Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the canonical story
I really enjoyed this book, enough to read it twice in quick succession. This is all the more impressive as I really don't particularly like the character of Martha Jones and would mark her lowest of the "new Who" companions.
Starting and ending with Martha's arrival back in Britain, different segments of the story have been written by different authors and I think...
Published on 25 Feb. 2009 by V. J. Edwards

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My least favourite so far
I love the Doctor Who Novels, and when I heard about this one I was really excited. We were going to get to hear about the Year That Never Was, learn about Martha's struggles, maybe a few refrences to the Doctor and Jack on the Vailiant and view the Masters insanity and genius.
But we never really see the Master. I agree with a previous reviewer, after the...
Published on 28 Jun. 2009 by Titch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the canonical story, 25 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, enough to read it twice in quick succession. This is all the more impressive as I really don't particularly like the character of Martha Jones and would mark her lowest of the "new Who" companions.
Starting and ending with Martha's arrival back in Britain, different segments of the story have been written by different authors and I think this is a strength. I found it really interesting to fill in some of the gaps of her year abroad whilst the Master ruled and was particularly gripped by her visit to Japan. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who...The Story Of Martha, 14 Jan. 2015
The Master..Rules the earth.Ruthless and evil...Martha Jones..having to leave The Doctor in The Master's power..and seeing her world murdered by his allies The Toclafane..travels the world in order to save it and The Doctor..Telling stories of The Doctor and how he saves lives and other worlds...Suffering herself..but with so much determination...and love in her heart for The Doctor...In this story you can really feel Martha's struggle against the odds..She feels unworthy of the mammoth task The Doctor has set her..but she can't fail him or herself..She meets people that inspire her..from a young girl called Aleesha to Alister Gordon Lethbridge-Stuart Son..You feel her fear as she is persued by Griffin one of The Master's henchmen..But staying ahead of him for most of the story..You feel shocked when her perseption filter fails because of The Master's Archangel Network when she reaches Japan..but her stories help her through..The stories themselves were pretty good..full of hope..Once you read this book it adds stength and body to the TV episode Last Of The Timelords...This book is an Excellent one...and I really enjoyed it...and I feel sure that other Doctor Who fans will also...I would give this a high recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Martha, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
This book is set in the year that the Master ruled over Earth, and Martha was separated from the Doctor (as shown in the tv series – 2007 episodes The Sound of Drums, followed by Last of the Time Lords).

The Master has trapped the Doctor and Jack Harkness; giving Martha his vortex manipulator Jack makes her leave. Earth is being decimated by the Toclafane. For a year, she’s alone. At the end of that year, Martha returns to England. But what has happened during the year? These are the stories that tell us.

What happens after that is not told in this book; for that you would have to go to the tv series and watch Last of the Time Lords (or look it up on Wikipedia). At the end of this book Martha has just met Tom Milligan, a name that is important to the resolution of this thread of story in Last of the Time Lords.

This is a nice interlude, and for those familiar, or not with the tv series it offers a chance to see Martha in this time without the Doctor but very focussed on saving him. It also offers a chance to see the full character of Martha as a very well-rounded person and dedicated companion, driven by circumstance to save the Doctor and her world. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable short story collection, 22 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
When the Doctor and Martha return to Earth and discover that the Toclafane are attacking the population and the Master is ruling the planet they both decide they must do something. But when the Master ages the Doctor into a fragile old man Martha finds herself the only one in any position to stop the Master - and with the Doctors advice she heads off on a quest to bring the stories of the Doctor to the world.

This is the story of what happened during the year that Martha Jones travelled the globe telling stories of the Doctor, the difficulty she has and the kindness of people that are willing to listen.

The Story of Martha is something of a mix - not quite a traditional novel but not a short story collection either. What we have is a linking narrative written by Dan Abnett detailing Martha's journey from place to place, while mixed between these are the stories she tells while travelling, all written by different writers. Overall the result is great - the sections are long enough to give a good story but not overlong to stretch it out unnecessarily either.

All the writers here have a very good grasp of the characters, even when only in short stories. The one thing that I found most pleasing was the consistency between them all - this could easily have read like a book from one person, not six. Dan Abnett has the most page time and he does a good job of delivering a self contained story from Martha's point of view that has to fit in with what was already established in the series. All in all this is a great novel and is a quick read that is thoroughly enjoyable. An unexpected highlight of the year so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Story of Martha, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
For a year, while the Master ruled over Earth, Martha Jones travelled the world telling people stories about the Doctor - how he has saved them before, and how he will save them again. This is that story. It tells of Martha's travels - from her arrival on Earth as the Toclafane attacked and decimated the population through to her return to Britain to face the Master. But it's more than that. This is also a collection of the stories she tells - the stories of adventures she had with the Doctor that we haven't heard about before. The stories that inspired and saved the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Dark, 3 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, I think it's unlike many of the New Series novels, and the reason it's not been recieved as ultimatley fantastic is that it's so different to the other novels that its unnerving at times. There hasn't really been a novel that has relied on continuity so much, and a novel that has the abillity to end on a dark note because we all ready know the ending.
I say by all means get this book because it's pretty fantastic (admittedly I enjoyed the actual story of martha rather than the stories she tells the prisoners of earth) Plus it makes watching Last Of The Timelords 10 x Better and more intense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My least favourite so far, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
I love the Doctor Who Novels, and when I heard about this one I was really excited. We were going to get to hear about the Year That Never Was, learn about Martha's struggles, maybe a few refrences to the Doctor and Jack on the Vailiant and view the Masters insanity and genius.
But we never really see the Master. I agree with a previous reviewer, after the tantalising mention of the islands of Japan burning in the show the logical assumption is that in the book the Master is behind the tradgedy. But no. It's just some aliens.
The idea itself, of linking Martha's travels together with her stories is fantastic in my opinion, as that is after all how she beat the Master. But the stories are just a bit... 'meh' I found them to be a bit confusing, and a bit pointless really. Which is a real shame, because I really wanted this book to be brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Martha's year, 4 Nov. 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel. Like the others in this range it runs for 238 pages [approx] and is suitable for readers of all ages. And manages spot on characterisation of the main characters.

This one is slightly different from the others in the range in that it is not entirely an all new story. It tells the tale of Martha's year. Mentioned at the start of the final episode of the third season of the new show, the Doctor's companion Martha Jones spent a year travelling round the world after the master took over it. Telling tales about the exploits of the Doctor.

The book begins by reprising the opening to that tv episode, showing Martha arriving back in Britain one year after she last saw the Doctor.

In flashback, we then get the story of that year. Told in relatively short chapters. And whenever it gets to the point where she's about to tell a tale of the Doctor, the book gives us the tale as well. Thus there are four short stories telling a hitherto untold adventure for the Doctor and Martha in the middle of all the other chapters.

Whilst capably written and readable, the Martha sections aren't desperately interesting. Because nothing really happens that we don't already know about. She travels the world. Evades the Master's people. And tells people about the Doctor. She is given a foe for the course of this journey who is a mildly interesting character. But who never really amounts to much.

Things do get different in the final quarter when the book reveals what led to an event that was mentioned in the tv episode, but it's nothing that has any major bearing on the plot.

Simply the trouble with this is that we know how the story ends, and yet there's not really much extra detail in the meantime.

Of the four short adventures for the Doctor And Martha, the first two are quite good. And the second two are very good. But not enough to be worth the price of the book all by themselves.

There's nothing wrong with this book at all. It's just not the most essential entry in the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martha Martha tell us a story, 1 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
A great idea this, and one that is in the new series' spirit of putting The Doctor's companions at the forefront of his battles to save mankind. As the title states, this novel focuses on the period referred to at the end of series 3; when The Doctor was captured by The Master and the renegade Timelord had enslaved the entire Earth with the help of the sinister `Toclafane'. The Doctor sends Martha away with instructions to walk the earth for a year and spread the stories of his exploits, in order that the human race should have something to hope in and consequently would rise up and save itself.

The book alternates between descriptions of Martha walking the Earth and evading capture from the UCF - The Master's human army - and her stories of various adventures with The Doctor. Abnett keeps up a cracking pace and the contributions from Rob Shearman, Simon Jowett, Steve Lockley, Paul Lewis and David Roden segue nicely into the style of the book. The story is quite dark and fleshes out what I thought was a TV adventure that could have been a traditional four or even six parter.

Personally, I have found the TV Martha to be a little bland, and the least interesting of all the Tenth Doctor's companions, however she comes across much better in written form, especially when separated from The Doctor for whom she had an unrequited love which became quite irritating after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, great character, 2 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Story of Martha (Hardcover)
I love the character of Martha Jones, because she is smarter and better looking than most assistants, and because she finally gave the Doctor a name (Doctor Smith), which he uses in this book. I was therefore eagerly looking forward to reading this, but am left afterwards feeling a bit cheated in the book if not in Martha's character. It tells the story of Martha's lost year, but feels very disjointed. No sooner are you getting into the main plot than she begins storytelling and you are somewhere and somewhen completely different. I never quite got the moral of the stories, and at one point there are actually three plots running together (an unexpected alien group turns up) so they can be a little confusing. I feel it could have been written better, with short parables about the Doctor and lingering more on her travels. USA and Africa were completely skipped and the book ends suddenly and without any final scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Story of Martha
Doctor Who: The Story of Martha by Dan Abnett (Hardcover - 26 Dec. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews