Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars81
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£21.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2010
Finally someone has written a book on propagation in plain english that you dont need a degree in horticulture to understand ! good photos and a follow through from start to finish, most books on this subject tell you how to take a cutting etc BUT they dont tell you what to do with them afterwards well done Carol & take note RHS on how to write a book on propagation,a must buy book for the enthusiastic gardener,Nick Allen.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
A well designed and illustrated, clear, practical manual, which is also beautiful and readable enough just to browse. Useful for both novices and experienced gardeners.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
I perused this item yesterday evening with a cup of tea and can honestly say I passed a very pleasant and enjoyable hour taking in Carol Klein's advice about propagation of all different sorts of plants. Good images with clear instructions means you can increase the stock from your own garden and fill your space or grow to swap or sell on. A definite for the economy-driven gardeners. I shall use mine as a teaching aid for Horticulture. Happy stock increasing to you all!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
This book is a good read even if you don't try any of the things it instructs you to do. Full of Carol Klein's enthusiasm 'though, you can't help but be keen to get out and have a go.The only thing missing that I would have liked is a month by month guide.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
this book gives very clear pictures and information on growing your own plants, from seeds and cuttings, she is a very enthusiastic lady and this comes across in the book, this helps you to gain the confidence have a go
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
Wonderful book written by a very knowledgeable lady. Ideal for a tight-wad like me who baulks at the prices charged by garden centres. Clear instructions and beautiful illustrations.

This book covers all the different techniques of propagating and shows in great detail how and when to do it. An excellent "quick reference" section tells you the best method to use for each plant and the aftercare section is very useful.

This is the first Carol Klein book I have ever bought but it certainly won't be the last!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Just about all the ordinary gardener needs to know about propagation (and more)!
Clear, concise, easy to follow. If there are any other methods of propagation I certainly haven't heard of them which means for me, everything within this book I can follow and, hopefully, succeed with. This book will last anyone a lifetime and be well used.
I can hear Miss Klein's down-to-earth, no-nonsense voice, describing everything in a calm confident manner, without patronising, leading me to believe I can do all these things. All I need is practice.
Carol Klein is to me a female version of Alan Titchmarsh..or is it the other way around. No matter! I am a huge fan of both and with maybe just a little luck they will make a good gardener out of me.

Buy it or drops big hints ... you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
A brilliant book, full of detail and all the information you need to get you up and running with all things concerned with propagation. The photos really help to see what the words are saying. Carol's style of writing is infectious and makes you want to get out there and actually do it rather than thinking you might get around to it one day. I've got several pots of fledgling cuttings within a week of getting the book as evidence.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
This book is perfect for this time of year - lots of handy and useful information if the weather's looking OK to do a spot of gardening and start you growing your own plants (thus saving a fortune down at the garden centre in the process!).

But if its pouring down outside (just like this weekend) then its ideal to just sit down and look at the gorgeous pics of what your garden could look like (OK - thats a definite "COULD") with a nice cup of tea and a biccie!

Perfect for an aspirational - and admittedly fair-weather - gardener like myself. I'll definitely give it a go though and try to avoid spending £50 every time at the garden centre (once it stops raining).
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
I was quite impressed by this book, which was well illustrated and gave clear instructions. The book is divided into chapters covering all the major methods of propagation, with a section at the end of the book matching plants to propagation techniques, which i found very useful.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)