Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2010
I was firstly surprised to find this was almost novel-like in size - most unusual for this type of book, but actually means it's easy to carry around/read on the train etc! Nervertheless there are reproductions of the paintings dotted throughout so it's not all text. It's clear Paxman is really enthused by his subject, which is always important when approaching topics of this kind - the Victorians are so frequently written about, but this provides an enjoyable and unique angle. Definitely deserves to be widely read - shows that history can be understood not simply as a lists of dates and events, but by appreciating the works of the people of the age in the form of paintings (or indeed, works of literature) and how they felt about, and portrayed, the age in which they lived.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I stumbled across this in a library while teaching Victorian poetry. I'm no historian or art critic, and had been developing my knowledge of this period. Great supplement to the ideas and concerns of poets like Christina Rossetti. Beautiful images of a wide range of paintings including pre-Raphaelites and John Martin - both of which I love and interesting narrative..

Beware, the paperback is a much smaller size: I bought it thinking I could save money and had to send it back - the images were far too small and you would need to break the spine to see them properly. If the price is an issue buy the hardback second hand. The hard back is twice the size o the paperback and bound nicely. Each page has one or more large image - some go across two pages. The book is presented as a series of discussions or comments on Victorian England as presented through the art of the day.

Chapter headings include: The Mob in the Picture Galley (images of contemporary society); Thy Long Days Work (art as a documentary of living conditions); The Angel in the House- (the representation of women in Victorian art); A World of Wealth and Power- (social class); A Land of dreams- (myth, fantasy, the imagination).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
Jeremy Paxman's The Victorians is stuffed with famous and obscure paintings,all documented by title,artist and gallery,below the work,making the book incredibly easy to read. No flicking around to see the subject! The written work is learned but fast-flowing,revealing Paxman's knowledge and liking for Victorian Art,pithy rather than maudling. His research is nationwide,with works often pulled from the industrial cities, whose wealth reflected the surges in Victorian life.
A well documented passion, from an "unlikely" source,
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Having attended Mr Paxman's book launch at Ely Cathedral recently I am now a confirmed fan. Mr Paxman knows his subject inside out and his passion was evident from the start. An excellent accompaniment to the TV series, "The Victorians" is an entertaining and informative work.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 May 2014
In this book Jeremy Paxman explains Victorian art through vignettes of history. Around half of the book is devoted to reproductions of paintings,and to a handful of photographs. The narrative explains the context for each illustration and the symbolism used in some of them.

The book is beautifully presented using high quality paper and is more about art than history - Victorian art is not to the taste of everyone, and there are better books of Victorian history than this if you are trying to gain a better understanding of the period.

Enjoyable enough reading though
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 December 2012
I did not see this series on the TV, not having one (I believe it is just a passing fad) but several colleagues mentioned it to me. Following the TV series, the author was repeatedly asked to deliver a book covering the same ground but did not have the time. In the end he was assisted by Neil Hegarty, whose name is only mentioned towards the end of the Acknowledgements, but deserves greater credit.

Victorian painting suffered for much of the 20th century, being considered less radical that their Impressionist and Post-Impressionist colleagues in France. It was seen as overly sentimental and, in the first half of that century, there were few buyers wishing to buy works by Victorian painters. It was not until the 1961 Pre-Raphaelite exhibition organised by Jeremy Maas that a reassessment began and, whilst paintings by less familiar artists can still be bought inexpensively, there is a strong market for works by the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, Maddox Brown, Leighton, Alma-Tadema, G. F. Watts and their like.

In a series of somewhat opinionated, but very engaging chapters, Paxman (meaning Paxman and Hegarty)considers Victorian painting from the perspective of The Mob in the Picture Gallery, The Long Day's Work, The Angel in the House, A World of Wealth and Power, and A Land of Dreams. His great strength, compared to many art critics and writers, is that he moves back from concentrating on just the artist and provides a broader, social historic view of the artist in Victorian society. These chapters are illustrated by many coloured illustrations which are generally of high quality although the glossy paper tends to heighten the fiery reds and oranges, contemporary photographs, black and white drawings, prints and cartoons. The book ends with an Afterword, Suggestions for Further Reading and an Index.

In general the book links its illustrations and text very well, avoiding the frustration of reading comments on one page whilst having to hold another page open to see the illustration referred to. To me, it succeed as a book and did not read like something transferred from another medium.

In the Afterword, the author states that the pictures "show us what it must have been like to live in a rigidly structured society, to acknowledge an imperial destiny and to wrestle with doubt, to huddle in the snow waiting for admission to a night shelter" and it is certainly true that, during the 19th century, paintings were reproduced as relatively inexpensive etchings and prints to as to become available to a wider range of society, set public taste and expectation, stimulated art appreciation and, through genre paintings, support political and social campaigns.

At the beginning of the century, the people commissioning portraits and other genres were the landed gentry and the aristocracy, but as the Victorian era continued they were joined and, to a degree, replaced by self-made industrialists who were concerned to pass on a record of their importance and economic success. The vast majority of these were male, as were the artists, and it is no surprise to see so many ways in which naked or almost-naked women are able to be inserted into works without attracting public or religious disquiet.

I would recommend this book very much, especially to those with an existing interest in art. However, despite its age and limited number of coloured reproductions, I would also recommend Jeremy Maas's Victorian Painters which has a much stronger complementary, art history perspective. Inexplicably, this book does not feature in Paxman's Bibliography. Interestingly, Paxman does not include Sargent nor Whistler, which Maas does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I watched the original TV series a few years ago and was disappointed when I couldn't find the DVD for sale. I decided to buy the book instead and thoroughly enjoyed it. Paxman has a very natural way of writing and you know this is taken from a TV programme. I love the way he asks questions and challenges a very rosey version of history the Victorians tried to create (and sadly many still try and continue). I would advise all those who hark back to a 'Christian England' to read this. PS: I am a Christian but hate it when people criticize modern times by claiming how wonderful life once was. Hmmm... no it wasn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Very quick social history through paintings. Very well written and researched of course, although too short. To me there were not enough paintings analysed and the ones chosen could have been described more in depth. Nevertheless, it is an enjoyable read and can be considered a starting point for further research on the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Hard to rate this as I've been enjoying reading it but I have to say I wish I had the book rather than the Kindle edition. Given he discusses Victorian art it's very difficult to know what on earth he's talking about without seeing the art in question so I've had to have my smartphone with me to google all the pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
The book complements the TV series admirably. Well written and with the supporting paintings reproduced clearly. To anyone at all interested in the social and commercial history of the Victorian era this book, by portraying it through the art of the time, is a must have.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)