Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Chaos, beautiful story
One of the biggest reasons (if not THE biggest) why Series 4 of Doctor Who is my favourite is because of Donna Noble (Catherine Tate). A lot of that series' success can be attributed to such a deep, wonderful companion and the actress/comedienne who played her. Donna's impact (and Catherine's for that matter) on Doctor Who can never ever be forgotten or understated...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by R. Wood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Melancholy More Adventure Please
This is another novel that has been chosen to celebrate the 50th Anniversary release of Doctor Who this time the author is Gary Russell.

This is a good adventure that has to much emphasis on the Noble family & lacks the usual threat of a Alien invasion for the Tenth Doctor to deal with.

Gary Russell whom i am a big fan of as he co-founded Big Finish...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was a excellent however it was a bit confusing for the first and last chapters I would recommend this book to a doctor who fan who doesn't mind a bit of comicey death how ever it is not bad death PG death all in all a great book way worth it and can't wait to see the other 11

Hope I helped in your decision sorry if I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other 50th Anniversary Books, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the story was ok, albeit the resolution feeling very sudden. Whilst Donna, Wilf and Sylvia were spot on, sometimes I didn't feel the words were right for the Doctor. There was also an obsession with cruelty and killing not seen on the TV, which was disappointing. Overall the story was good but I felt David Tennant's Doctor was not correctly portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No special effects, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit short on laser cannons, but fantastic characters. So close to getting five stars, but you have to leave some headroom.

The known characters ring very true and blend in with real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class!, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just brilliant.
You can almost see this visually as you read it, it's so well written.
Almost as good as watching it on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Beautiful Chaos, 11 April 2013
Wilfred Mott is very happy: his granddaughter, Donna, is back home, catching up with family and gossiping about her journeys, and he has just discovered a new star and had it named after him. He takes the Tenth Doctor with him to the naming ceremony. But the Doctor soon discovers something else new, and worryingly bright, in the heavens - something that is heading for Earth. It's an ancient force from the Dark Times. And it is very, very angry.

An adventure featuring the Tenth Doctor as played by David Tennant and his companion Donna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is good, really good! Captures the true essence of Tennant era Dr who in an emotional rollercoaster of an adventure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just read a mad adventure that's left me wanting Donna, her Doctor and Wilfred back. A sad and fun journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Book Gave Me Sunburn!, 8 Jan 2013
By 
James Wilson (Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needing a good holiday read for my kindle, I was wary to grab this, after being dissapointed with previous DW books, however, I wasn't dissapointed! Being a huge fan of Donna helped as her and Wilf's character really shoen through in the writing, with a persistant villain, some classic 10 moments and some very heartwarming moments, you really can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in action but strong on character, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos (Hardcover)
This is very different from the rest of the New series in that the emphasis is on the characters. There is a lot of pages spent giving background to the lead and background characters, even when they get killed off moments after appearing! Donna's development comes over well but the plot itself never seems to get going, and the book lacks action scenes and a satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Watch the skies, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos (Hardcover)
An oroginal Doctor Who novel, telling an all new story that hasn't been seen or heard before in any other medium.

It runs for two hundred and thirty seven pages and is divided into shorter chapters plus a prologue and an epilogue.

It's suitable for readers of all ages.

It features the Tenth Doctor and his companion Donna Noble.

And the characterisation of the leads is perfect and you can easily imagine the actors who played them saying the dialogue.

The prologue and epilogue centre on Donna's mother and her grandad Wilfred Mott, and what comes in between is Wilf remembering an occasion when the Doctor and Donna came to visit. In time for an uneasy family reunion on a certain day. And to see Wilf receive an honour.

But at the same time an old enemy of the Doctor's is waiting to strike again. And the fate of planet Earth hangs in the balance.

This book concerns itself a lot with Donna as a character and her relationship with her mother and as a result both have something of an emotional arc to work through. It also tries hard to characterise supporting cast members so you do get potted histories of their life every time someone new is introduced.

This does mean that the main plot is simmering away in the background for a lot of the first third of the book but it doesn't really spoil that as it does feel as if things are moving along at just the right pace.

Those who are unfamiliar with the old enemy in question shouldn't have any problem getting into the story as there is enough exposition in regards to it. And there are some pleasing continuity references for those who are.

Once the plot really does kick it things move along nicely and it does keep you turning the pages in time for a pretty decent resolution.

A slightly above average entry in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos
Doctor Who: Beautiful Chaos by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 26 Dec 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews