Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well cool!, 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
This original Doctor Who novel from BBC Books is a definite grower. My first impressions were that it was going to be a re-hash of `Planet of the Ood' from series four of the revived TV programme, however, these fears proved to be unfounded as Mike Tucker has crafted a fast-paced, edgy and downright scary Doctor Who adventure.

The eponymous `snow globe' is part of an ambitious project in Earth's near future to save the remnants of the Polar ice-caps after global warming has devastated them. The Tenth Doctor and Martha Jones arrive in the globe and immediately find themselves locking horns with some terrifying flesh-eating Insectoid aliens, who have inadvertently been scooped-up along with the ice...

Unscrupulous businessmen, greedy criminals, trigger-happy soldiers and bewildered medics are all Doctor Who staples; Mike Tucker has taken these classic ingredients and shaped them into a gripping and original story, using topical themes and pitting our heroes against some of the deadliest monsters ever encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snowglobe 7, 8 July 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
This story features the Tenth Doctor (as played on tv by David Tennant) and his companion Martha Jones. The story is set on Earth in 2099, with global warming having now become a primary issue for humanity. In Snowglobe 7, one of the areas designated as a global conservation area, something other than just ice is waiting.

This is a really good Doctor Who story; I enjoyed the characterisations of the Tenth Doctor and Martha, and the storyline itself went along at a great pace. The other characters in the story were all well portrayed and acted out the usual human responses to being confronted by something mysterious and dangerous; greed, ambition, fear, courage and humanity. Great stuff; definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not the best. Good locations and perils, 22 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
Bad points:
There are many characters in different locations, and jumping from one to the other can get complicated unless you have the luxury of reading for a long time; The monster is poorly described but by its habit of rushing around makes examination unnecessary; I was unsure why a novel about ice was based in Dubai; the spaceship and cave paintings were underused.
On the plus side, Martha is especially good, being constantly concerned about medical matters; the outdoor locations are atmospheric of a luxury beach holiday; the nature of the beast was good; the story kept throwing up new threats and perils.
Overall, not the best in the series and better to read in long chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The snowglobe of doom, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
A Doctor Who novel that tells an all new story never seen on the tv screen. It features the Tenth Doctor and his companion Martha. It runs for 256 pages. It's suitable for all ages to read. And the characterisation of the two leads is spot on and you can well imagine the two actors saying all the dialogue.

The story sees the Doctor and Martha arrive in the middle east in the year 2099 only to land not on a hot beach but in the middle of a frozen wasteland. This they soon find is part of the polar ice cap that has been taken here in order to be perserved in the wake of global warming.

Humans and humanoid aliens run the place. But they face problems in funding and from big business who want to get involved.

And there's also something deadly inside the globe itself. Which is starting to get out...

With a big setting and lots of supporting characters, all of whom have believable motivations that are well characterised, this one does take a little while to get into and you might struggle to keep up with all the characters at first. But it's worth sticking with because it does present a story a little different to the norm for this range. The monsters are a good creation and quite original, and it never hammers home the points about global warming, just makes the reader think about it for themselves.

Once you get into this one you'll find it to be an above average entry in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read for Time Lord enthusiasts, 2 Aug 2008
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 is a new series adventure featuring the Doctor and Martha Jones. Not exactly a fast pacing adventure, the story tells of how the TARDIS lands in Snowglobe 7 at the moment when the Gappa, last of its race (where have we heard that before?), and seemingly similar to a Metebelis III spider (hmm!) is seeking to populate the Earth with its own species (not again!), after spending years trapped in ice, having been brought accidentally to Earth by some alien conservationists. You can draw your own conclusions to the plot line but at the end of the story, in order to defeat the Gappa, enter...The TARDIS! Thank God for the TARDIS! How many times was it used to save the world in the television series?
On a positive note, it is nice to see BBC Books have retained the hardback covers and with the text divided into short chapters, it is easy to pick the book up during an odd spare half hour and read a little more and do a catch-up at bedtime. It is just a shame BBC Books don't relaunch their successful classic Doctor Who novel series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evil is sometimes kept in the cold..., 2 Dec 2008
By 
E. Crouch (Cheltenham, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
This was the first of the Doctor Who books that I read.

I actually picked this up from a discount book shop for a few pounds. It caught my eye because I love the television series and I had seen a few of these titles in various book shops and thought about taking a look at one. For the £3, I couldn't resist.

And I'm glad that I didn't! This is probably one of the best Doctor Who books that I have read and it kept my interest all of the way through.

The story is captivating and believable (in the world of The Doctor, at least) unlike a few of the other books in the series.

A must for any fan of the t.v. show, parents of a child who is a fan of the t.v. show or anyone just looking for a casual book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) (Hardcover)
Earth, 2099. Global warming is devastating the climate. The polar ice caps are melting.

In a desperate attempt at preservation, the governments of the world have removed vast sections of the Arctic and Antarctic and set them inside huge domes across the world. The Doctor and Martha arrive in Snowglobe 7 in the Middle East, hoping for peace and relaxation. But they soon discover that it's not only ice and snow that has been preserved beneath the Dome.

While Martha struggles to help with an infection sweeping through the Dome, the Doctor discovers an alien threat that has lain hidden since the last ice age. A threat that is starting to thaw.

Featuring the Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the hit series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 15 Feb 2011
this docter who novel was like zombies so it was a bit scarey but no one important died so im happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23)
Doctor Who - Snowglobe 7 (New Series Adventure 23) by Mike Tucker (Hardcover - 10 April 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews