Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sontaran olympiad
This year's doctor who quick reads novel. If you've not heard of quick reads, then a brief word of explanation. every year several very short books - about one hundred pages of short chapters and large print - are issued on national quick reads day. the aim of these is to get those who don't normally read to try it. since they're short and easy reads they're good things...
Published on 22 Feb 2009 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worst quick read
according to me this is the worst doctor who quick read so far, it doesn't contain much action and the story was verry predictable, i think the sontarans have had a good run, but it's time for them to die out and hopefully they can be replaced by other, cooler species like the ice warriors
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by B. Joan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sontaran olympiad, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
This year's doctor who quick reads novel. If you've not heard of quick reads, then a brief word of explanation. every year several very short books - about one hundred pages of short chapters and large print - are issued on national quick reads day. the aim of these is to get those who don't normally read to try it. since they're short and easy reads they're good things to try if you don't usually have the time or inclination for anything longer or more challenging.

but that doesn't mean those who do can't enjoy them as well.

the range is now in it's fourth year and a doctor who book has been included in the range every year.

this one involves the doctor arriving at a sports training facility to find there have been several mysterious deaths there. he befriends some of the students at the place and they find that it has been taken over by sontarans, aliens familiar to anyone who saw the 2008 season of the show on tv. the sontarans put the doctor and the students through some dangerous tests. can they survive? and what is the sontarans true purpose in being there?

This is definitely a book you can get into quickly and the prose is clear enough such that you won't find it a difficult read. story wise it's not bad. the supporting characters do have a reasonable amount of depth to them, and the plot does develop nicely. There are a few decent revelations to come along the way.

Nothing special, but if you want a good quick read, or a good quick doctor who story, or both, then it's well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars soo good, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book although I wish it was not a quick read (as I wish it was a normal length book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was really disappointing. I read another Doctor Who title by the same author which was definitely a 5 star, but this only scraped two because of the price.

Stilted writing with only one good twist and it really doesn't slot into the genre. A lot of out of character moments and plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly written, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book, but quite short, i enjoyed the fact that it bought in already known aliens rather that inventing new ones. The continuing theme throughout was good and the plot clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Sontaran Games, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
Every time the lights go out, someone dies...

The TARDIS lands at an academy for top athletes, all hoping to be chosen for the forthcoming Globe Games. But is one of them driven enough to resort to murder? The Doctor discovers that the students have been hushing up unexplained deaths.

Teaming up with a young swimmer called Emma, the Doctor begins to investigate - but he doesn't expect to find a squad of Sontarans invading the academy!

As the Sontarans begin their own lethal version of the Globe Games, the Doctor and Emma must find out what's really going on. But the Doctor is captured and forced to take part in the Sontaran Games. Can even a Time Lord survive this deadly contest?

Featuring the Doctor as played by David Tennant in the acclaimed Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who; The Sontaran Games, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
It tells of the Doctor having to take part in olympic style games to save the day, reconmended to Doctor Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool..., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
A fun read on a short adventure with the good Doctor... Probably would have been happier with my purchase had I realised it was a novella & not a novel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worst quick read, 10 Jan 2010
By 
B. Joan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
according to me this is the worst doctor who quick read so far, it doesn't contain much action and the story was verry predictable, i think the sontarans have had a good run, but it's time for them to die out and hopefully they can be replaced by other, cooler species like the ice warriors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good short read, perfect for reading whilst on holiday, 2 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
This was an ok read. I found the language was very simplistic but that was intentional because it is in the quick read initiative to get people reading. I was not bothered by that because the story was good although it did not have a lot of depth. The only thing that bothered me was the portrayal of the Doctor, he seemed to be really weak and didn't have a clue on how to solve the situation. The supporting characters seemed to have a bigger role in trying to defeat the aliens and the Doctor was unsure. This would not be bad if the book was unconnected to anything, but the book is written tto complement the tv programme and I felt that it contradicted the Doctors personality and strengths on the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sontar-Ha!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games (Paperback)
The latest in the 'quick reads' series, and like its predecessors, is a fast pacing book which can be easily read in a day or as an aide to reading, the latter being primarily the reason for this series of books.
The Doctor is the Doctor, the Sontarans are the Sontarans and the supporting cast are just that - there for support and someone for the Doctor to talk to and show off his cleverness and knowledge.
There is no real depth to the story - in fact the swimming pool mentioned in the text probably has more depth - but the short chapters mean you can read a chapter, go away for half an hour, come back and read another chapter and keep the same pace throughout the day, reading the final chapter just before turning out the light at bedtime. Alternatively, the book can be read to children at bedtime and so send them off into the dreamland worlds of Doctor Who - just make sure they know there is a sofa near by for them to hide behind, if need be!
All in all, a book well worth the money, and a fun read to boot!
Now, where did I put that sonic screwdriver...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games
Doctor Who: The Sontaran Games by Jacqueline Rayner (Paperback - 26 Feb 2009)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews