Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is as good as the TV series...
This book has lots of plot twists, funny moments, and it captures the Doctor and Amy Pond very well. It even takes things from the TV series - the Doctor saying "bow ties are cool", him calling Amy "Pond", references to meeting Amy as a child in 1996, references to The Eleventh Hour, shouting Geronimo...the list goes on. Anyone who likes the TV series should get this...
Published on 30 May 2010

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Film parody, irritating logic but some inventive science
There are some obvious influences here that are difficult to keep put of mind while reading. The first section is 'Night at the museum' where you follow a large animal, ridden by the heroes as it races around the museum after closing. After that come 'small soldiers' when the tiny army takes over with ingenuity and in this case speed. After that there are scenes in...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is as good as the TV series..., 30 May 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
This book has lots of plot twists, funny moments, and it captures the Doctor and Amy Pond very well. It even takes things from the TV series - the Doctor saying "bow ties are cool", him calling Amy "Pond", references to meeting Amy as a child in 1996, references to The Eleventh Hour, shouting Geronimo...the list goes on. Anyone who likes the TV series should get this book. It makes a great read between episodes and series.

Also, try out these books:
"Doctor Who": Apollo 23
"Doctor Who": Night of the Humans
Doctor Who - Series 5, Volume 1 [DVD] [2010]
"Doctor Who": The Tardis Handbook
Doctor Who Matt Smith The Eleventh Doctor's Crash Figure Set

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mammoth problem for the Doctor, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
A Doctor Who novel, which tells an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor and Amy that hasn't been presented previously in any other medium.

The book runs for two hundred and forty eight pages, and is divided into a prologue and twenty three chapters.

It's suitable for readers of all ages.

The two lead characters are perfectly well characterised, with dialogue that you can imagine the two stars saying. Since this was one of the first batch of Eleventh Doctor novels, and written before his first episodes were aired, that's a good achievement.

The story sees a mammoth being exhibited at a museum in New York. Which happens to come to life. The Doctor and Amy get involved, and find this is just a prelude. To alien invasion. New York becomes a battlegound where the Doctor and Amy, plus a few friends, have a fight on their hands to save the human race.

This hits the ground running with the whole mammoth set piece, which takes up a good few opening pages and keeps them turning very nicely as the pace of the book doesn't let up for a moment. This, coupled with some good supporting characters, makes for a good opening.

The reader is still hooked after that, thanks to some nice continuity references and a few unanswered questions. When the main threat does come along a little suspension of disbelief is required, but there are enough surprises in regards to it to make the level of threat more than you might expect.

Whilst it gets into more standard territory for this range after that, with the Doctor and allies caught up in the middle of chaos trying desperately to save the day, the writing is strong enough to keep the attention all the way.

A very readable entry in this range. Some may find certain plot aspects a bit too silly for their liking. But if you can as mentioned suspend your disbelief and just go with it, then this is an entertaining time passer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Marmite book!, 15 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. Harris "duncle" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
This book is insanely silly, brilliantly characterised, fast-moving and utterly divisive. To my mind this is by far the best of the three 11th Doctor books released so far. I accept, though, that many people will find it TOO silly, TOO mad, TOO rampantly daft to suspend your disbelief.

That's the Marmite effect.

It's also got the target audience in raptures. The one thing missing from the new season of Doctor Who on TV was an acknowledgement that children will be watching in their millions. It's all been a bit 'mature'. "The Forgotten Army" changes all that and reminds me why I loved the programme as a 10 year old boy in the first place!

Get reading everyone, and enjoy being 10 again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It takes a while, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is funny, exciting, and tense. Although it takes a while to get back into the action, it uses all the phrases e.g bow ties are cool etc. Overall it is a very good book worth the money and you should buy it. P.s don't give up reading it after the mammoth bit - it takes a while for the rest of it to kick in. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Film parody, irritating logic but some inventive science, 13 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
There are some obvious influences here that are difficult to keep put of mind while reading. The first section is 'Night at the museum' where you follow a large animal, ridden by the heroes as it races around the museum after closing. After that come 'small soldiers' when the tiny army takes over with ingenuity and in this case speed. After that there are scenes in various locations where I guess it would be useful to know the locations, such as inside the Statue of Liberty. Although the use of the small soldiers with their time freeze was inventive and interesting, there was much that was illogical, such as how you can hollow out a robot and still have it function perfectly, and whether parents would let their young children out to wander around the war zone. Combined with Amy's character being bossy and always trying to prove she is best it began to get irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Forgotten Army, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
'Let me tell you a story. Long ago, in the frozen Arctic wastes, an alien army landed. Only now, 10,000 years later, it isn't a story. And the army is ready to attack.'

New York - one of the greatest cities on 21st century Earth... But what's going on in the Museum? And is that really a Woolly Mammoth rampaging down Broadway? An ordinary day becomes a time of terror, as the Doctor and Amy meet a new and deadly enemy. The vicious Army of the Vykoid are armed to the teeth and determined to enslave the human race. Even though they're only seven centimetres high.

With the Vykoid army swarming across Manhattan and sealing it from the world with a powerful alien force field, Amy has just 24 hours to find the Doctor and save the city. If she doesn't, the people of Manhattan will be taken to work in the doomed asteroid mines of the Vykoid home planet. But as time starts to run out, who can she trust? And how far will she have to go to free New York from the Forgotten Army?

A thrilling, science fiction adventure featuring the Eleventh Doctor and Amy, as played by Matt Smith and Karen Gillan in the spectacular hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars and have enjoyed all the other books I've read, 29 Aug 2014
By 
This is the biggest load of tosh I've ever read. I am a Doctor Who fan, and have enjoyed all the other books I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Size Matters, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
It should have been the greatest day in Sam Horwitz's life. He was about to reveal the New York Natural History Museum's latest exhibit to the world: a Polar Woolly Mammoth. But this perfectly preserved specimen from a species thought to be extinct for 10,000 years suddenly begins to show disturbing signs of life.

Brian Minchin's first `Doctor Who' novel is an exciting romp with some nice comedy villains in the Vykoids. I say comedy villains because these bad boys are only seven centimetres tall. However, their tenacity and technological expertise make for tricky adversaries for the Doctor and Amy as the diminutive invaders take control of the city.

At times, I felt that the events taking place in this story veered toward the ridiculous, but there is a neat plot twist that explains how the Vykoids are able to do what they do. The characterisations of the Doctor and Amy are excellent, but I thought their introduction to New York was a little cumbersome with the Doctor spouting some nonsense about burgers and some people really being aliens. No doubt this was intended to add some humour to the book's opening, but I don't think it worked particularly well.

Overall, `The Forgotten Army' is a good read and once the story's main thrust kicks in, it keeps you entertained and turning the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING IF YOU LIKE DOCTOR WHO GET THIS BOOK!SOME AWESOME TWISTS AND TURNS ENSUE. GET IT NOW! DO IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really my cup of tea, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army (Hardcover)
The book started good - got the characters spot-on, some good laughs, and a nice idea to start with. But over the course of the events the whole thing just became too weird - and I don't mean weird in a good "Doctor-Who-weird" sense, but more the "what the heck..." weird. Somehow the threat didn't seem so threatening, and the silly side of it became a little too prominent (dressing policemen up with tiaras etc) for my liking. Plus: I do like a strong companion, but this is the 3rd time now - in 3 books - that Amy has to get through a big part of the story on her own, and the second time she had to rescue the Doctor. Maybe it was the same in the earlier (2005-) books, and I just didn't really notice, but with this Doctor and this companion it's beginning to annoy me a bit. I did finish the book, but the last 100 pages I really had to convince myself to not just put it back onto the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army
Doctor Who: The Forgotten Army by Brian Minchin (Hardcover - 22 April 2010)
6.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews