exploding, the Doctor finds himself living backwards through time - literally experiencing the world in reverse.

It's hard to say much more without giving away too much of the plot, but I can say that the writer did a good job capturing the characters. The Doctor is very definitely the Eleventh Doctor, and Amy and Rory's relationship is characterized well - especially Rory's voice is spot on. The couple's role in the story isn't all that big, their function mainly that of the traditional Doctor Who companion - getting in trouble and needing to be rescued by the Doctor - but they handle themselves well, especially considering what they're up against.

It's the Doctor's backwards journey through time, however, that makes up the meat of the story. And a fascinating journey it is. Again, it's difficult to say more without giving away the plot, but the writer took a mind-boggling concept and managed to present it very clearly and believably. It really explores the kind of problems you would run into if you were living through time in the opposite direction from everyone else - like how to communicate with someone when their responses precede your words!

This really is a fascinating book. I keep finding myself picking it back up again and again to reread my favourite parts. If there was ever a story that really should have been a tv episode, it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unclear Time, 3 Sep 2010
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
I read this novel twice. This was not because I enjoyed it so much that I had to go back for a second helping, though. No, the reason for the repeat was that I found the narrative too complicated to cope with first time around. Unfortunately, the second attempt proved to be just as confusing. The source of my bewilderment is the Doctor's yo-yo time line in this story.

Now, I know that this novel has received a good number of favourable reviews, and I'm perfectly happy to accept that the fault for my bemusement is my own: plenty of other readers have not had a problem with the story's non-linear structure.

Albert is a very clever man. At the novel's opening, 1973, the fruits of his labours are about to become apparent: artificial intelligence, and, further down the line, the advent of the android and robot assassins. But when one assassination on foreign soil turns into a massacre, the order is given for the androids' destruction. And it's this event that gives rise to the Doctor's skewed race against time, and where the muddle in my head begins.

It's a shame that I have this issue with the novel because otherwise it's very well written, particularly Albert's character. His emotional attachment to one of the androids and the isolation imposed on him by the military make him seem both psychotic and vulnerable. Amy and Rory don't get much of a look in, but their dialogue fits in well with their television personas.

Oli Smith has also dabbled with an out of sync time line for the Doctor in the enjoyable audio story The Runaway Train. That story's plot was far less convoluted and the time line aspect was an unnecessary adjunct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, amazing book!, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
`My watch is running backwards.'
Colorado, 1981. The Doctor, Amy and Rory arrive in Appletown - an idyllic village in the remote American desert where the townsfolk go peacefully about their suburban routines. But when two more strangers arrive, things begin to change. The first is a mad scientist - whose warnings are cut short by an untimely and brutal death. The second is the Doctor...
As death falls from the sky, the Doctor is trapped. The TARDIS is damaged, and the Doctor finds he is living backwards through time. With Amy and Rory being hunted through the suburban streets of the Doctor's own future and getting farther away with every passing second, he must unravel the secrets of Appletown before time runs out...

One of the best books out of the lot, and will have you guessing and guessing about
whats going on! I love all the books, and i recommend this book, and all the others to any
doctor who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong new twist on the time travel idea, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nuclear Time (Hardcover)
"Nuclear Time" manages to bring a new idea into the time travel element of the Who universe, as the Doctor finds himself running backwards through time in ways he can't control. It's a very interesting new twist that leads to a very complicated but understandable story, that doesn't patronise the reader with over-explanation and which might have you skipping back through the pages to double-check things, which in my opinion isn't a bad thing, though younger readers might get a little confused.

The rest of the story- the US Government trying to destroy their own prototypes of androids disguised as humans as they are too successful and too deadly- is more straightforward and runs a little bit like a Third Doctor story, with plastic men coming to life and a struggle between a brilliant scientist Albert and closed-minded military man Geoff.

Amy and Rory don't make much of an appearance, which again works well as they're not needed, as we concentrate on the Doctor coming to terms with being hurled around time without his TARDIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Nuclear Time
Doctor Who: Nuclear Time by Oli Smith (Hardcover - 8 July 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews