Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2010
I love Doctor Who especially the old Tom Baker era and read most of the target books when young. This was my first Doctor Who audio book that i had ever listened to. It is based on the latest Doctor and his struggle with a certain Nemesis. I wasnt expecting too much from these CD's but i was absolutly blown away with the performance of the reader. His charecter voices were all distinct and they were brought to life in my imagination( his Daleks of course are spot on )- but best of all this is a really superb story- why this was never made for television i have no idea(although it is a little mature in places with respect to death which might upset some younger fans).
In fact i was so impressed with the quality of this BBC production that i am now working my way through the rest of the Doctor Who audio line.
Highly enjoyable and very recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 August 2014
This is another in the series of novels which have been previously published and which are now being re-published in the Monster Collection series of Doctor Who novels. This book was first published in 2009 so is one of the more recent novels in the Monster Collection re-issues.

The Tenth Doctor is travelling on his own. When the Tardis lands apparently of its own volition on a deserted world the Doctor is at first annoyed, then typically decides to have a scout about – after all, curiosity is one of his more endearing characteristics, isn’t it? But his adventure looks like it might be over before it starts, as he gets locked in an abandoned building. Meanwhile, the Wayfarer spaceship with its crew of Dalek hunters is looking for somewhere to refuel out on the edges of the frontier borders. Coincidentally, there’s a refueling station on the planet where the Doctor is trapped, but they don’t know that yet.

This is a great story; set quite late in the Tenth Doctor’s incarnation, he finds himself back further in time than he first anticipated, before the Time War and at the time when the great Dalek Wars with Earth’s Empire are taking place. This is a time and place where men and women live and die fighting the Daleks, only this time the Daleks think they’ve found the perfect way to win the war.

David Tennant’s Doctor is very well characterised in this work; he has great charisma and empathy, abhors violence of all kinds, and is frenetic in his attempts to sort out what he can see are the great wrongs being done around him. The other characters are also well drawn. The crew of the Wayfarer are all misfits in their own ways, and we find ourselves drawn into their stories. The Daleks are suitably single-minded in their focus on being the superior race, and Dalek X is a nice touch in this story. I really enjoyed this story, it’s well set up and well executed. Definitely recommended.
66 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A really solid, epic Doctor Who adventure that races along at a fast pace throughout, and features the Daleks at their meanest and best.

It's an exciting story with plenty of unexpected twists and a good range of supporting characters. A few liberties have to be taken in order to fit the story in 'before the Time War' during the great intergalactic humans vs Daleks war but as long as you're not too nit-picky it all works very nicely and it's a good opportunity for a grand-scale war story featuring thousands of Daleks, instead of just a handful.

The Doctor arrives with no companion, but that doesn't last long as before long he's got the Dalek bounty hunting small crew of the Wayfarer as effectively his companions (and the people he can explain the plot exposition to). However, whilst avoiding spoilers, you don't get your usual 'Doctor and inquisitive young female companion' set-up here, which is a bold difference.

The inclusion of 'Dalek X' is an interesting one, it's always difficult to improve on the Daleks and any attempt to make them different tends to make things worse, but the author just about pulls off the idea of a Dalek who's even more ruthless and evil than the rest of them.

It's very well written, easy to follow and engaging. There are even a few jokes thrown in, without ruining everything, which is always tricky- such as when the Doctor can't find the TARDIS key and a Dalek is forced to ask, "WHERE DID YOU LAST HAVE IT?".

Good fun, and certainly not too childish for adult Who fans but not too grown-up for kids either. Definitely one of the best recent Doctor Who books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
The first of the BBC Books series of Ninth or Tenth Doctor novels to feature those malignant pepperpots from Skaro feels like a fairly adult novel compared to some others in the range. Trevor Baxendale's story is extremely gripping and doesn't shy away from describing violence, as The Doctor - travelling alone once more - finds himself allied to a group of hardened human mercenaries, during the ongoing Dalek/Earth war of the far future. This plays out like one of those archetypal TV serials; hardened mercenaries battle the pre-Time War Dalek empire, and is consequently melodramatic, bloody and hugely entertaining.

Baxendale's books are nothing if not action-packed, and Prisoner of the Daleks is no exception; introducing the fearsome `Dalek X', this features torture, death aplenty, and vivid descriptions of what lurks inside the casings of The Daleks; despite this it is a strong story and the violence is far from gratuitous; TB never shies away from imbuing his characters with realistic levels of anger, fear, and cunning; not to mention a thirst for vengeance.

The Doctor veers characteristically from bonhomie to bitterness; his exclamations of `allons y' and `molto bene' can become tiresome after a while but he remains eminently likeable and always eager to eschew violence and killing. Like the other two novels released alongside this one, Prisoner introduces a plucky and resourceful female one-off companion for The Doctor; unlike the others though, she definitely won't be back.

Trevor Baxendale's book is ultimately an engaging and accessible read for all ages, and I for one am happy to recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
As other reviewers have noted Trevor Baxendale captures the character of the Doctor as played by David Tennant very well indeed. The novel is full of the best Dalek elements and introduces the idea of the Dalek Inquisitor General (Dalek X), something which could be investigated further in the future. Great pacing and good characterisation for the supporting roles make this a very strong book and I am now looking forward to the CD version read by Nicholas (voice of the Daleks) Briggs later this year.

Set during the Dalek Incursion (possibly at the time of the Big Finish Dalek Empire series) this is truly the Daleks at their best. Scheming, plotting and exterminating just as their creator (by whom I mean Terry Nation) envisaged them so long ago. A true tribute to the most evil beings ever created in the Whoniverse.

As an aside I often wonder why no-one has explored the idea of the Special Weapons Dalek idea featured in Remembrance Of The Daleks. Perhaps this was a creation of the writer Ben Aaronovitch and only he has the rights to it, but it would make a fascinating idea within a future Dalek novel......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
This book is almost definitely the best doctor who book ever written. It has tons of previously unknown facts about Daleks and it introduces an epic new character Dalek x who I think is just about the coolest Dalek ever! It also introduces Dalek x's flagship the exterminater which gave me goose bumps when I first read about it. I think this book is an absolute must have for any doctor who fan. This book is my personal favourite book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
I have to say this is an incredibly good read, it perfectly highlights just why the daleks are the most feared monster in the doctor who series and are dealt with properly for a change.

I heartily agree that this book is well worth your time and having read it three times already may never get too bored to ever forget it given that the next epsidoe of dr who is this xmas or whenever that sarah jane adventures episode turns up with Doc 11 involved.

This book is truly what doctor who and the daleks is all about, its well worth the price and the author has made an extraordinary effort to show how it should have been done.

These daleks don't serve tea and they aren't thwarted by stairs and as for the Osterhagen principle well read this book and find out just what that is!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
Now the new series tv daleks have been very "meh" for me and as a dalek fan myself thought i would give this a read.From the get go,trevor baxendales novel draws you straight in.I found his writing exceptional and could easily realise this story like a film in my head,i couldnt put this book down.I would have to say this is the best doctor who novel i have read in years and the author has nailed the parts of the doctor and the daleks perfectly.The Daleks are as evil and terrifying as theyve never been on screen,and now the books over im off to buy the audio reading to listen too over and over.11 out of 10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
this one of my fave books from the tenth range and heres why

nothing is of the norm ( except for the doctor deafeting the daleks wich is cristal clear ) no one trust the doctor one of the charecters who really dose give you the impresion that she will be a compaion unfortunetly dosent end up like that ( wont spoil it for people ) the other unnorm thing with this book is the dalek dialog written in that format its takes a bit of use but it works the daleks is really nasty here when they distroy a entire planet it fills you with rage sadness the doctor is really well wrriten in this screen hes well written in the entrire book but this screen you can really see davids doctor

the guist charecters is really what you want from doctor who people who hunt down things and dont care who they hurt to get it the whole thing really works theres a couple of chapters wich could be concerderd padding but i thought it was spooky if iam honest seeing the doctor moping around feeling sorry for himslef is tired the better he regenrates the sooner ( no i didnt get mix up ) but this is one of the best 10th books ive read highly recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
There are lots of Doctor Who books out there, but what made me choose this one is the Daleks. The TARDIS lands before the Time War, and Daleks are wiping out humans. The Doctor helps a group of bounty hunters to capture a Dalek. The bounty hunters get money for each eyestalk they bring to Earth Command.

The story itself is fantastic, and it has lots of plot twists. For the Dalek speech it uses a different font so you know when a Dalek is speaking. I would recommend this book to any Doctor Who fan, and maybe people who just want a good read. If you have the spare money, you have to get this book. If you don't, get this book anyway. I've just read it and after I've finished 'The Monsters Inside' and 'The Nightmare Of Black Island' (two other great Doctor Who books you have just got to buy) I'm going to read it again.

Overall this is a great book to read before Apollo 13 and other 11th Doctor novels come out in April and July. Truly worthy of your Doctor Who collection (if you have one and you should because there are loads of good Doctor Who episodes, books and magazines).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.09

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.