Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Shame About the Weather
A very good little book with some excellent recipes. Whether indoors or out they taste great!
Published on 2 Aug 2009 by M. J. Keymer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not enough about the barbecue
A well presented pocket sized book full of colour and mouth-watering pictures. The format throughout finds the recipe on the left page, and then accompanied by a picture of the finished creation on the opposite page. It is clear and quite easy to look at first glance. I must say the photography is second to none. It includes lots of great recipes for desserts, salads and...
Published 21 months ago by A. Macneill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Shame About the Weather, 2 Aug 2009
By 
M. J. Keymer (Cambridge, Cambs., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
A very good little book with some excellent recipes. Whether indoors or out they taste great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Good Food, 16 July 2010
By 
Erica Powell "barry fanilow" (Stoke on Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
A wonderful little book - handy to keep by the barbi and easy to follow. Great ideas, quick and easy when trying to throw that really good BBQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic book of this series, 31 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
BBC good food does it again.Yet another excellent book in this series.Produce restaurant quality food at home.Recipes have nutritional information so you can select recipes even when on a diet.All the recipes I have tried work,some are excellent and will become firm favourites.Even fussy kids seem to eat those we have tried on them.This is by far the best recipe series I have used and I go back to these books again and again.Eating out is now almost always a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not enough about the barbecue, 17 July 2012
By 
A. Macneill (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
A well presented pocket sized book full of colour and mouth-watering pictures. The format throughout finds the recipe on the left page, and then accompanied by a picture of the finished creation on the opposite page. It is clear and quite easy to look at first glance. I must say the photography is second to none. It includes lots of great recipes for desserts, salads and even how to make your own lemonade.

... but for me, although really great, these have very little to do with barbecueus and grills and should not take up so much space. In fact the book on a whole does not feel that geared up towards Barbecues, and feels more like recipes that are really suited to the kitchen instead. Not much in the way of barbeque techniques of smoking or slow cooking etc. Also in my opnion it contains a few recipes that are not for the fussy eater - which is not necessarily a bad thing. There are indeed a few nice recipes but overall just not enough substance I'm afraid. The book just doesn't focus enough on barbecues and grills :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars an annoying review - unable to use book without completing review, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unable to read book because this annoying review screen keeps popping up - poor tactics to get review! If you an accurate review you should let me read and use the book first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended collection, 13 April 2012
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
For some reason barbecuing food is one of those things that should, in theory, be nice and simple to do yet for many people it can be something of a disaster or just the same old burgers, sausages and maybe slightly charred sweetcorn.
Yet magazines and books are full with pictures of brightly-coloured, luxuriant food that looks like it has sprang gaily from the barbecue and onto the plate without a care in the world. How do they do it?
Well this little BBC Food book is not going to make you into a seasoned grill master or show you the exact tools you might need to achieve your heart's desire, but it will give you a wide range of recipes for barbecue and grill dishes that will help remove the "samey samey" aspect of your barbecue and, perhaps, inspire you to try things you had never considered before or thought to be well out of your reach.
In total 101 different recipes covering meats, fish and sea food, vegetarian food, salads, salsas and sides as well as a range of drinks and deserts are covered.
These little BBC Food guides follow a tried-and-tested formula. A clear set of signposts leading to a full colour image of the dish, flanked by a clearly written narrative, ingredients list and instructions. Concise yet to the point and one of the key selling points of this series is that each recipe has been tested by at least three separate people to hopefully smooth out any inconsistencies or unclarity that might have otherwise exist - and in all of our trials this has reached the mark and shot past to boot.
These little books do not focus on the techniques, histories or even the egos of the chefs concerned, but focuses solidly on its subject, providing a great little set of recipe resources for a very reasonable price. On that basis alone they come highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good little book, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
The first one I ordered didn't arrive. Amazon told me to wait for a while longer. It still didn't turn up. After contacting Amazon a replacement was sent out, which did arrive eventually.
The book is a gem, with good clear recipes. Good price, value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable book with great recipes, 22 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of BBC GoodFood! I love their website, magazine and their books. The books are filled with recipes from the website and magazine, and what's great about these recipes is that they're tested by the professional team at Good Food. I've tried hundreds of recipes and they're usually a huge success - both tasty and easy to make. This book covers barbecues and grills and is stocked with salads that goes well to grilled meat, summery desserts, drinks and of course a lot of meat, fish and veggie recipes. The price is good too, so this is a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 21 April 2010
By 
M. Stewart "mamie" (aberdeen scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
good series, cant wait for the weather to really give this book a work out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Good Book, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Barbecues and Grills: Triple-tested Recipes: 101 Barbecues and Grills - Triple-tested Recipes (Good Food 101) (Paperback)
Bought quite a few in this range and the recipes really deliver, recommend them and much cheaper than big name cook books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews