Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Chaos, beautiful story
One of the biggest reasons (if not THE biggest) why Series 4 of Doctor Who is my favourite is because of Donna Noble (Catherine Tate). A lot of that series' success can be attributed to such a deep, wonderful companion and the actress/comedienne who played her. Donna's impact (and Catherine's for that matter) on Doctor Who can never ever be forgotten or understated...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by R. Wood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Melancholy More Drama
Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos 50th Anniversary Edition.

Product Info.
Paperback Edition
256 Pages
Author: Gary Russell

This is another novel that has been chosen to celebrate the 50th Anniversary release of Doctor Who this time the author is Gary Russell.

This is a good adventure that has to much emphasis on the Noble family &...
Published 13 months ago by Timelord-007


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just loved David as the doctor! And since he left and I've read all his books I was really looking forward to this book .. And it didn't disappoint! Once I got into reading it I found my self really enjoying it, I also found myself reading the voice of the doctor in my head how David plays the doctor ! Haha hope I don't sound too mad ! But this is a really great book and a great addition to my collection on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 23 May 2014
By 
RachyT (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite possibly my favourite Doctor Who novel that I have read. So many links to previous episodes, brilliant foreshadowing and accurate characterisation. I love how we found out more of Donna's backstory and why her relationship with her mother is the way it is. For once the alien invasion seems to have taken a backseat as this story focuses on a more human aspect: family. It's a bit gritty but I mean that in a good way. I won't give too much away but the prologue and epilogue will make you emotional. All in all, this book is bloody brilliant and you really have to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos (Hardcover)
definitely recommend, loved this. it has a great pace all the way through, in fairness most of this era of Doctor Who books are good .. well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Marvellous Wilf, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful Chaos is among the best thought of among the New Series Doctor Who novels, and much of that appears to derive from a deeper than expected look into the marvellous Wilf Noble (as portrayed by Bernard Cribbins), grandfather of Donna, and the man who would ultimately kill Tennant's 10th Doctor on the tellybox. He is indeed well captured, full of charm and pathos, and that elevates what is otherwise a fairly dull adventure. Donna and the Doctor are both well captured in some aspects, but unfortunately these tend to be at the shallower end of their portrayals, perhaps in an attempt to move the pace along with forced banter. The story itself is so standard it doesn't bear much of a review, although there are some nice action set pieces to keep things snapping along. It by no means fails as a Doctor Who story, but it doesn't live up to the potential of its sub-ploys or the splendid Wilf Noble either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book went down really well with my son who is Dr Who bonkers, especially where it concerns Mr Tennant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was a excellent however it was a bit confusing for the first and last chapters I would recommend this book to a doctor who fan who doesn't mind a bit of comicey death how ever it is not bad death PG death all in all a great book way worth it and can't wait to see the other 11

Hope I helped in your decision sorry if I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other 50th Anniversary Books, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the story was ok, albeit the resolution feeling very sudden. Whilst Donna, Wilf and Sylvia were spot on, sometimes I didn't feel the words were right for the Doctor. There was also an obsession with cruelty and killing not seen on the TV, which was disappointing. Overall the story was good but I felt David Tennant's Doctor was not correctly portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No special effects, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit short on laser cannons, but fantastic characters. So close to getting five stars, but you have to leave some headroom.

The known characters ring very true and blend in with real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class!, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just brilliant.
You can almost see this visually as you read it, it's so well written.
Almost as good as watching it on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Beautiful Chaos, 11 April 2013
Wilfred Mott is very happy: his granddaughter, Donna, is back home, catching up with family and gossiping about her journeys, and he has just discovered a new star and had it named after him. He takes the Tenth Doctor with him to the naming ceremony. But the Doctor soon discovers something else new, and worryingly bright, in the heavens - something that is heading for Earth. It's an ancient force from the Dark Times. And it is very, very angry.

An adventure featuring the Tenth Doctor as played by David Tennant and his companion Donna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos
Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 26 Dec 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews