Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite Cook Books
There aren't enough superlatives for this book. The concept is excellent. A generous and pretty comprehensive helping of favourite foods from seven distinct geographical regions. Every recipe - even within each chapter - is wonderfully unique, each is clearly carefully selected to deliver a good, comprehensive overview of the regions' veritable cornucopia. They are also...
Published 11 months ago by T. Graff

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well trodden
as a really big fan of rick stein, and having all of his previous books, this is just a bringing together of his favorites. not worth purchasing if you have previous books, but a nice little pressie for a newbie
Published on 1 Oct 2008 by Aubz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite Cook Books, 19 Aug 2013
By 
T. Graff (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
There aren't enough superlatives for this book. The concept is excellent. A generous and pretty comprehensive helping of favourite foods from seven distinct geographical regions. Every recipe - even within each chapter - is wonderfully unique, each is clearly carefully selected to deliver a good, comprehensive overview of the regions' veritable cornucopia. They are also very well written; with each one turning out above and beyond my expectations.

As mentioned by other reviewers, this is basically a compilation of best recipes from Rick's preceding books. So for me, this was an excellent introduction. I now also have "Seafood" "French Odyssey" "Mediterranean Escapes" "Far Eastern Odyssey" "Spain" and "India". Alongside these there is very little overlap and lots of nicely contrasting material. For anyone who has all of the preceding books, I imagine this one may be pretty superfluous...

Since buying it a year ago I've been pretty much systematically making my way through its contents. Pizza, Potato curry, Chorizo and Butterbean stew, Broiled Haddock with Succotash, Mushroom Risotto and North Atlantic Prawn Pilaf I've made more times than I can count, with - by now - most of the book's remaining content having made an outing at some point or other. They are all excellent and entirely fool-proof, and a lovely balance is offered between 5-minute preparations and more intricate, work-intensive efforts. The book is also an excellent source of cooking ideas, with many aspects of each recipe easily adapted into a creation of your own.

As for the criticism that ingredients are obscure and hard to get hold of. Pretty much everything in this book can be made with the assistance of a decently-sized supermarket, with the few more obscure ingredients easy to source through seasoned pioneers via Amazon. A contrast to some of the other books, which give details of specialist suppliers.

As a final point. The product description that Amazon have for this book seems to have been written by someone that has never read it. None of the advertised content is in the book. I wouldn't give it any less than 5 stars on that basis, but anyone looking to buy it should probably be aware of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well trodden, 1 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
as a really big fan of rick stein, and having all of his previous books, this is just a bringing together of his favorites. not worth purchasing if you have previous books, but a nice little pressie for a newbie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the spice one is better, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
rick rocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality recipes, 16 Sep 2011
By 
C. West (Finchampstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
A very good book with a wide range of recipes, and also well laid out. Recommended by a friend who clearly has used his copy extensively - given the amount of stains throughout the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coast to Coast is the perfect gift this autumn/winter!, 8 Oct 2008
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
I purchased this as a present for a friend's birthday - she was over the moon with the book, and spent Sunday making dinner with recipes from the book. I shall definitely be purchasing this for others come Christmas due to the feedback i've received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick is looking gorgeous!, 8 Oct 2008
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
This is the most beautiful of Rick's books so far- I'm a big fan of his recipes and my mouth is watering looking through the photos. The great thing is you just know you're going to get quality recipes- what's so special about this book is the personal touches, introductions to the recipes and stories of his travels round the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick's writing style is the best - coast to coast, great value, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
Enjoy Rick Stein's cookery books....his written style is familiar and so enjoyable....beats all the noisy/in your face chef books out there by a mile.
His relaxed style engages everyone...even the none foodies in my family enjoy his programmes. As for this book, it is a great buy....and I would recommend it as a lovely gift for anyone who is fed up of cooking the same recipes week after week. Enjoy the layout of different regional foods...and again...Rick has me thinking about where to source local foods again....he makes me enjoy my cooking without making it a major task....exactly how it should be....the lamb curry recipe Wow!!! yummy!!!
Love your chicken and asparagus soup Rick....especially made with local Formby asparagus.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Best, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
I have all of his books (my wife thinks I'm mad) but this is like a compilation of his greatest hits , if you had to choose one cook book to take to your desert island this would have to be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fish lovers the world over!, 7 Dec 2008
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
Rick stein is a seafood god among men. His worldly travels have inspired generations to cook and too cook with confidence using ingredients not usually on your average menu.

Coast to coast is a great collection of fantastic recipes and there not all fish! Rick's passion for locality, flavour and affordability has created some fantastic meals easiliy acheivable by even the most amature cook. The book is well layed out,clear and precise with fantastic images to make even the driest mouth water with anticipation.

The recipes are easy to follow the ingredients are (dependant on season) readily availible and the end result is nothing but perfection! this book is a great addition to my collection and would be a worthwhile present for any wanabe cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World (Hardcover)
Beautiful book with the usual high standard of both recipes and other content. Rick Stein has excelled yet again, a great buy and fantastic addition for the kitchen or the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coast to Coast: Food from the Lands & Sea Inspired by Travels Across the World
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews