Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any dedicated Torchwood fan, 24 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
This book purports to be research notes into his investigation of Torchwood by a Warren Martyn which Torchwood has prevented from being published and is now locked up in the Torchwood basement as information for employees only.

In fact this book has been compiled by Doctor Who writer Gary Russell (with acknowledgements to other Torchwood writers such as James Moran and Joseph Lidster amongst others) from material from the BBC's Torchwood websites as well as original writing. Rather than being a straight guide to what happened in each episode (Series 1 & 2, and Lost Souls) the book uses fictitious archive notes, personnel forms, photographs, newspaper clippings and staff memos to provide additional background information to each story. For example, we learn that PC Andy is commended for bravery and Jack overrules Torchwood protocols when it comes to Tosh in "Exit Wounds". It would therefore be completely baffling to anyone who has not watched the relevant programme, but it is a real delight to the hardcore fan.

There are many touches of subtle humour throughout, for example, I particularly like "Owen's" and "Ianto's " snarky notes scattered throughout and "Captain Hart's" personnel file. However, Jack does need to work on his limericks. I am pleased that the "Captain's Blogs" from the BBC America site are reproduced as "Ongoing archive files" where we find out some of the enigmatic Jack's thoughts. My favourite line is "Need to requisition a new stopwatch. Old one damaged while moving a desk". And if you don't find that funny you obviously haven't seen "They keep killing Suzie". (Or don't have a sense of humour.)

This book won't give you any insight into what goes into the making of the series, but it does provide entertaining background into the Torchwood world and has obviously been put together with a lot of care and attention to detail. I would therefore thoroughly recommend this to any dedicated fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
As the previous reviewer said this is a beautifully designed, solid and highly entertaining look at what goes on behind the scenes at Torchwood. Rather than lots of information about how the series began and its cast and crew, the book takes the stance that it is a genuine collection of letters, notes, anecdotes and vignettes from the top-secret Torchwood organisation. Made to sit on a coffee-table and be browsed through every now and again; the book just looks and feels so damn good it's not true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Torchwood fans, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Beaudoghouse (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
Quirky, interesting, mysterious and really witty are just a few keywords to describe this book. Learn more about the aliens, the team (present and past)and Torchwood in general. Get your thinking cap on and discover the world of aliens, secrets and the people who live with them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 23 April 2011
By 
Cj Dower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
loved this backdrop to Torchwood.Ianto Jones is a unique charactor within Torchwood.If you are a Torchwood season one and 2 fan you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars torchwood, 22 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
The only way that I found enjoying each episode of Torchwood is actually reading the episode guide from the book:Some Thing In the Darness,the unofficial and unauthorised guid by Steohen James Walker,then watch the episode,read the guide and then re watch the episode inorder to derive the maximum benefit.This is the best sci fi programme.You need your thinking cap .I CAN NOT THINK OF ANY SCI FI SHOW LIKE TORCHWOOD THAT I FIND MIND BLOWING.Torchwood: Complete BBC Series 1 Box Set [2006] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
This book is very informative for anyone who likes Torchwood. Goes behind the scenes for all the episodes from the first series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My beloved Torchwood!, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
I'd been for a while thinking of purchasing this book, and so for my birthday I decided to treat myself with it.
What an amazing book this is!
Presented as a research done by a journalist who uncovers everything about Torchwood.
Compiles everthing any TW fan needs to know!
A must, I asure you. I read it really quickly, not because of shortage of content but because it really absorbed me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More complicated than expected- but still wonderful, 26 Jan 2012
By 
H. Jane "Zani" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Torchwood Archives (Hardcover)
I would definately recommend this to any fan. The book is set in-universe so there is no behind the scenes as many people seem to have expected.
It is not certain at first who is writing the book, and subsequently got remarkabley confused.
(to clarify) it is supposed to be from the point of view of a person ourside of Torchwood looking in and gathering information. This might be very obvious to many of you but some people may get confused as I did.
The book itself has a LOT of writing, very small bits of detail everywhere and some lovely notes from our favourite characters! There is also a profile of each character in torchwood in the first series and a break down of episdodes from the first and second series (written from the point of view of Jack). There is also little in-jokes and call-backs to various episodes of Torchwood and small allusions to the archives in the episodes
Love it. Would definately recommend to any Torchwood fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Torchwood Archives
The Torchwood Archives by Warren Martyn (Hardcover - 9 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews