Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly decent book for who fans, 8 Jan 2009
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
Given how (over-)saturated the marketplace is for Who products, I was not expecting more than a re-hash of material already published before. Instead this is a fresh take on the story of Dr Who told in chronological order (i.e. real time) not series order.Yes it focusses a lot on the 9th and 10th Doctors (and is unaware of the 11th) but does give a good context for many of the adventures, some timelord mythology and is a well produced item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who-ray!, 1 Mar 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
As the other reviewers have said, this is a worthy addition to the current range of Doctor Who tie-in products that have emerged since the series was relaunched in 2005. Pleasingly chunky, thoughtfully compiled and attractively illustrated; this is a great stocking-filler and should grace every coffee-table or bathroom window sill in the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!, 19 Jan 2009
By 
kit (jersey,channel islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
This book is Amazing!!! It takes you from series 1-4, with time spanding from 1184 BC to 100,000,000,000,000 years. It also gives lots of info on Villans. For example: Delaks, Cybermen, Slitheen, The Hath and The Evil Master. This book is a MUST buy for all Doctor Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
I own 5 Doctor Who books, and they all have something different to offer. This one, like Doctionary, and Dr Who Encyclopaedia is solely concerned with the new series (although it's first entry is about the Dark Times, long before Christopher Ecclestone's Doctor. There is a whole section of information based on the "Turn left" episode featuring what happened "really" and what happened when Donna Noble turned right instead, for example the Doctor dying because Donna wasn't there to save him etc. There are "Sightings" of Jack Harkness, and a section on the "Children of Time." The book is arranged both chronologically and by subject, for example, Great Lives, Technology. Each segment is a different colour meaning you can navigate easily around the entries. Topping it all off are loads of colour photographs, making it a handy reference work. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Doctor Who Reference Book, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
This book is essential for any Doctor Who fan who wants a book about the events of the show. It's is almost an "in universe" book in that it appears to be an actual history book from inside the Doctor Who universe. It starts with the Dawn of Time and ends at 100,000,000,000 and has information on everything that ever happened between. Well everything that involved the Doctor that took place between series 1 and 4. Each era or year has information unrelated to the story that make it feel like a real history book and give greater insight into the era the story is set in. There is also loads of information related tithe story and the Doctor. There are a lot of illustrations including photos as well as original artwork that all look beautiful. The book is very well laid out in a timeline with colour coded sections and has so much information. It is better than the newer Brilliant Books. I got mine used for only 1.50 and was in almost perfect condition. Unbelievable bargain. There are many Dictor Who reference books out there but this is the number one, one to own or the first to get if you are new to Who books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I imagined and more, 2 July 2010
By 
Mischa (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
I simply love this book. It's packed with loads of information (on characters, stories, gadgets) both from the clasic and the new Dr Who. Many pictures, most of them from the relaunched series. Great print quality. And...I was absolutely amazed by the very fast delivery service from Amazon. Way to go Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doc Who Time travellers Almanac, 24 Mar 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
Great thanks. It was a gift so really couldn't say much about it except that he was pleased to recieve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Newcomers to Dr Who, 6 Feb 2010
By 
H. O'Sullivan (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
Due to a previous lack of cable or satellite television I'm a newcomer to Dr Who and am currently enjoying BBC 3's re-runs of the David Tennant years. It quickly became obvious that I was missing out on much of the joy of watching the Doctor by having no background knowledge whatsoever.

This book is a substantial 192 pages long, sturdily bound and beautifully produced, featuring lots and lots of colour photographs on glossy pages. In my ignorance, I find it extremely helpful and educational in all matters concerning the Doctor and it has become an invaluable addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE DOCTOR'S ALMANAC & DAYDREAMS OF BETTER TIMES, 21 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac (Hardcover)
ANYONE WHO'S INTERESTED IN BOTH THE CLASSIC DOCTOR WHOS OF THE 70's RIGHT THROUGH TO THE PRESENT SERIES WILL FIND THIS BOOK A GREAT READ.

ALL THE GADGETS AND GIZMOS ARE HERE WITH STORIES OF TIME TRAVEL, TV EPISODES AND PLENTY OF BACKGROUND INFORMATION.

HOWEVER, ON A MORE PRACTICAL SIDE, IT'S JUST AN UPDATED BUT A LITTLE MORE COMPLICATED VERSION OF THE PREVIOUS BBC BOOK "DOCTOR WHO: THE ENCYCLOPEDIA BY GARY RUSSELL".

BUT HEY, FOR UNDER A FIVER INCLUDING P&P FROM AMAZON MARKETPLACE WHO REALLY CARES!!!

IS IT ME OR IS THE DOCTOR STARTING TO GET A BIT REPETITIVE NOW? COME ON AUNTY (THE BEEB). DON'T GO DOWN THE ROUTE OF THINKING SPECIAL EFFECTS WILL COMPENSATE FOR WHAT ARE BECOMING JUST POOR STORYLINES!! GIVE US TRUE FANS SOMETHING THE THINK ABOUT!!!

AS FOR THE BOOK..... 7/10 ON A RAINY DAY WHEN I CAN'T GO TIP TOEING THROUGH THE DAISIES IN THE SUNSHINE IN THE HOPE OF TIME TRAVELLING BACK TO THE DAYS OF JON PERTWEE & TOM BAKER ON MY CHOPPER BIKE WHILE MUNCHING ON A CURLY WURLY, LISTENING TO THE BAY CITY ROLLERS AND DREAMING OF LOOKING UP JENNY HANLEY'S DRESS FROM MAGPIE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac
Doctor Who: The Time Traveller's Almanac by Steve Tribe (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2008)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews