Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good old Doctor Who
I really enjoyed this book, it was written well and the plot just flowed just right, the ending I wasn't expecting either. Matt Smith's Doctor is really well shown in the story and I recommond it to any Doctor Who fan, who likes to be thrilled and yet laugh with it too :)
Published on 27 July 2010 by Mr. A. Lowther

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric start, but tails off.
A quiet English village cut off from the rest of the world, an alien masquerading as a leading figure of the community, an archaeological dig shrouded in mystery and danger - sound at all familiar?

Well, there are no Daemons but there are two potentially interesting alien spieces concerned with the village of Little Cadthorpe. Both could have been better. The...
Published on 28 Sept. 2012 by Alaran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good old Doctor Who, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. A. Lowther "A.Lowther" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, it was written well and the plot just flowed just right, the ending I wasn't expecting either. Matt Smith's Doctor is really well shown in the story and I recommond it to any Doctor Who fan, who likes to be thrilled and yet laugh with it too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're coming, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel. Which tells an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory, never before presented in any other format.

It runs for two hundred and forty three pages. It's divided into a prologue and eighteen chapters. As usual with this range, it is suitable for readers of all ages. And the three leads are perfectly characterised, with dialogue you can imagine them saying on tv.

The story is set during the Eleventh Doctor's first tv season. Somewhere just past the middle.

The prologue details how a young girl once encountered the Doctor. And the result. You could be forgiven for thinking this is another re-telling of his first meeting with Amy. But there's the feeling that there is more to it than that.

After this, the TARDIS crew don't appear till gone page forty. As we get scenes involving alien spaceships and other aliens who are hunting them. Ancient Britons. Then a well characterised moment featuring a world war one veteran and his lady love finding something terrible in the countryside.

When the TARDIS finally arrives, it's in Britain in 1936. There's an archaeological dig near a manor house. A man who lives at the latter has been traumatised and warns of someone coming. Plus one of the servants seems to have their own agenda.

Why has the TARDIS brought the Doctor here?

And what lurks beneath the mound?

The pre Doctor pages are enough to keep you hooked. And then this does get rather good. It does take a while for events to really kick in, and spends a long time building setting. But the setting feels very convincingly like the period it's supposed to be. Events do then happen at just the right point to keep the plot moving along. The first glimpse the reader gets of something alien is a wholly original creation.

Everything does come together in time for it to all come to a head in the last fifty or so pages. There are a few surprises before this that you might not see coming. And said final fifty or so pages actually manage to do some things a little different to usual for this range.

A very involving read and a well above average release. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Glamour Chase, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
This novel, first published in 2010, features the Eleventh Doctor (as played on tv by Matt Smith), who is travelling with Amy and Rory.

The novel starts out with what sounds like a rehash of the Doctor and his first meeting with Amy, but once you get further along in the book it becomes clear what is actually happening. A good device for the start of the novel, as we don’t even get to have the Doctor in the action of the book for quite a way. After the prologue, there is further action with a failing space-travelling ship which seems doomed. The crew tries to save themselves by putting themselves in stasis. We follow what happens to the ship next. And then the Doctor, with Amy and Rory arrives in England in a village in 1936, where the locals are involved in an archaeological dig. But what have they found, and why is the atmosphere in the village so strange to the time travellers?

This is a pretty good Doctor Who novel; Gary Russell is an accomplished writer of Doctor Who material, as well as Torchwood and Sarah Jane Adventures. The setup is good, and the story races along well to a good conclusion. The only quibble I had with it was that there seemed to be a little too much ‘witty’ talk from the Doctor at the expense of moving the narrative along. Apart from that, a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric start, but tails off., 28 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
A quiet English village cut off from the rest of the world, an alien masquerading as a leading figure of the community, an archaeological dig shrouded in mystery and danger - sound at all familiar?

Well, there are no Daemons but there are two potentially interesting alien spieces concerned with the village of Little Cadthorpe. Both could have been better. The Tahnn are seriously under used whereas the Weave are just a bit too silly to buy into the idea of them. Their conflict is reminiscent of the Sontaran/Ruton war but then, unfortunately, fails to go that way. Instead we get the Glamour chase itself which seems a little muddled.

I'm not sure what the nature of the 'Glamour' is or exactly what it is. A weapon? A healing source? A psychic field? An entertainment system? Appearing both scientific and magical, it is never adequately explained despite being the subject of the title. This is a shame because it makes the motivations of the characters a little vague if you don't know quite what it is everyone is after. In some ways that doesn't matter too much if you just accept it and enjoy the 'chase'.

What stands out about this novel is the extra thought put into the characterisation of Rory who was not that well developed in the TV series at the time this book was published. If anything he is the more proactive of the characters, even more so than the Doctor. This is nice to see for a change but it does seem to be a bit at the Doctor's expense. The Doctor has a lot less to do than normal and it is his 'silly' side that is given more time in the novel.

In my opinion it is one of the better books to be released in Matt Smith's first year but it is focussed more on Rory and other characters than the Doctor or Amy. If you want a book more closely related to the first Eleventh Doctor TV series it is probably best to go for one of the others released in this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Glamour Chase, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
'Why are you here? I mean - who are you, exactly?'

An archaeological dig in 1936 unearths relics of another time... And - as the Doctor, Amy and Rory realise - another place. Another planet. But if Enola Porter, noted adventuress, has really found evidence of an alien civilisation, how come she isn't famous? Why has Rory never heard of her? Added to that, since Amy's been travelling with him for a while now, why does she now think the Doctor is from Mars?

As the ancient spaceship reactivates, the Doctor discovers that nothing and no one can be trusted. The things that seem most real could actually be literal fabrications - and very deadly indeed. Who can the Doctor believe when no one is what they seem? And how can he defeat an enemy who can bend matter itself to their will? For the Doctor, Amy and Rory - and all of humanity - the buried secrets of the past are very much a threat to the present...

A thrilling, all-new adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The glamour chase, 6 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
I am a fan of Gary Russell's writing, and this is a truly outstanding example of his work. The storytelling is such compulsive reading that I simply could not put this book down! The aliens are a genius of creative imagination and I would dearly love to see this story translated to the screen, although it would likely be a tricky one to get visually right. Rory comes into his own in this story, and we see him in the rare situation of being more knowledgable than the Doctor in his field.

The story is set in 1930's Norfolk where an archaeological dig unearths an alien secret that has lain hidden for a very....very long time. Nothing and no one is exactly what they seem to be and I venture to say that you will be kept guessing until almost the end as to what really is going on. Interwoven through this tale is an insight into the relationship of Amy and Rory and their relationship with the Doctor.

In my opinion this is by far the best of the Doctor Who Novels so far released featuring the eleventh Doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2010
By 
Melissa "xenutia" (Robertsbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
This is probably my favourite of the Eleventh Doctor books, although "Night of the Humans" isn't far behind. It has a suitably original alien race in the Weave, some clever little things to make you keep guessing along the way, and some wonderful background and insights into the newest recruit, Rory Williams. An absolute must for Nu NuWho fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Glamour chase!, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
One of my fave books in the new series of doctor who books so far!
I've loved every minuet of reading and watching the new series of doctor who
(book/TV series)! I recommend the doctor who books, and this book in particular if your
a doctor who fan, and is you've liked or loved this series...Like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, a must for every Whovian., 6 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
I thought Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase was an okay read, and it's a must for every Whovian. One thing I will say is that the book is way too long, it tells a story that could have been told in about 80 pages, instead it stretches out to 243 pages. There is so much unnecessary blabbering on, sometimes I just think 'Get on with it already'. The story is typical of The Doctors adventures, the TARDIS takes him and his companions to a random place, something is wrong, aliens involved, someone is missing, and he tries to fix it all. I wouldn't recommend it to the casual fan of the show, but if you would consider yourself a 'proper' Whovian, then give it a read, you might end up loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Particularly mysterious, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase (Hardcover)
Plenty of occurances here that differ significantly from the normal situations in this series. It isn't until chapter 4 that the Doctor appears, and by then there have been several truly alien situations, real wild science fiction which is refreshing and interesting. Shape changing aliens and a wide range of characters, often with their own mental problems make the twists frequent and hard to guess. Rory comes over as caring, and Amy very strong-minded. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase
Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 8 July 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews