Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dalek Classic!
When I first heard about The Dalek Project back in 2009 I instantly placed my order - the prospect of a full length graphic novel featuring the 10th Doctor and the Daleks - set during World War 1, gripped me. But then come the advertised release date it never arrived. Instead the date kept getting pushed back until it disappeared off the schedules full stop. There was...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by thedoctor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
not as good as id hoped but still a good little story. dr who and the daleks during world war 1
Published 19 months ago by Dale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dalek Classic!, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
When I first heard about The Dalek Project back in 2009 I instantly placed my order - the prospect of a full length graphic novel featuring the 10th Doctor and the Daleks - set during World War 1, gripped me. But then come the advertised release date it never arrived. Instead the date kept getting pushed back until it disappeared off the schedules full stop. There was much speculation as to the reasons why - the most common been that the storyline was similar in tone to a forthcoming TV episode in production at that time! (3 years later we now know this is why the book was postponed).

Instead we got The Only Good Dalek - a thoroughly entertaining adventure. My only negative was that the Doctor's character didn't quite match that of Matt Smith. My reasoning for this was that the book had been produced during the early stages before the world had yet to observe the 11th Doctor in action.

Jump forward 3 years and my excitement levels again rose when I again saw the release advertised of The Dalek Project - this time featuring the 11th doctor. I did feel a little disappointed as I had hoped to see the book released one day with the 10th Doctor at the helm (although it wouldn't make much sense commercially I guess to release a book featuring the exploits of a past Doctor).

Anyhow, was it worth the wait? The answer is an astounding YES. This book is simply fantastic!!

SPOILERS: The story kicks off in France in 2017 when an archeological dig uncover a sphere from a Dalek saucer within a long buried World War 1 Trench system. This action begins to resurrect the metal maestros who promptly rediscover the art of extermination! Into this comes the Doctor who within 30 pages has dispatched of his oldest enemies - 'unfinished business' as he describes it. Is that it then? you ask. Hell no, that's just the beginning. From here we are taken back one century to witness how the Daleks came to be trapped in the first place. The Doctor arrives at Hellcombe Hall in Kent where.... I'm sure you'll all have read the summary!

I would love to reveal more as this book warrants full applause. The Doctor here is the 11th version that we know fine well - we get the "Panama hats are cool" lines (although no 'Geronimo's').

There are many excellent sequences - eerie sequences when the Doctor first arrives at the ghostly Hellcombe Hall, different zones behind various doors, the Doctor and his newly found 'gang' escaping from the Daleks in a german U-Boat, and a fantastic finale set on the front line itself. I'll say no more.

In a nutshell - if you like graphic novels and are a fan of Doctor Who, buy this book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Dalek Story, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Grey Lady (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
Admittedly, I did fear a repetition of 'Victory of the Daleks'(the third Doctor Who Episode in the first series featuring Matt Smith as the Doctor) but I am very pleased that this is not the case at all. The only similarity is that it's about Daleks playing some part in a World War but that is where it ends (although there are some fun inclusions of cameos from the TV episode but those I am sure are included only for the nutty fans like me who watch and read anything with the word "dalek" in it).

The Daleks are back. This story features the Copper and Bronze Daleks from the RTD era and in my view that is a good thing, as I can't help but feel that the new Paradigm has been a bit of a mistake. But not just those, we even get a quasimodo Dalek (and once you've seen it, I'm sure you will agree on the name) and hords of so-called Proto Daleks, which are robotic versions of a Dalek (no Squid type lifeform inside). All a recipe for an enjoyable read, as the Daleks have ensured both parties in the Conflict produce these proto Daleks.

There are actually two plotlines, one taking place in 2017 and another in 1917 (during the Great War). It's Doctor Who, so the future plotline takes place before the main story occurring in 1917. I remembered another kind of "Dalek Project" in the serial "the evil of the Daleks" from 1966. In this serial events took place in 1966 and 1866. No similarities otherwise, but still I like it very much when wrters know their Who history and add such details as an extra bonus for the long-time fans while not distracting from the story for new comers.

The Doctor is executed very well here, characterised as Matt Smith had shown him to be in the series, so that is great. The Daleks are also done very well (besides the fact that I like them better in this version) here. There are also some nice other characters involved. I must say I also very much enjoyed the drawings and colours. Nice faces, expressions on the faces and, truly wonderful Daleks!

Another great thing is shown too: if the Daleks would truly have no organic living core inside of them, time lords would be able to manipulate them far too easily. And that's the most spoilery remark I am going to put in this review. For the rest I would advise all fans of the Daleks, and Doctor Who in general, to just go and read it! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper Daleks on Parade!, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
The long-delayed "Dalek Project" is here. Was it worth the wait? Yes, though it's a qualified yes. The quality of Mike Collins' art varies from page to page, going from clean and "comic-booky" to quick frenetic and gritty. Oddly for me, I think I prefer the gritty style, seen more consistently throughout the earlier graphic novel "The Only Good Dalek". Thankfully, the Daleks in this adventure are the bronze "Time War" era Daleks rather than the far less popular "Paradigm" Daleks featured in "The Only Good Dalek", which pleases me greatly. The plot isn't particularly high-brow, and it doesn't reveal anything new about the Daleks, but it does have them at their manipulative best; cunning, devious and homicidal. Which, if you're a Dalek fan, is pretty much what you want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dalek Project, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
In 2017, archaeologists in France uncover the remains of something that is most definitely not Bronze Age. Their awakening of what is there may spell danger for everyone on Earth.

In 1917, the (Eleventh) Doctor finds himself at Hellcombe Hall, where all is most definitely not as it should be. Why do strange noises emanate from behind locked doors, and why do doors not lead where they should? What's it all about?

Well, the Doctor will be sure to find out for us. How these two stories are interconnected and how the Doctor saved the world (again) and all of humanity (again) is a great read. The characters are well-rounded (although the Doctor must have been exhausted by the end of the story), and the artwork is great. A great story, well presented. Definitely recommended - over 120 pages of great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for fans of Matt Smith and or Daleks, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
Doctor Who, Daleks and World War One what's not to like? The writer really captures Matt Smith' accentricities and phrases. As for the Daleks I have been a fan of theirs since 1963 so it was good to see the old school Daleks as opposed to the Mk 2 paraguins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who the dalek project, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This graphic novel is brilliant for doctor who fans because we see all types of daleks. I give it 5 stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dalek Master-Plan revealed - with lots of running, shooting and blowing of things up in a most spectacular fashion, 18 Oct 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
This graphic novel (containing 126 pages of comics) is an excellent Doctor Who adventure - the writer has captured the current Doctor's speech patterns to a `T', and the artwork is excellent, and, for a historical story manages to avoid any but possibly minor inaccuracies. The story opens in France in 2017, as archaeologists uncover some strange Bronze Age remains - a Dalek spaceship... although it turns out it actually crashed in 1917. The Doctor arrives just in time to help (most of) the archaeologists to survive the subsequent adventure, before popping back to 1917 with the chief archaeologist to show here the source of her troubles. Cut to 1917, and the beginning (or rather culmination) of another Dalek master plan, taking place on the Western Front. The Doctor (before the adventure in 2017) arrives in the grounds of Hellcombe Manor in Kent to discover it is riddled with Dalek transmat corridors linking their crashed spaceship, a munitions plant in England belonging to Lord Hellcombe, another production plant in Belgium, a section of the British trenches, and a German production plant in Belgium. You can probably guess what war-winning secret weapon is being produced at these secret plants; though the reason for it is actually the big surprise. There is much running around, being shot at, being captured and escaping, and blowing of things up, as well as Aqua-Daleks, rodent-cams, and a damaged Dalek Spaceship using a Zeppelin to fly; and British and German-built proto-Daleks in full battle array; there is even a U-Boat chase. This really does rival some of the big-budget TV adventures, but with somehow more believable characters, settings and motivations! Some of the plot-ideas initially feel as if they have been borrowed from various Patrick Troughton-era adventures, but quickly move off in their own direction - and you'd only know that if you were there for the original stories, as they are now mostly lost.

Anyway, this is an excellent non-stop adventure that holds together very well (providing you don't stop and think about it)., and ends with the 2017 Doctor going back to visit the survivors after the war, just to give it a happy ending for a change (especially when the Daleks are involved).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 16 Sep 2013
By 
C. Bowman "C. Bowman" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given that this was originally written for a previous Doctor, I was actually quite surprised at how good it was. definitely fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 8 Sep 2013
awesome read and was worth getting and you should read it book before the only good dalek enjoy great fun for every one yeah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dr who book, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Dalek Project (Hardcover)
bought this for my granddaughter with another one came very quick and was cheap she is thrilled with them will buy her more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Dalek Project
Doctor Who: The Dalek Project by Justin Richards (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2012)
Used & New from: £7.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews