Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2,031 of 2,056 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what recipes are included in the book...please read my review below
I thought I'd list the recipes contained within the book...as when I was looking to purchase the book, I couldn't find a contents list anywhere :-).

You'll find that Mary Berry uses minimal ingredients, and yet the cakes are superb.

I've listed the recipes below...enjoy.

Sooz.

Madeira Cake
Large all in one Victoria...
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by Sooz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baking book with just a few photos??
Looking for a good baking book, and reading the reviews I’ve decided to buy Mary Berry's Bible.
Haven't tried the recipes yet, as i just received it BUT!!! NO PHOTOS???

I was soooo disappointed as I’m from Cyprus and most recipes would be a first for me, i couldn't wait to try them and now, i don't even know what each recipe is about, need to...
Published 6 months ago by Eleftheria Michael


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,031 of 2,056 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what recipes are included in the book...please read my review below, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Sooz "Sooz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I thought I'd list the recipes contained within the book...as when I was looking to purchase the book, I couldn't find a contents list anywhere :-).

You'll find that Mary Berry uses minimal ingredients, and yet the cakes are superb.

I've listed the recipes below...enjoy.

Sooz.

Madeira Cake
Large all in one Victoria Sandwich
Coffee Victoria Sandwich
Chocolate Victoria Sandwich
Swiss Roll
Lemon Swiss Roll
Chocolate Swiss Roll
Maple Syrup Cake
American Apple and Apricot Cake
Coffee and Walnut Sponge Cake
Cappuccino Cake
Battenburg Cake
Lemon Yoghurt Cake
Old fashioned Seed Cake
Carrot Cake
Cranberry and Apricot Fruit Cake
Rich Fruit Cake
Quick Boiled Fruit Cake
Jane's Fruit Cake
Boozy Fruit Cake
Pound Cake
Frosted Walnut Layer Cake
Crunchy Top Lemon Cake
Double Orange Cake
Marmalade Cake
Strawberry Dessert Cake
English Cherry Cake
Traditional Parkin
Classic Sticky Gingerbread
Iced Gingerbread with Stem Ginger
Almond Spice Cake
Sticky Ginger and Orange Cake
Wholemeal Ginger Cake
Apple and Cinnamon Cake
Cut and Come Again Cake
Ginger Cream Roll
Death by Chocolate Cake
Devil's Food Cake
Mississippi Mud Pie
Dark Indulgent Chocolate and Walnut Brownies
Chocolate Chip Brownies
Chocolate Rum Cake
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Very Best Chocolate Fudge Cake
Almond and Chocolate Chip Cake
Date and Chocolate Loaf
Marbled Chocolate Ring Cake
Fairy Cakes
Iced Fairy Cakes
Eccles Cakes
Butterfly Cakes
Cupcakes
Apricot Swiss Cakes
French Madeleines
English Madeleines
Chocolate Chip American Muffins
St Clements Muffins
Blueberry Muffins
Divine Chocolate Birthday Cake
Classic Rich Christmas Cake
Victorian Christmas Cake
Fast Mincemeat Christmas Cake
Buche de Noel
New Year Tipsy Cake
American Chocolate Wedding Cake
Tiny Fruit Cakes
Easter Simnel Cake
Sponge Christening Cake
Nusskuchen
Sachertorte
Doboz Torte
Gateau Saint Honore
Wimbledon Cake
Gateau Moka aux Amandes
Lemon Griestorte
Chocolatines
Mokatines
Swiss Wild Strawberry and Walnut Cake
Basic all in one Sponge Traybake
Ice Lemon Traybake
Iced Chocolate Traybake
Coffee and Walnut Traybake
Devonshire Apple Cake
American Spiced Carrot Traybake
Sultana and Orange Traybake
Lemon Drizzle Traybake
Cherry and Almond Traybake
Treacle Spice Traybake
Gingerbread Traybake
Ginger and Treacle Spiced Traybake
Date and Walnut Traybake
Marmalade Traybake
Fast Flapjacks
Fork Biscuits
Melting Moments
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Lime Lattice Cookies
Double Chocolate Cookies
Shrewsbury Biscuits
Dorchester Biscuits
Cornish Fairings
Yorkshire Gingernuts
Lavender Biscuits
Oat Rounds
Muesli Cookies
Rich Cheesy Biscuits
Cheese Straws
Viennese Fingers
Florentines
Petits Fours aux Amandes
Chocolate Ganache Petit Fours
Almond Tuiles
Macaroons
Sugared Pretzels
Easter Biscuits
Anzac Biscuits
Brandy Snaps
The Very Best Shortbread
Bishops Fingers
Special Shortbread Biscuits
Millionaires Shortbread
Apricot and Walnut Sandwich Bars
Date and Cherry Butter Bars
Bakewell Slices
Chocolate Crispies
Mini Cakes
Mini Jammy Cakes
Chocolate and Vanilla Pinwheel Biscuits
Doughnuts
Banana and Chocolate Chip Bars
Oat and Sunflower Squares
Chocolate Chip and Vanilla Marble Cake
Bunny Rabbit Birthday Cake
Jumbles
Coconut Pyramids
Little Gems
Iced Animal Biscuits
Gingerbread Men
Tarte Tatin
Glazed Lemon Tart
Glazed Fruit Tartlets
Filo Apple Strudels
Lemon Cream Tartlets
Frangipane Tartlets
French Apple Tart
Deep Treacle Tart
Austrian Apricot and Almond Tart
Chocolate Eclairs
Profiteroles
Danish Pastries
English Muffins
Quick Granary Rolls
White Cottage Loaf
Crown Loaf
Cheese and Celery Crown Loaf
Honey-Glazed Walnut Bread
Farmhouse Brown Seeded Loaf
Walnut and Raisin Loaf
Irish Soda Bread
Focaccia Bread with Onion and Balsamic Topping
Mushroom and Garlic Stuffed Picnic Loaf
Sultana Malt Loaves
Bara Brith
Iced Apricot Fruit Loaf
Banana and Honey Teabread
Crunchy Orange Syrup Loaves
Banana Loaf
Carrot and Orange Loaf
Walnut Teabread
Pineapple and Cherry Loaf
Cherry Loaf Cake
Courgette Loaves
Orange Wholemeal Victoria Loaf
Borrowdale Teabread
Bath Buns
Very Best Scones
Special Fruit Scones
Cheese Scone Round
Potato Scones
Cheese and Olive Scone Bake
Drop Scones
Orange Drop Scones
Singin' Hinny
Griddle Scones
Welsh Cakes
Rock Cakes
Wholemeal Sultana and Apricot Rock Cakes
Coburg Buns
Hot Cross Buns
Sultana Streusel Buns
Classic Apple Pie
My Mothers Bread and Butter Pudding
Baked Apple Lemon Sponge
Sticky Apricot Pudding
Treacle Sponges
Creme Brulee
Banoffi Pie
Pecan Pie
Basic White Meringues
Strawberry Pavlova
Strawberry Meringue Nests
Raspberry Meringue Roulade
Lemon Meringue Pie
Hazelnut Meringue Cake
Apricot and Almond Meringue Gateau
Coffee and Banana Vacherin
Hot Chocolate Souffles
Hot Lemon Souffle Pudding
Baked Alaska
American Chocolate Ripple Cheesecake
Chocolate, Brandy and Ginger Cheesecake
Angel Sponge Cheesecake
Continental Cheesecake
American Cheesecake
Austrian Curd Cheesecake
Buttermilk and Honey Cheesecake
Easy Lemon Cheesecake
Apricot and Orange Cheesecake
Key Lime Pie

Thanks for reading....Sooz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


314 of 332 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book on baking, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
S. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I have several of Mary's books and have found them all to be expertly written and every recipe I have used over the years has produced excellent results without fail. I have received so many compliments on items I have made from Mary's recipes (especially the carrot cake).

Mary clearly explains techniques for beginners and gives tips on storing and freezing cakes, suggestions for variations etc. There are chapters on sponge cakes, fruit cakes, special cakes, traybakes, cheesecakes, meringue, biscuits (and special biscuits), childrens cakes, teabreads, bread and puddings & desserts. Contrary to what another reviewer said, there are some savoury recipes in the book - savoury biscuits, scones, breads, cheese straws etc.

It is worth noting that this book is a compilation of several other of Mary's books (including Ultimate Cakes, Simple Cakes and Puddings & Desserts). However, it is great to have all the best recipes from these books together in one definitive book. I echo another reviewer's comments that it is a pity that there are not more pictures but there are pictures of many of the dishes in the Ultimate Cake Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tony, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
A. J. Springett "Tony Springett" (Telford Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I have never baked a cake before , However to my wife being in hospital I decided to have a go.

Mary Berrys recipe for Apple and Cinnamon Cake is fantastic. Everyone including my wife and mother in law

said it was delicious. For a novice to make it was easy and I have now got the baking bug and will try some more recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Bible, 3 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
As always, Mary Berry's recipes look delicious and are clearly written. Everything I have ever done from her cookbooks is foolproof and I look forward to working my way through this. My grandchildren are going to be delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Hips (Strathclyde) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
initially on browising this book i felt that it lacked basic hints for a beginner like me,however I stand corrected as I have now had a good look and read of this book as well as trying out various receipes with I may say with success. Yes its a good book for beginner and anyone wanting to learn new tricks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is good as it is written in a traditional style but ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
This book is good as it is written in a traditional style but I am disappointed that there are not very many pictures, but this possibly a good thing as in a way it lets your imagination finish off your cakes and bakes in your own style. my aim is to take a photo of each bake and file in the book as a reference guide for future bakes. So far i have made the banana and carrot cake, and it was delicious :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
J. R. Skelton (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
An excellent simply written cook book from someone who really knows. (Not a show off, foul mouthed Johnny come lately!)Recipes are easy to follow and cover a wide range of baking, a real Bible! My only minor criticism is that a few more mouth-watering pictures would've been nice.
Brillint value on Amazon, but I have to say, I would pay its cover price it's so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 12 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. Wilma Stewart (Arbroath Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
Have tried a number of recipes from this book and they have all been superb. Would recommend it to anyone who loves baking and also to anyone learning to bake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear instructions perfect for novice bakers, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
D. Rose (berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
We purchased this book by Mary Berry for my sister in law who wanted to start baking more. Many books assume a level of knowledge about techniques and cooking terms which those new to cooking may not always have. This book has clear step by step instructions making it a very good book for those who want to start baking and and the good selection of reciepes make it suitable for those who want to expand their repetoire.

All in all a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars needs a few more pictures, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
Like all Mary's books, the recipes are fantastic. They always work for me and turn out well. I loved the double chocolate cookies. It is an expanded "Ultimate Cakes " but she states in her introduction that she felt she should create a new ultimate cake book. This one includes bread too. I wish that there were a few more pictures, that is why I have given it 4 stars, not 5. I would recommend it to anyone. If you have never baked before just start with the more basic recipes (Victoria sandwich, or small cakes) Get baking anyway, even if it goes wrong, at least you know what ingredients were in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Berry's Baking Bible
Mary Berry's Baking Bible by Mary Berry (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2009)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews