Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant & Enjoyable Tenth Doctor Novel
Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Novel).

Product Info.
Hardback Novel
256 Pages
Author: David Llewellyn
Doctor: Tenth Doctor

What's The Story.
The Chelsea Flower Show is hardly the most exciting or dangerous event in the calendar, or so Doctor thinks. But this is Chelsea 426, a city-sized future colony floating on the...
Published 3 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sonta .ha
i was looking forward to this book waited months found it in wh smith and snaped it up streaght away . started reading it right away, and to be fair it is a good book lots of nice moments and imagery and i love the idea of what done they done with the rutans ( not saying anything ) altrough i would have loved to read with them actully in it

the above...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by chace


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant & Enjoyable Tenth Doctor Novel, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Novel).

Product Info.
Hardback Novel
256 Pages
Author: David Llewellyn
Doctor: Tenth Doctor

What's The Story.
The Chelsea Flower Show is hardly the most exciting or dangerous event in the calendar, or so Doctor thinks. But this is Chelsea 426, a city-sized future colony floating on the clouds of Saturn & the flowers are much more than they seem.

As the Doctor investigates, a familiar foe arrives & the stakes suddenly get much higher, The Sontarans have plans of their own & they're not here to arrange flowers.

Timelord Thoughts.
Author David Llewellyn delivers a cracking Doctor Who novel here & characterizes the quirkiness & loneliness of Tenth Doctor whom is travelling alone here & his passion for adventure, the only minor niggle is the overuse of the Doctors catchphrases Molto bene!" & "Allons-y!" Do become quite tiresome & annoying.

This novel does has a Second Doctor feel to it & one could imagine Patrick Troughtons incarnation in this story that features the Sontarans who are extremely well written here who are in conflict battling against the Rutans, Llewellyn makes the Sontarans dangerous advisories & doesn't write them in a completely negative way & it was interesting to read of the difference of opinions with the characters General Kade & Colonel Sarg, as Kade sees the bigger picture in these event's compared to Sargs lesser optimistic view of the outcome.

The Rutans are well utilized here who are cleverly written as they infiltrate the base sharing a interesting backstory with the Sontarans who originally long ago planned to use Earth as a breeding colony, the Rutans discovered the Sontarans plans & created a plant whose spores would take over their hosts to make them agents for the Rutans, yet when the Sontarans abandoned this plan, the Rutans left the plants in place which began to take over human hosts instead.

The Taking Of Chelsea 426 is a fast paced & enjoyable Tenth Doctor novel that makes good use of two classic villians as the writer David Llewellyn has written a well crafted intriguing story that pits the Doctor against two dangerous enemies & makes his character the main focus of this novel giving the Doctor plenty to do & captures the solo era of the Tenth Doctor magnificently.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rutan for the good guys, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
One of the better recent tie-in Tenth Doctor novels; this is in part due to its inclusion of the brilliantly simple aliens the Sontarans, and their under-used nemesis the gelatinous shape-changing Rutan host. Bearing in mind the target audience the novel is perfectly paced and suitably light-hearted; The Doctor is again travelling alone, but is this time aided by twins Vienna and Jake, who prove to be as resourceful and intelligent as any former companions, and who ultimately enable the Time Lord to save the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read, 19 Feb 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
Two real reasons why I bought this book, firstly the rather enigmatic title and secondly it features Sontarans which always guarantees a good story. The story was very well paced with a good balance between character development and the eventual action. The book would be suitable for most ages and reading abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
ive read nearly all the Who books from the RTD era... a good story ... well worth a read ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
Its another great adventure for the doctor played by David Tennant, I would recommend the book to other doctor who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The pollen of doom, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel, which tells an all new story for the Timelord never before presented in any other medium.

As with all this range, it's suitable for all ages, it runs for just under two hundred and fifty pages [two hundred and forty one in this case] and is divided into twenty one chapters plus a prologue. It features the Tenth Doctor, travelling without any companions. And his dialogue is perfectly written and well in keeping with the character as portrayed on tv.

It sees him visit Chelsea 426, an artificial world the size of a city which is orbiting Saturn. It's a place that is about to host a very important flower show. But some of the residents are acting very strangely.

When the colony erupts into chaos as a result of strange influences, things then get even worse. The Sontarans show up. And they have their own methods of dealing with the problems...

The Sontarans don't show till over a third of the way in. Before that it does take a while before anything major happens, as the narrative takes it's time to establish the setting and the supporting characters. But all the set up is very readable. The setting is an interesting one. The cast are the right mix of ordinary and eccentric individuals. And the former are decently characterised so they do feel like three dimensional creations. The Doctor's appearance in the narrative is a gentle one and it keeps him a strong presence by not letting you into too many of his thought processes.

The Sontarans do add extra life to proceedings at just the right point thanks to a clash of personalities and style and method between some. This also adds very good characterisation.

With more surprises and twists and some good set pieces to follow, it keeps going nicely and remains very readable throughout.

This is a well above average entry in this range and well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start with but fast paced at the end, 11 Oct 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
This book was a very enjoyable book. This is the fourth novel to be realeased in 209. The Doctor gets three new one of companions young than 18. Much like the Sarah Jane Adventures. The Book also has Sontarans in it they first appeared in 1973 doctor who episode the Time Warrior. Which is also referenced. The rutans though dont make a full appeaernece but do have a virus which the sontarans want to get rid of. The Only Problem with this book is that is very slow paced at thge beginning. But on the other hand it gets very fast at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sonta .ha, 17 Oct 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
i was looking forward to this book waited months found it in wh smith and snaped it up streaght away . started reading it right away, and to be fair it is a good book lots of nice moments and imagery and i love the idea of what done they done with the rutans ( not saying anything ) altrough i would have loved to read with them actully in it

the above poster is right it,s very slow in fact it takes 70s pages to get going in the meantime we got to contend with two very anoying ( but not in extreme cases say like forever autumn ) teenagers. and their parents a major who rambles and a captain and a mayor so much padding but that said the doctor is well wrriten and he dose bring some fun to the teenagers they would have been bland without him

the sontarans themselfs ok lets get it out of the way first i love them they can be a brutal force and take the daleks on and win but the sontarans here dont act like sontarans sure they got the code and everything but on more than once ocasion they let the doctor go they would rather die than let an enemy live they seem prity clueless to be honest and they are intelegence ( as the doctor pointed out ) they do lash out at some plants trough and thats a wonderfull image but i,d prefer it if they did some human killing saying that the cliffhangner befor one of the chapters where they butcher a whole army then march towards to the doctor is wonderfull stuff and this is as brutal as they get

the ending is one of the best in the new doctor who range and a nice twist too

it,s a nice idea perfect idea but a whole lot mor could be done with it with that all said i enjoyed reading it and would recomend it but dont expect too much

sonta ha

***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment., 18 Oct 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 (Hardcover)
I'm a long standing fan of Doctor Who. No,more than a fan. I love,love, love, love, LOVE Doctor Who,and I have done since the days of Tom Baker - which gives you an idea how many wobbly sets, Fairy Liquid bottle spaceships, rubber monster suits and visible threads I've seen and accepted and overlooked in my time.
However I am taking the time out to review this book - the first time I have reviewed a Doctor Who book here - because I think it would waste many fans' time to read it.
The book is paced well but that's part of the problem. Personally, having reached page 202 with a mere 39 pages left to read I considered the option of not bothering to finish it. It contains no 'cliffhangers'; nothing to create suspense. In fact I found more suspense and mystery in the recent Famous Five book I've been reading with my daughter! The Doctor is well written,however there is no point in the book where there's ever even a glimmer of chance that he seems under pressure or in danger. The Sontarans are badly characterised here, for example one Sontaran leaping over the head of the other during combat. They have always been an unwieldy race who succeed by brute force in any previous engagement. The Rutans.. their involvement would have been an interesting idea had it come as some kind of surprise rather than spoonfed to us right from the start.
The book is a page turner, in that the author's style is easily read, there are a couple of amusing observations on the part of the Doctor; however it reads like a children's story - no intrigue at all, just a description of what the characters do, say and think from start to finish.
Massive potential missed on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426
Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426 by David Llewellyn (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews