Customer Reviews


15 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stories, stunning photography
This book tells the stories of the people featured in the TV series of the same name. As a local company in Mongolia, we helped the film crew with research and logistics to film Ganbold, his family & camels in the Gobi Desert, Chuluun's family and their horses in the central grasslands and Sailau and Berik and their eagles in the Altai Mountains. They have captured the...
Published on 21 Feb. 2011 by Kath

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and interesting!
Love Tim Allen's superb photographs! Thank you!
Published 8 months ago by Angel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stories, stunning photography, 21 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
This book tells the stories of the people featured in the TV series of the same name. As a local company in Mongolia, we helped the film crew with research and logistics to film Ganbold, his family & camels in the Gobi Desert, Chuluun's family and their horses in the central grasslands and Sailau and Berik and their eagles in the Altai Mountains. They have captured the families so well in the series and the book - it is really very true to life. Well done. We bought copies of the book to send out to them so that they can not only see their own new found fame, but also see other extraordinary cultures across the world. It's so nice for them to have something to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC you continue to amaze me!, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
Just when you think the BBC's Natural History unit could do nothing to surpass their recent achievements they go & pull another rabbit out their hat. An anthropologist's dream, this series must have been a long time in the making.

Both the book and the series follow some of the most remarkable & resourceful humans on the planet. Those who struggle to carve out an existence in areas of the world which most people would believe impossible. The book divides these stories into each of the habitats on Earth that humans have chosen to make their own. Some of these would seem inhospitable at first glance, but each have been populated by people who have learned the survival skills necessary to live in that niche. Once learned, these skills just become part of normal life, no matter how exraordinary they might seem to us. This book focuses on the relationship each group of people has built with the world around them.

The chapters are as follows:

The March of Humanity - firstly dealing breifly with each habitat separately. Then:
Grasslands
Oceans
Rivers
Jungles
Deserts
Arctic
Mountains
Urban

The Human Planet book is the ultimate keep-sake, containing the most spectacular photographs, it'll put your copy of 'Wildlife Photographer of the Year' to shame. In fact the first thing I did was just study each beautiful image from cover to cover before even starting on the content. It's not a big as I was expecting, but there is certainly enough fascinating detail & each story is so unique it'll keep you busy between episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars human planet, 8 Mar. 2011
By 
S. J. Bail - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
Opens your mind to the world as a whole - rather than just ways that I'm used to. Makes more appreciation of how life throughout the world is - how diverse and how easy or difficult living is. Acompanying the tv series, the book brings the truth to life. A must read for extending the knowledge about humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Planet, 17 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
This is a book of beautiful photographs, by Timothy Allen, mapping the incredible diversity of human life. It blows your mind to know that the human spirit can endure many forms of the geographic landscape, with intelligent and respectful ideas, in order to sustain their lifestyles and beliefs. The best book to have on your coffee table, everyone loves viewing it!Human Planet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Planet - brilliant, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Taylor (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
This series on the television is absolutely brilliant and the book is just as good. Well worth the money and has been well looked at by myself, my daughter and my grandchildren.

The book arrived well packaged and was delivered faster than I expected.

Altogether brilliant book, brilliant service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series ever, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
Wow! What to say? This series is probably the best BBC nature/human series ever. The quality of the stories, the filming, the variety of different cultural groups in the same environmental areas were all breathtaking. Can't recommend this series highly enough. Have used it to demonstrate issues such as living with a sparse water supply, rainforest conservation and many other geographical topics.
Excellent service from the seller. Highly recommend both product and seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table winner, 2 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my elderly parents and they haven't stopped raving about it. When I finally managed to get my nose in it I could see why. Its a delight with stunning photography and a credit to the TV program on which it was based. A superb gift for oneself as well as for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series and an Amazing Book, 1 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
This is one of the best photographic books I have seen and own. The images are incredible and ofcourse varied due to the locations covered. It captures the world the way it is. Tim Allen - great photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book, 25 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
Who could fail to be impressed with the fabulous detail, this will join our other treasured series from the BBC - long may they continue to make their amazing programmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars human life, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Human Planet (Hardcover)
This excellent book from the natural history unit of the BBC was published to accompany the TV.series of the same name and describes how humans have adapted to live in various environment eg. arctic,jungle,grasslands,mountains,oceans,rivers and mountains.
Very well written and researched and with excellent and in many cases unusual pictures such as the Papuans representing the spirits of the forest and the Wodaabe dancers.
A highly recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Planet
Human Planet by Brian Leith (Hardcover - 20 Jan. 2011)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews