Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Jack is back!
This eagerly awaited Torchwood novel, penned by John and Carole E. Barrowman, lives up to expectations. Who better to co-write an adventure centred on Captain Jack Harkness than the actor who has played him since 2005 - John Barrowman himself?

The characterisations are perfect: we already know Jack, Gwen and Rhys, but we meet new friends and enemies during the...
Published 22 months ago by Citygirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S OK
Have read half of the book in stages, will plod on to the end but am not enjoying it like the other TW books. (have read all of those). Keep getting confused not only with the characters, but the timelines as well. (was confused with MD, had to watch it twice and still confused LOL).
Published 18 months ago by Lesley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Jack is back!, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Hardcover)
This eagerly awaited Torchwood novel, penned by John and Carole E. Barrowman, lives up to expectations. Who better to co-write an adventure centred on Captain Jack Harkness than the actor who has played him since 2005 - John Barrowman himself?

The characterisations are perfect: we already know Jack, Gwen and Rhys, but we meet new friends and enemies during the course of this exciting adventure.

Women are being driven mad... strange things are happening to the Earth... but why can't Jack remember key events from his past? And how are they linked? This is what you'll find out as you turn the pages of Exodus Code. Set firmly in the world of Torchwood, after the Miracle, the writing drives the action forward with energy, intelligence and humour.

The story would make an excellent fifth series of Torchwood. Here's hoping!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Hardcover)
As a book fan and a torchwood fan I loved the story and characters. The concept was unique and flirty Jack was back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Jack's back saving the world, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Hardcover)
From the very first chapter this adventure is a real page turner so much so that I read it in 2 sittings. The characters of Jack, Gwen, Rhys and Andy are well known to TW fans but this story will appeal to non-woodies as well. It is possible to read and enjoy without knowing any of Jack's or TW's history so on this basis deserves to be viewed as a stand alone novel.
The writing is pacy and the plot, far from being formularic as some of the other TW novels have been, is quite complex. The new characters are well drawn and the flashback chapters are a real bonus in establishing the story and building the excitement to a fantastic climax. It is the perfect follow up to Miracle Day and there are hints at how our favourite characters have been changed by those events.
The writing as we should expect is quite different to Hollow Earth, the Barrowman sibling's book for young adults proving that they have versatility and this would make a great film. Let's hope this is the first of a series of TW novels by Captain Jack himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent but short, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decent story, and it's good to have more Torchwood out there.
Unfortunately the book is too short... more character development would have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood fan, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a complete John Barrowman and Torchwood fan I eagerly awaited this book.
The characters are portrade well together with the storyline.
However, I do like to see my characters in the flesh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love that since we have to wait a lifetime for another torchwood series, john barrowman had took up upon himself to keep to entertained with a torchwood book !! Keep up the brilliant work .. Hope there's more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read., 16 April 2014
By 
A. Lockley "Who Fanatic" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Paperback)
Not sure how easy it is to write about a character you played on TV but a good effort by John and his sister. Got a sense of Miracle Day in some elements of the tale. Did get a little confusing in places but Torchwood is like that. A lot longer than the earlier Torchwood novels, therefore a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Paperback)
Really enjoyed the book.
Ending rather confusing but didn't spoil the book.
Have passed it on to both of my daughters to read.
Would recommend it to anyone who loved the series on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Harkness, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Paperback)
I really loved the series shown on the TV and when I heard about Carole and John writing this book (along with Hollow Earth which I thoroughly enjoyed even though written for the teenage market and Bone Quill - (awaiting local library to obtain copy) I took the plunge and ordered it. I am enjoying it very much indeed. It is well written and is getting more and more exciting as the story unfolds. A great read for lovers of Torchwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make this into a movie, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Exodus Code (Hardcover)
Good story and would make a great movie for Capt Jack. Loved the book and would like more, Carol Please?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Exodus Code
Torchwood: Exodus Code by Carole E. Barrowman (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews