Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
Raising the bar every years seems impossible?
Just purchase the WPOY series and see for yourself.
Breathtakingly beautiful and stunning.
Can't wait untill the next volume.
Published on 29 Nov 2009 by R. Van Lier

versus
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly sub-par
If you pick this up in a bookshop you're likely to think 'wow, this is some amazing wildlife photography' and as this new 160 page volume represents the best in the world, the top choices of over 40,000 responses that is a fair comment. The thing is this is not a stand alone volume. Its been going for years and years. I think I asked in a review of one of the previous...
Published on 18 Nov 2009 by M. Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Nov 2009
By 
R. Van Lier "Rampie" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
Raising the bar every years seems impossible?
Just purchase the WPOY series and see for yourself.
Breathtakingly beautiful and stunning.
Can't wait untill the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife Photographer of the Year; Portfolio 19, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Helen Carty "Helen" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
Same formula as in the previous volumes. The phots are of the usual high quality and interest. This provides access to these photos in your own home and is of particular value to those of us who cannot go to see the exhibition. I browse through the previous volumes frequently and will do the same with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly sub-par, 18 Nov 2009
By 
M. Wilkinson (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
If you pick this up in a bookshop you're likely to think 'wow, this is some amazing wildlife photography' and as this new 160 page volume represents the best in the world, the top choices of over 40,000 responses that is a fair comment. The thing is this is not a stand alone volume. Its been going for years and years. I think I asked in a review of one of the previous couple of volumes whether the increase in quality could be maintained or even surpassed. This volume answered the question for me and disappointingly the answer is no.

There is a certain amount of luck in any photo, especially in wildlife photography where timing is everything. You'd think it would all average out but despite the continuing increase in entries this year left me less impressed than the last 5 year's competitions, all of which I bought. Sure, there are some gems and if you buy it every year then I don't need to tell you that there will be some amazing photos in here, but its certainly not as good as portfolio 18 (Maybe the highlight of the entire series, to date) or the previous 3, come to think of it. Some of the photos seemed less than techically perfect in terms of focus and some of the black and whites seemed clumsy to me though maybe this reflected the tasts of some new judges. I don't know. I can only say that I was surprised that the photography in this volume was not better. I suppose I have been spoilt by the last few years where they just seemed to get better and better and better.

If you only want the one coffee table wildlife book to wow your friends, get volume 18, or 17 too if you want a couple.

I hope next year's volume 20 will represent a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great photo book, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
This book contains the winning and commended photo's from the competition and the exposition. The quality of the photo reproduction is excellent.

The book is not a 'How to' photo book and does not contain the 'technique' of nature photography. Instead the photo's show the diversity of nature photography and are, for me, an inspiration to take a different approach to making nature photographs. The captions contain the photographers notes on how and when the winning photo's were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever wildlife competition, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Kathryn M. Reddick "K-Tee" (Winchester, Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
All the year's leading entries in this fantastic competition. An inspiration to photographers around the world. My husband's favourite 'must have' book that solves my 'what shall I buy him ?' problems. It's really all he wants for Christmas. He has all 19 portfolios and looks forward to number 20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic photography, 6 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
Purchased this book for my wife following up our visit
to the Natural History exhibition to see the photographer
of the year. The book is a great reminder of our day there
with some fantastic wildlife shots to admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to Great, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
This series have got better and better. It's amazing! This book has magificent photos to feast your eyes on but also what makes this book amazing is that encourages everyone to take pictures in their surroundings. Travelling around the world does not guarantee a good picture.

I have been collecting them since 2002 and each year I look forward to the next one. However the book is not a substitute for seeing the originals in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19, 9 Dec 2009
By 
James Stephenson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
I have purchased every portfolio and have always been impressed not only by the quality of the photographs but also by the diversity of the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best nature pictures of the world., 27 Nov 2009
By 
A. M. PEREZ-MAURA (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
If you like Nature photography this book is a "must have". In its pages you can find the work of photographers all around the world, and apreciate their tremendous effort to get the pictures and of course their prize & reward.

I follow this book since its first edition and you can see the evolution of their techniques & art.

Regards.

Antonio P-M.
Madrid
SPAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 May 2014
By 
P. Hopton "Free at last" (London. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 (Hardcover)
as described, great book amazing pictures, my father lovedl his gift. truly beautiful, cannot wait for the next one to be published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19
Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 19 by Rosamund Kidman Cox (Hardcover - 22 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £14.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews