Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype
It's hard not to be cynical here but actually I can see the logic in Justin Richards' three bestselling Doctor Who enemies books being put into one bumper edition. I don't think Richards should get too much stick as he probably didn't have too much to do with it getting published, however despite a moderate amount of new information - The Zarbi get a first look in for...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars 80's ish) I again ( as with Characters ' Encyclopedia') am disappointed. As with selecting a particular word
Well , as a serious SciFi fan which includes the so-called ' Classic Dr.Who ' (60's,70's, ...80's ish) I again ( as with Characters ' Encyclopedia') am disappointed . As with selecting a particular word ,while surveying a perspective dictionary . I looked for " Drashig " a descent monster from the Carnival of Monsters..... no go . Seemingly from a dusty past , I hope for...
Published 19 days ago by MickV


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 17 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
It's hard not to be cynical here but actually I can see the logic in Justin Richards' three bestselling Doctor Who enemies books being put into one bumper edition. I don't think Richards should get too much stick as he probably didn't have too much to do with it getting published, however despite a moderate amount of new information - The Zarbi get a first look in for example - this is basically the same content as before, just with a new cover and a new name. I would therefore give this a miss if you have 'Aliens and enemies', 'Monsters and Villains', and 'Creatures and Demons' already, but if not then I highly recommend you do, as it's a superbly detailed book with loads of great photos, covering most of the good Doctor's notable adversaries from 1963 to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Grandson loved it..., 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 8 year old grandson along with Guide to Aliens Armies and Companions and Allies.
They are very imformative and he thinks they are great.
He is fast becoming a Doctor Who expert!!!
If you are a Doctor Who fan this is the book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eldrad Must Live!, 26 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
Undoubtedly a wonderful book for young Doctor Who fans. This should keep them happy for quite a long while, with not only the new series' monsters included but most of the classic Dr Who monsters as well. There are lots of photos (many impressively re-coloured and 'computer-twigged') along with full descriptions of the aliens' history and serials they have appeared in.

For us older Whovians it's a little frustrating though, having no index (although the monsters are supposed to be in alphabetical order, they are often included by serial name rather than monster name) and many omissions. Never mind the missing Voords or the Fish People, I've been waiting for a full-length picture of the female incarnation of Eldrad since 1976! And she's not here!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 80's ish) I again ( as with Characters ' Encyclopedia') am disappointed. As with selecting a particular word, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
Well , as a serious SciFi fan which includes the so-called ' Classic Dr.Who ' (60's,70's, ...80's ish) I again ( as with Characters ' Encyclopedia') am disappointed . As with selecting a particular word ,while surveying a perspective dictionary . I looked for " Drashig " a descent monster from the Carnival of Monsters..... no go . Seemingly from a dusty past , I hope for an item that is what it says on the outside of the tin... Again , it's limited and it doesn't seem particularly ' Ultimate ', 48 pages dedicated to Daleks -v- 0 pages for a Drashig. These books are not for serious SciFi fans . Are they designed so you have to by them all to get a coverage....? Hmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
Great quality book, lots of brilliant facts, son keen to read a book for a change. Great picture of David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its great, however if you have the 100 Scariest Monsters ..., 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
As a stand-a-lone book, its great, however if you have the 100 Scariest Monsters or the Dr Who encyclopedia its a little redundant as its going over the same ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST CHOICE, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
IF YOU WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THE DOCTOR'S ENEMIES THEN IS THE BEST CHOICE.IT HAVE INFORMATION FOR EVERY MONSTER THAT APPEARED IN THE REVIVED SHOW PLUS 4-5 MONSTERS AND ALSO LOTS OF INFORMATION FOR MONSTERS OF THE OLD SERIES.IT HAVE A GOOD PRISE AND BELIEVE ME WHEN YOU WILL BUY IT YOU WILL BE VERY HAPPY.DON'T BUY THE OTHER MONSTER BOOKS(MONSTERS AND VILLAINS,ALIENS AND ENEMIES ETC0 THIS BOOK HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED.EXEPT A PAGE WITH GENERAL INFO FOR EACH VILLAIN IT HAS GOT REVIEWS OF ALL THE EPISODES IT APPEARED,PARAGRAPHS FOR SOME MAJOR POINTS IN THE EPISODE AND HOW THE BBC CREATED THE MONSTERS! IT INCLUDES ALMOST EEVERY VILLAIN APPEARED IN THE SHOW UNTIL THE EPISODE "PLANET OF THE DEAD".IN MY OPINION IS THE BEST REFENCE BOOK THE BBC PUBLISHED ALONG WITH "THE BRILLIANT BOOK OF DOCTOR WHO 2011".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 30 Sep 2009
By 
D. Myers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide (Hardcover)
i am was pleased when i bought pack full of informateion defo worth a buy hall and mosters from all 4 srries of doctor who and some old ones 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide
Doctor Who: The Ultimate Monster Guide by Justin Richards (Hardcover - 8 Oct 2009)
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews