Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good old Doctor Who
I really enjoyed this book, it was written well and the plot just flowed just right, the ending I wasn't expecting either. Matt Smith's Doctor is really well shown in the story and I recommond it to any Doctor Who fan, who likes to be thrilled and yet laugh with it too :)
Published on 27 July 2010 by Mr. A. Lowther

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Rory fest
He's clever, he has hidden depths of warmth and compassion, he can diagnose medical conditions, he always has the answers to any problem, he can interface with alien technology with no former knowledge of it, he holds the hands of the sick and suffering, he helps all those around him. Yes, Rory is an amazing bloke.

Luckily we also glimpse the Doctor in this...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by C. L. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good old Doctor Who, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. A. Lowther "A.Lowther" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, it was written well and the plot just flowed just right, the ending I wasn't expecting either. Matt Smith's Doctor is really well shown in the story and I recommond it to any Doctor Who fan, who likes to be thrilled and yet laugh with it too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're coming, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel. Which tells an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory, never before presented in any other format.

It runs for two hundred and forty three pages. It's divided into a prologue and eighteen chapters. As usual with this range, it is suitable for readers of all ages. And the three leads are perfectly characterised, with dialogue you can imagine them saying on tv.

The story is set during the Eleventh Doctor's first tv season. Somewhere just past the middle.

The prologue details how a young girl once encountered the Doctor. And the result. You could be forgiven for thinking this is another re-telling of his first meeting with Amy. But there's the feeling that there is more to it than that.

After this, the TARDIS crew don't appear till gone page forty. As we get scenes involving alien spaceships and other aliens who are hunting them. Ancient Britons. Then a well characterised moment featuring a world war one veteran and his lady love finding something terrible in the countryside.

When the TARDIS finally arrives, it's in Britain in 1936. There's an archaeological dig near a manor house. A man who lives at the latter has been traumatised and warns of someone coming. Plus one of the servants seems to have their own agenda.

Why has the TARDIS brought the Doctor here?

And what lurks beneath the mound?

The pre Doctor pages are enough to keep you hooked. And then this does get rather good. It does take a while for events to really kick in, and spends a long time building setting. But the setting feels very convincingly like the period it's supposed to be. Events do then happen at just the right point to keep the plot moving along. The first glimpse the reader gets of something alien is a wholly original creation.

Everything does come together in time for it to all come to a head in the last fifty or so pages. There are a few surprises before this that you might not see coming. And said final fifty or so pages actually manage to do some things a little different to usual for this range.

A very involving read and a well above average release. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Rory fest, 20 Feb 2012
He's clever, he has hidden depths of warmth and compassion, he can diagnose medical conditions, he always has the answers to any problem, he can interface with alien technology with no former knowledge of it, he holds the hands of the sick and suffering, he helps all those around him. Yes, Rory is an amazing bloke.

Luckily we also glimpse the Doctor in this book. He falls down hills, he falls into sheep poo, he runs around and doesn't know what to do until Rory gives him the answers.

This book desperately needed proof reading before being published. The timeline is all over the place. We all know that the Vikings came to Britain around 1500 years ago. This book says that there were Viking settlements 4,000 years ago when the spaceship came. Later in the book this changes to 6,000 years. The disabled soldier was 37 in 1928 and is a veteran of WWI. OK. He is also 37 in 1936 and still a veteran of WWI. There is no sci fi business going on, the author just keeps making mistakes.

As for the plot, the woolly aliens cannot restart their ship due to damage 4,000 (or 6,000) years ago. They can now restart it even though it is more damaged, but they get their Glamour back. But they had their Glamour before, so why didn't they escape before? Sooo many plot holes. Short of changing the characters names every few pages the author seems to have little sense of continuity. Oh, hold on. He does change character names every few pages. The Glamour is an entertainment system, so how does it keep men immortal? So little thought put in. Ever since Capt Jack lived for a long time, we need more - apparently - we need more long lived men. Rory lived for 2,000 years, now we have this new bloke who watched alien TV and lived for 4,000 (or 6,000) years.

How did this book ever get published? It is clearly on the level of fan fiction *gag*.

Ignore this book. In this series of new books starring Doctor No. 11 "Apollo 23" is head and shoulders above the rest. "Night Of The Humans" is adequate, "The Forgotten Army" does not have enough plot and tries to make up for it by ladling new ideas on the thin underlayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2010
By 
Melissa "xenutia" (Robertsbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
This is probably my favourite of the Eleventh Doctor books, although "Night of the Humans" isn't far behind. It has a suitably original alien race in the Weave, some clever little things to make you keep guessing along the way, and some wonderful background and insights into the newest recruit, Rory Williams. An absolute must for Nu NuWho fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Glamour chase!, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
One of my fave books in the new series of doctor who books so far!
I've loved every minuet of reading and watching the new series of doctor who
(book/TV series)! I recommend the doctor who books, and this book in particular if your
a doctor who fan, and is you've liked or loved this series...Like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Particularly mysterious, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
Plenty of occurances here that differ significantly from the normal situations in this series. It isn't until chapter 4 that the Doctor appears, and by then there have been several truly alien situations, real wild science fiction which is refreshing and interesting. Shape changing aliens and a wide range of characters, often with their own mental problems make the twists frequent and hard to guess. Rory comes over as caring, and Amy very strong-minded. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Glamour Chase, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
'Why are you here? I mean - who are you, exactly?'

An archaeological dig in 1936 unearths relics of another time... And - as the Doctor, Amy and Rory realise - another place. Another planet. But if Enola Porter, noted adventuress, has really found evidence of an alien civilisation, how come she isn't famous? Why has Rory never heard of her? Added to that, since Amy's been travelling with him for a while now, why does she now think the Doctor is from Mars?

As the ancient spaceship reactivates, the Doctor discovers that nothing and no one can be trusted. The things that seem most real could actually be literal fabrications - and very deadly indeed. Who can the Doctor believe when no one is what they seem? And how can he defeat an enemy who can bend matter itself to their will? For the Doctor, Amy and Rory - and all of humanity - the buried secrets of the past are very much a threat to the present...

A thrilling, all-new adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric start, but tails off., 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
A quiet English village cut off from the rest of the world, an alien masquerading as a leading figure of the community, an archaeological dig shrouded in mystery and danger - sound at all familiar?

Well, there are no Daemons but there are two potentially interesting alien spieces concerned with the village of Little Cadthorpe. Both could have been better. The Tahnn are seriously under used whereas the Weave are just a bit too silly to buy into the idea of them. Their conflict is reminiscent of the Sontaran/Ruton war but then, unfortunately, fails to go that way. Instead we get the Glamour chase itself which seems a little muddled.

I'm not sure what the nature of the 'Glamour' is or exactly what it is. A weapon? A healing source? A psychic field? An entertainment system? Appearing both scientific and magical, it is never adequately explained despite being the subject of the title. This is a shame because it makes the motivations of the characters a little vague if you don't know quite what it is everyone is after. In some ways that doesn't matter too much if you just accept it and enjoy the 'chase'.

What stands out about this novel is the extra thought put into the characterisation of Rory who was not that well developed in the TV series at the time this book was published. If anything he is the more proactive of the characters, even more so than the Doctor. This is nice to see for a change but it does seem to be a bit at the Doctor's expense. The Doctor has a lot less to do than normal and it is his 'silly' side that is given more time in the novel.

In my opinion it is one of the better books to be released in Matt Smith's first year but it is focussed more on Rory and other characters than the Doctor or Amy. If you want a book more closely related to the first Eleventh Doctor TV series it is probably best to go for one of the others released in this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, a must for every Whovian., 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
I thought Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase was an okay read, and it's a must for every Whovian. One thing I will say is that the book is way too long, it tells a story that could have been told in about 80 pages, instead it stretches out to 243 pages. There is so much unnecessary blabbering on, sometimes I just think 'Get on with it already'. The story is typical of The Doctors adventures, the TARDIS takes him and his companions to a random place, something is wrong, aliens involved, someone is missing, and he tries to fix it all. I wouldn't recommend it to the casual fan of the show, but if you would consider yourself a 'proper' Whovian, then give it a read, you might end up loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
this book rocks lots of twists nice aleins and excellent use of a english villege

plot

something isnt right as rory said someone just walked over my grave the doctor is disturbed by the strange behaviour of the risidents more so the owners of a mansion that they are staying at a war survivor who can sence the enemy comming so what is the glamour and why is a woman found in a coocon

the plot is excellent perfect for a tv show and the cliffhangner could be when amy sees herself ( read the book and itll explain what i mean ) it is a bit confusing but as the story contiues it makes sence

the doctor

again very well wrritten love the way he makes fun of rory just like in the tv show and his manirisim ( his fingers thing turning round when excited his dialog) you can just imagine matt smith doing all this stuff

amy

perfect in every way possible cant say more than that

rory

not sure about him to be honest i can see him but thats it

villains

the men in red suits these guys remind me of the sontarans just the way they go about things not careing just going after a goal ( sontarans war these guys the glamour) these guys are my faves from the new books

the woolen things ( ok not so much villains but they do things wich villains take fun in )

they start off villaines but when you get well i wont spoil things but they are a wonderfull creation nice wrritten wonderfully humorous i want to see this on tv come on moffort

the others

the mansion owners are the only weak spot i did not get them as much as the aleins yea one of them has sympathy lashed over them but the others are just what ever i did like rorys (corect theory) on why this is happening but theres nothing there the ending with them was diffrent but thats it

so this was glamour chase i loved it the book moves like a duracell bunny and you can imagine eveyrything going on the regurlers was well wrriten ( dispite what i said about rory) the monsters was awsome what more can you ask for

downside

just the mansion owners they didnt do much and bores you quite easyly the story dose get off to a slow start but thats also serves the story purpose still slow pace isnt always good

great book with one or two downsides

A plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase
Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 8 July 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews