Customer Reviews


629 Reviews
5 star:
 (510)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1,618 of 1,642 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what recipes are included in the book...please read my review below
I thought I'd list the recipes contained within the book...as when I was looking to purchase the book, I couldn't find a contents list anywhere :-).

You'll find that Mary Berry uses minimal ingredients, and yet the cakes are superb.

I've listed the recipes below...enjoy.

Sooz.

Madeira Cake
Large all in one Victoria...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Sooz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough pictures
Would prefer it there was a picture for each recipe. Always like a picture for each recipe to see what way the end result should look.
Published 4 months ago by Joanne McKibbin


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,618 of 1,642 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what recipes are included in the book...please read my review below, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I thought I'd list the recipes contained within the book...as when I was looking to purchase the book, I couldn't find a contents list anywhere :-).

You'll find that Mary Berry uses minimal ingredients, and yet the cakes are superb.

I've listed the recipes below...enjoy.

Sooz.

Madeira Cake
Large all in one Victoria Sandwich
Coffee Victoria Sandwich
Chocolate Victoria Sandwich
Swiss Roll
Lemon Swiss Roll
Chocolate Swiss Roll
Maple Syrup Cake
American Apple and Apricot Cake
Coffee and Walnut Sponge Cake
Cappuccino Cake
Battenburg Cake
Lemon Yoghurt Cake
Old fashioned Seed Cake
Carrot Cake
Cranberry and Apricot Fruit Cake
Rich Fruit Cake
Quick Boiled Fruit Cake
Jane's Fruit Cake
Boozy Fruit Cake
Pound Cake
Frosted Walnut Layer Cake
Crunchy Top Lemon Cake
Double Orange Cake
Marmalade Cake
Strawberry Dessert Cake
English Cherry Cake
Traditional Parkin
Classic Sticky Gingerbread
Iced Gingerbread with Stem Ginger
Almond Spice Cake
Sticky Ginger and Orange Cake
Wholemeal Ginger Cake
Apple and Cinnamon Cake
Cut and Come Again Cake
Ginger Cream Roll
Death by Chocolate Cake
Devil's Food Cake
Mississippi Mud Pie
Dark Indulgent Chocolate and Walnut Brownies
Chocolate Chip Brownies
Chocolate Rum Cake
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Very Best Chocolate Fudge Cake
Almond and Chocolate Chip Cake
Date and Chocolate Loaf
Marbled Chocolate Ring Cake
Fairy Cakes
Iced Fairy Cakes
Eccles Cakes
Butterfly Cakes
Cupcakes
Apricot Swiss Cakes
French Madeleines
English Madeleines
Chocolate Chip American Muffins
St Clements Muffins
Blueberry Muffins
Divine Chocolate Birthday Cake
Classic Rich Christmas Cake
Victorian Christmas Cake
Fast Mincemeat Christmas Cake
Buche de Noel
New Year Tipsy Cake
American Chocolate Wedding Cake
Tiny Fruit Cakes
Easter Simnel Cake
Sponge Christening Cake
Nusskuchen
Sachertorte
Doboz Torte
Gateau Saint Honore
Wimbledon Cake
Gateau Moka aux Amandes
Lemon Griestorte
Chocolatines
Mokatines
Swiss Wild Strawberry and Walnut Cake
Basic all in one Sponge Traybake
Ice Lemon Traybake
Iced Chocolate Traybake
Coffee and Walnut Traybake
Devonshire Apple Cake
American Spiced Carrot Traybake
Sultana and Orange Traybake
Lemon Drizzle Traybake
Cherry and Almond Traybake
Treacle Spice Traybake
Gingerbread Traybake
Ginger and Treacle Spiced Traybake
Date and Walnut Traybake
Marmalade Traybake
Fast Flapjacks
Fork Biscuits
Melting Moments
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Lime Lattice Cookies
Double Chocolate Cookies
Shrewsbury Biscuits
Dorchester Biscuits
Cornish Fairings
Yorkshire Gingernuts
Lavender Biscuits
Oat Rounds
Muesli Cookies
Rich Cheesy Biscuits
Cheese Straws
Viennese Fingers
Florentines
Petits Fours aux Amandes
Chocolate Ganache Petit Fours
Almond Tuiles
Macaroons
Sugared Pretzels
Easter Biscuits
Anzac Biscuits
Brandy Snaps
The Very Best Shortbread
Bishops Fingers
Special Shortbread Biscuits
Millionaires Shortbread
Apricot and Walnut Sandwich Bars
Date and Cherry Butter Bars
Bakewell Slices
Chocolate Crispies
Mini Cakes
Mini Jammy Cakes
Chocolate and Vanilla Pinwheel Biscuits
Doughnuts
Banana and Chocolate Chip Bars
Oat and Sunflower Squares
Chocolate Chip and Vanilla Marble Cake
Bunny Rabbit Birthday Cake
Jumbles
Coconut Pyramids
Little Gems
Iced Animal Biscuits
Gingerbread Men
Tarte Tatin
Glazed Lemon Tart
Glazed Fruit Tartlets
Filo Apple Strudels
Lemon Cream Tartlets
Frangipane Tartlets
French Apple Tart
Deep Treacle Tart
Austrian Apricot and Almond Tart
Chocolate Eclairs
Profiteroles
Danish Pastries
English Muffins
Quick Granary Rolls
White Cottage Loaf
Crown Loaf
Cheese and Celery Crown Loaf
Honey-Glazed Walnut Bread
Farmhouse Brown Seeded Loaf
Walnut and Raisin Loaf
Irish Soda Bread
Focaccia Bread with Onion and Balsamic Topping
Mushroom and Garlic Stuffed Picnic Loaf
Sultana Malt Loaves
Bara Brith
Iced Apricot Fruit Loaf
Banana and Honey Teabread
Crunchy Orange Syrup Loaves
Banana Loaf
Carrot and Orange Loaf
Walnut Teabread
Pineapple and Cherry Loaf
Cherry Loaf Cake
Courgette Loaves
Orange Wholemeal Victoria Loaf
Borrowdale Teabread
Bath Buns
Very Best Scones
Special Fruit Scones
Cheese Scone Round
Potato Scones
Cheese and Olive Scone Bake
Drop Scones
Orange Drop Scones
Singin' Hinny
Griddle Scones
Welsh Cakes
Rock Cakes
Wholemeal Sultana and Apricot Rock Cakes
Coburg Buns
Hot Cross Buns
Sultana Streusel Buns
Classic Apple Pie
My Mothers Bread and Butter Pudding
Baked Apple Lemon Sponge
Sticky Apricot Pudding
Treacle Sponges
Creme Brulee
Banoffi Pie
Pecan Pie
Basic White Meringues
Strawberry Pavlova
Strawberry Meringue Nests
Raspberry Meringue Roulade
Lemon Meringue Pie
Hazelnut Meringue Cake
Apricot and Almond Meringue Gateau
Coffee and Banana Vacherin
Hot Chocolate Souffles
Hot Lemon Souffle Pudding
Baked Alaska
American Chocolate Ripple Cheesecake
Chocolate, Brandy and Ginger Cheesecake
Angel Sponge Cheesecake
Continental Cheesecake
American Cheesecake
Austrian Curd Cheesecake
Buttermilk and Honey Cheesecake
Easy Lemon Cheesecake
Apricot and Orange Cheesecake
Key Lime Pie

Thanks for reading....Sooz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tony, 24 Nov 2009
By 
A. J. Springett "Tony Springett" (Telford Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I have never baked a cake before , However to my wife being in hospital I decided to have a go.

Mary Berrys recipe for Apple and Cinnamon Cake is fantastic. Everyone including my wife and mother in law

said it was delicious. For a novice to make it was easy and I have now got the baking bug and will try some more recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


280 of 297 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book on baking, 24 Oct 2009
By 
S. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I have several of Mary's books and have found them all to be expertly written and every recipe I have used over the years has produced excellent results without fail. I have received so many compliments on items I have made from Mary's recipes (especially the carrot cake).

Mary clearly explains techniques for beginners and gives tips on storing and freezing cakes, suggestions for variations etc. There are chapters on sponge cakes, fruit cakes, special cakes, traybakes, cheesecakes, meringue, biscuits (and special biscuits), childrens cakes, teabreads, bread and puddings & desserts. Contrary to what another reviewer said, there are some savoury recipes in the book - savoury biscuits, scones, breads, cheese straws etc.

It is worth noting that this book is a compilation of several other of Mary's books (including Ultimate Cakes, Simple Cakes and Puddings & Desserts). However, it is great to have all the best recipes from these books together in one definitive book. I echo another reviewer's comments that it is a pity that there are not more pictures but there are pictures of many of the dishes in the Ultimate Cake Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Bible, 3 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
As always, Mary Berry's recipes look delicious and are clearly written. Everything I have ever done from her cookbooks is foolproof and I look forward to working my way through this. My grandchildren are going to be delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value, 3 Oct 2009
By 
J. R. Skelton (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
An excellent simply written cook book from someone who really knows. (Not a show off, foul mouthed Johnny come lately!)Recipes are easy to follow and cover a wide range of baking, a real Bible! My only minor criticism is that a few more mouth-watering pictures would've been nice.
Brillint value on Amazon, but I have to say, I would pay its cover price it's so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 14 Jun 2011
By 
I. Stones (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
If you love cakes and baking them like I do then this is the book for you. All the recipes I have tried so far work perfectly. It includes many well-known cakes plus many new ones. It includes the best fruit cake I (and friends) have ever eaten, the Victorian pound cake. I could list others but it's more fun to find out for yourself.

Recipes are presented in a very easy to use format and have clearly been tested well beforehand. Mary Berry's Baking Bible is the perfect name as Mary is the Goddess of baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear instructions perfect for novice bakers, 11 Mar 2010
By 
D. Rose (berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
We purchased this book by Mary Berry for my sister in law who wanted to start baking more. Many books assume a level of knowledge about techniques and cooking terms which those new to cooking may not always have. This book has clear step by step instructions making it a very good book for those who want to start baking and and the good selection of reciepes make it suitable for those who want to expand their repetoire.

All in all a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect title: Baking Bible, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I was given this book by my godmother almost a year ago, and I still haven't thanked her enough. In this time I have baked many of the recipes, from her cheese and celery bread, to her french apple tart, and each one has got me compliments. It really is the ultimate book and the one I turn to 90% of the time when I want a reliable, tasty recipe- so I would say the only downside to this book is that you will feel as if you have wasted your money on all the other cook books you have bought. There is not a single recipe that is either written badly or has not tasted completely delicious, none have left me feeling disappointed. It is honestly one of those books where you don't know how you coped without it, and I know I have improved in baking greatly since I've had it. Trust me, you will not regret buying this book, the proof is in the pudding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Hips (Strathclyde) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
initially on browising this book i felt that it lacked basic hints for a beginner like me,however I stand corrected as I have now had a good look and read of this book as well as trying out various receipes with I may say with success. Yes its a good book for beginner and anyone wanting to learn new tricks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a cake making renaissance, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: Mary Berry's Baking Bible (Hardcover)
I was looking for a book to help me get back into baking and this one has more than fulfilled my expectations. As other reviewers have commented, the recipes are easy to follow and there's really no faffing about. I have worked my way through a good number of recipes and all have been successful. It's also great to have so many classic cake recipes in just one place. Would highly recommend it if you are coming back to baking like me, or for someone who is just starting out and needs a variety of good reliable recipes to make a confident start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Berry's Baking Bible
Mary Berry's Baking Bible by Mary Berry (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2009)
12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews