Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good-value guide to the basics
This is a no-nonsense, budget, pocket-sized guide to the basics about growing vegetables. Aimed at the beginner, it covers the 16 most popular vegetables which people like to grow. Look elsewhere for a book covering the more unusual or exotic: this is all about growing the vegetables which will provide a meal just for yourself or your family.

At its heart are...
Published on 16 April 2010 by Wiltshire Bookworm

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but not comprehensive
This book does contain some helpful advice for beginners, but the authors may have forgotten just how little a true beginner knows! I could have done with fewer photographs of beautiful, plump vegetables just ready for picking (there are lots of these) and more photographs and text showing exactly how to perform some of the basic tasks, step by step, of which there are...
Published 24 months ago by DavidL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good-value guide to the basics, 16 April 2010
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
This is a no-nonsense, budget, pocket-sized guide to the basics about growing vegetables. Aimed at the beginner, it covers the 16 most popular vegetables which people like to grow. Look elsewhere for a book covering the more unusual or exotic: this is all about growing the vegetables which will provide a meal just for yourself or your family.

At its heart are two key questions: How much time do you have? and What do you like to eat? Far too many other guides forget these fundamental questions and then we see plenty of articles wondering why enthusiastic gardeners give up with growing their own.

All the basics are covered from getting to know your soil, tools of the trade, choosing which varieties to grow, sowing seeds and planting out. The practical possibilities of what can grown in the tiniest of places to a full-scale allotment are explored.

Detailed instructions for growing the 16 'Foolproof vegetables' are given - covering beetroot, broad beans, carrots, chilli/sweet peppers, courgettes, kale, lettuces, onions, potatoes, radishes, rocket, runner beans, salad leaf mixtures, salad onions, swiss chard and tomatoes. Once these crops have been mastered, then the gardener is well-equipped to try any others they might fancy.

The final section of the book is all about garden maintenance: watering, feeding, a glance at pest & disease control (though there is a more detailed companion volume: "Gardeners' World": Pests and Diseases on this subject available), composting, soil improvement, crop protection and attracting wildlife to be your 'garden helpers'. Finally harvesting and storage tips are given.

All this is packed into a pocket-sized book of 208 pages, plus a decent index and plenty of helpful photographs. Good value for the price and guaranteed to encourage the most reluctant of vegetable growers to have a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pocket guide to growing your own, 26 Oct 2010
By 
E. Cooper (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
`First Time Veg Grower` by Martyn Cox is one of the small books in the Gardeners' World Series. If you're new to growing veg then this book would be a good place to start for a simple reference guide that's not too big to fit in your pocket or your bag if you're heading out into the garden or down to the allotment. It has a nice wipe-clean cover and looks like it would stand a lot of abuse.

More importantly, it covers all the basics. The first section explains how to get started, by thinking about how much space and time you have available, and what you might like to grow. It tells you how to prepare a seed bed, dig properly, and check the pH of your soil. Then you're on to seed sowing and planting out, through planning and into choosing tools.

The second section looks at where to grow your vegetables; there's advice for gardeners with little space, decent kitchen gardens, allotments and greenhouses.

The book walks you through choosing the right varieties for your garden, taking into account space restrictions, your tastes and your growing experience. Then there's a section on `Foolproof veg', although in my experience there's no such thing. But it covers all the popular crops, such as potatoes and runner beans, beetroot and salad leaves.

The final section is all about how to maintain your vegetable patch once it's up and running - watering, feeding, controlling pests and diseases, composting, attracting wildlife, weeding and improving your soil.

In short, this is a compact, handy guide (with plenty of colour pictures) that would be a good companion through your first couple of seasons as a veg grower. If you have a little more experience then you'll find it too basic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Little book, 24 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
I'm a first time vegetable grower. This book is very useful, especially the section on foolproof vegetables. I keep on referring back to it for planting directions and general advice. I like the little nuggets of information set out in the green boxes. This book together with "The Essential Allotment Guide" by John Harrison are really the only books you need to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but not comprehensive, 23 April 2012
By 
DavidL (York, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
This book does contain some helpful advice for beginners, but the authors may have forgotten just how little a true beginner knows! I could have done with fewer photographs of beautiful, plump vegetables just ready for picking (there are lots of these) and more photographs and text showing exactly how to perform some of the basic tasks, step by step, of which there are few. I was also disappointed that some common vegetables which beginners would likely want to try to grow were not explained at all, such as peas. So while there is undoubtedly some helpful advice here, it is by no means comprehensive which left this beginner with the need to seek further explanations elsewhere. If you are a beginner looking for just one book to explain the detailed steps for most vegetables then in my opinion this is not the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars helpfull book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
this book was good for me ,gave me lots of new information, with some helpful tips for the beginner,very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book for beginners, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
This book was brilliant for me. It explained everything and gave me all the information I needed from choosing the veg to plant, how to prepare the soil, how to plant, when to water and when to pick. Even how to avoid or get rid of bugs. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift for hubby, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
My husband loved this handy sized book, has loads of great tips for the first time veg grower, cant wait till summer to try it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for first time grower., 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter who decided to grow vegetables for the first time in her garden. She has found itt very useful and is already growing vegetables and fruit successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a Beginner, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
I have just started growing my own vegetables and have found this to be helpful, easy to understand and quick to read. It's small size makes it easy to actually have out in the garden with you in case you want to quickly check something. Recommend for any beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought as gift for new gardener, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower (Paperback)
Friend delighted with book and is happily starting first ever gardening, happily so easy to follow instructions for planting , when and how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d0ef3c)

This product

Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower
Gardeners' World: First Time Veg Grower by Martyn Cox (Paperback - 18 Mar 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews