Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant stocking-filler than you can read and re-read with pleasure
I really do love James A-S's 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers. It's small enough to go in my pocket and be carried around for when I need a little blast of delight and calm. And it's a perfect "dipping" book because there's just one flower on each little page.

I always really like his column (in Gardeners World magazine, for those who generally abstain from...
Published on 8 Dec 2008 by emma who reads a lot

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars pocket book
expected something better from 'Gardener's World'.Mostly reworked information that could be found elsewhere.Quick flick through and discarded into Charity shop box.
Published 18 months ago by nostellgreenlady


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant stocking-filler than you can read and re-read with pleasure, 8 Dec 2008
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
I really do love James A-S's 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers. It's small enough to go in my pocket and be carried around for when I need a little blast of delight and calm. And it's a perfect "dipping" book because there's just one flower on each little page.

I always really like his column (in Gardeners World magazine, for those who generally abstain from buying it). But to have them all in one volume is such a treat. The thing is that he has such a distinctive and enjoyable tone when he writes; and that it's such a personal choice of plants - it's like being given a garden tour by him or something.

He is just marvellous at describing plants, writing about them in a way that completely sums up what's great and individual about a variety. For eg: what about this description of "Black Magic" sunflower?

"Where the yellow one is coarse, this is more suave and sophisticated. It is the same colour as a Mississippi gambler's waistcoat and every bit as louche. Even the slight shagginess of the petals make it look as if it has been up all night losing its pearl buttons in a smoky game of five-card stud."*

See how beautifully that captures the plant: you will never see one again without thinking of the gambler's waistcoat...

Such a very, very good writer. That description bears endless re-reading, too. I hope this is the first of lots of books.

*This is also, like many pieces of writing, a very nice self-portrait. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational ideas for year-round garden colour, 15 Dec 2008
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
Now Gardeners' World has branched out into the world of books, bringing out a series of (largeish) pocket guides for less than a fiver on the theme of 101. Thankfully these have nothing to do with the Orwellian room of doom and are much more useful, brimming with ideas for projects, pots, shady or problem places and growing to eat. James Alexander Sinclair brings us the latest in the series, the '101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers'.

The book is divided into colour-themed sections, thus helping gardeners to easily match flowers into their current plantings, or to produce a whole border or garden from scratch. There are selections of choice bulbs and perennials and I'm glad to see annuals have not been left out of the equation - providing those welcome fillers whilst a garden develops or this year's fireworks highlight. Many of the plants will already be familiar to most gardeners, but the book's strength is to suggest a less well known variety - take the pictured front cover as an example. The usual Helenium on offer is 'Moerheim Beauty'. Nothing wrong with it, but it's in pretty well everyone's border. James suggests 'Rauchtopas' instead, describing its daisy shaped flowers as 'the reddish buff of burnt toffee, while the dark brown centre of each flower could be a chocolate-covered caramel rolo'. Doesn't that make you want to buy it right now (along with some accompanying chocolate perhaps)?

In this case you can judge a book by its cover - the standard of the photography throughout is high and the choice of plants throughout never fails to please. Flowering times and cultural notes are also provided, though I would have liked a one-liner summary at the bottom of each page (along the lines of what's seen on plant labels perhaps) to help with garden planning. They can be a little difficult to find at times amongst the sumptuous prose. That minor quibble to one side, it's a book to return to and I'll be using it to help replan some of my borders next year.

I'll leave you with a favourite description of mine - it's for Kniphofia 'Ice Queen'. Now I grew some of the usual Kniphofia from seed when I first had my garden, but ripped the whole lot out a couple of years later as they were an ugly mess for most of the year. I vowed Kniphofia would never darken my door ever again, but this had made me reconsider:

In the case of Kniphofia 'Ice Queen' you could call it Chic Poker. It may not roll off the tongue as easily, but instead of glowing harlot-scarlet flowers there are modish pokers wearing tasteful frocks of greenish-yellow, and the unsophisticated foliage is swapped for neater, spined leaves. It is a poker more likely to be found taking tea at musical salons than loafing around with disreputable sharks in basement billiard halls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bold & Beautiful Flowers, 30 Sep 2014
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
This is a useful little guide. The photography is of a high standard and, as another reviewer has pointed out, it has been written with a certain verve. It is split into sections based on colour starting with red and going on through oranges, pinks of various hues, black, purple, blue, green, white & yellow. I like that the plant choices are not the obvious ones. By way of example, for annual sunflowers the variants mentioned are the glorious 'Black Magic' and 'Jade', whilst the two kniphofias are again less common ones - .'Nancy's Red' and 'Ice Queen'. Each section includes shrubs, perennials, annuals and bulbs.

The one criticism I have is that in the main no information is given about height or spread so that for the purposes of planning a border it is necessary to look up the missing information in other books or online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardeners World 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. W. M. Roberts "LAZY SHOPPER" (GLOUCESTERSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
This was a lovely little book,which was very colourful and concise, very easy to plan a border to get your desired look. The flowers were beautifully illustrated and encouraged you to have a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely flowers, 15 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
A good size with colourful photographs.Particularly useful for someone who loves flowers but cannot do any more gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Garden book, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
wanted something to give me inspiration as we are revamping the garden. Found I had most of the plants anyway - so happy it confirmed my choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perfect pocket size, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
Beautifully illustrated and a handy pocket size, this book is a great addition to a gardeners book shelf. Very informative and colourful. I take this one to garden centres with me for reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars pocket book, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
expected something better from 'Gardener's World'.Mostly reworked information that could be found elsewhere.Quick flick through and discarded into Charity shop box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, ideal present, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
Bought as a present, I was attracted by the reviews, and they are right. Beautifully written, and worth a read, even if not gardening, just for the awesome descriptives. At the price, I am going to buy one for myself also. Recipient (beginner gardener) loved it, and was inspired by the colour photos. Definiteley worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gardening book, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101) (Paperback)
Excellent gardening book, with very good description of plants in question.

Love this book, just to look at the beautiful flowers.

To see what you can grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gardeners' World: 101 Bold and Beautiful Flowers: For Year-Round Colour (Gardeners' World Magazine 101)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews