Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
T. J. Moss "tejayem" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
With its bold and all-encompassing title, and following as the latest in a line of BBC's spectacular nature programmes, 'Life' had a lot to live up to. Luckily, it does not disappoint! This book provides the perfect accompaniment for the TV programme, providing a more in-depth account of the animals shown in the programme. It is filled with stunning photography and fascinating descriptions of the remarkable and peculiar ways in which various species have adapted to their unique circumstances. As you read through, you truly are left with a sense of awe at the complexities and delicate balances that exist in the world that we live in. A must for anyone with an interest in...Life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
I. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
I picked up a copy of this book after watching the BBC series, and it doesn't disappoint! Not only is the photography really breathtaking, but it reveals some of the most amazing, and often bizarre, creatures in the world today. From extraordinary Sea Creatures which look like they belong to another world, to giant almost prehistoric lizards, to fantastic big eyed marsupials that are so cute you want to take them home, this book has something to please everyone. Perfect present for anyone who likes Natural History and/or amazing photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual treat, 1 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
'Life' is a stunning visual treat which both adults and children in our household have been unable to put down. The photography is vibrant and the accompanying text is balanced to inform without overloading readers both young and old. This is now on my Christmas list for several family members and friends as it is a delight for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
`Life' is the companion book to the BBC series of the same name and like the series it has amazing images and outstanding facts that will leave you amazed at the diversity and splendour of nature. Covering the same ground as the series this book is broken into various chapters focusing on various animals and habitats. These chapters are Introduction, Location Map, Extraordinary Sea Creatures, Fabulous Fish, Irrepressible Plants, Insect Ingenuity, Frogs, Serpents and Dragons, Brilliant Birds, Winning Mammals, Hot Blooded Hunters and Intellectual Primates. The photography is simply breath taking and make this worth the purchase price alone, before you factor in the informative and clear writing. The BBC makes exceptional nature documentaries and this was no exception and if you were a fan of the series then I can heartily recommend this book and if you have an interest in natural history and haven't yet seen the show then this would still make wonderful reading. Due to it's large hardback format this would make a great coffee table book, but to be honest you could just as easily enjoy this from cover to cover or dip in and out of it as the mood takes you. I can see this being a book I will come back to at various times in the future and will enjoy flicking through the images within it's pages. Stunning and fascinating, what more could you want?

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another BBC hit book, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Another great publication from the BBC. The book accompanies the excellent TV series and immerses you that little bit further.

You could argue that if you have seen the TV series, why bother with the book. I just find that the enhance the show as they are intended. You have a reference to hand and anything you might have missed is covered, and more, in the book. It makes for good bed time reading, albeit a bit weighty. In fact I find books such as these more relaxing than reading a good novel which ends up over-stimulating my mind.

Written into 9 chapters it covers plants, fish, reptiles and mammals. There is a map at the beginning showing you where filming took place, so you have a better idea of where the events took place. It is well written and presented and side notes cover the photographs. The photography is visually stunning as you would expect from an institution like the BBC. How they took some of the shots is beyond me. The picture of the American alligator partly submerged and showing a full set of teeth, the chinstrap penguins sat on a block of blue ice and the hyena with the worn down canines were just a few of the images that I spent a few minutes admiring.

If you are a fan of the BBC series of shows, I would recommend building up a collection of books to go with them. I have mentioned this in previous reviews; don't overlook the market place for second hand books. These type of books tend to get read once and you can pick up some very good quality copies for a lot less than new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than a coffee table book, 9 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
This book is worth buying just for the pictures alone. I was dithering between the DVD or the book for my daughter who is studying animal behaviour at university and decided on the book because I thought that it would have more technical details than the dvd. Although it couldnt be cited as a text in an assignment, there is enough technical details for the non novice without being too dry for the beginner. If you like Attenborough's presenting style, then you will like the text style too with plenty of excellent pictures to illustrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect present for all the family, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. K. Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
A truly beautiful book which tells the remarkable stories of how certain species of animals and plants have adapted in order to survive. We picked up the book before seeing any of the TV series and were then inspired to watch it all on iplayer. The book and tv series compliment each other - but the book also stands alone as a natural history guide to the wonders of evolution. What I particularly liked was that it picks a small number of creatures and documents them with very readable descriptions and stunning photographs - so that it does the animals justice, rather than than cramming in too many species. The wealth of photographs means that it is accessible to the younger members of the family, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
J. R. Skelton (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
This Christmas present has been a real delight. Amazing photos and stills from the TV series, it also has extra information so really adds something as a companion to the TV series or as a standalone. Quality and finish is excellent, this book is incredibly good value on amazon and would be lapped up by any armchair naturalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 14 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Never before have I seen a book that has so effectively followed and reflected its television series. The weird and wonderful portrayed graphically not only in pictures but words. Easy to read, follow and understand. Beautifully vibrant pictures and brilliantly written so that all the family can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
This excellent book published to accompany the BBC programme of the same name deals with the struggles for life and the unusual strategys deployed by plants and animals to survive.
The book explores 65 areas of the world -only one in Europe and none in Russia,China,India or Arabia- to find unusual happenings among sea creatures,fish,plants,insects,frogs,serpents,dragons,birds,mammals,hunters and primates.
Well written with firet class photographs.
This is a book that will stimulate interest in our wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life
Life by Michael Gunton (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2009)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews