Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top tips from Titchmarsh, 14 April 2009
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
This is the kind of thing Alan Titchmarsh is really good at: explaining simply, but without skimping on the detail, how to do the complicated job of pruning. I always follow his rules on wisteria and on clematis, but to have all the information you need on pruning in one slim book is great.

You will get some pin-ups of AT with his telescopic loppers but most of the book is really good information. (I never knew that wisteria will flower better if trained horizontally - I always assumed higgledy-piggledy was fine so that's one more tip to store away for next year.) The diagrams are really clear, as are the photos, and there's lots of good information on the best way to prune different plants, remove suckers, prevent 'bleeding', renovating fruit trees, creating standard trees, doing coppicing, making a topiary spiral, preventing 'reversion'; so many different kinds of pruning! All in all you end up with the idea that this is a crucial and underrated task in the garden that's essential to get everything looking really healthy.

A really clear helpful book that incorporates an amazing amount without ever seeming over-bearing or heavy. Got me straight outside thinking about how to get my rambling Albertine under control. Really really good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pruning and Training, 6 April 2010
By 
Mrs. Brenda Molloy (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
Very easy to follow instructions and also easy to understand with pictures illustrating what you should do. Would recommend this to learners and experienced gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pruning shrubs, 28 Oct 2011
By 
L. Scrivener (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. I bought it for my daughter who is novice gardener to help her identify the range of shrubs in the establishd garden of her new house. The book does that and gives clear instructions on pruning and maintenance -she was thrilled to bits with it. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
Excellent informative book, especially good for those who have little horticultural knowledge and for those who are getting on a bit who have. Precisely detailed and easy to follow instructions. Just what you would expect froma pro of Mr Tichmarsh status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pruning and Training: Alan TITCHMARCH, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
ANOTHER FINE BOOK ON THE SUBJECT OF PRUNING AND TRAINING, WOULD RECOMMEND TO ALL INTERESTED IN THIS

(BRANCH) OF GARDNING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garden Pruning, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book. This is the second one I bought for a gift.I would highly recommend this to any keen Gardener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BOOK, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
My friend had borrowed this book from the library more than once. I suggested to her that it would be better to buy it and save herself the trouble of travelling to and from the library. She is delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calling Learner Gardners, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
First borrowed this book from the library. Ideal for the first time gardener, the instructions are clear and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Alan's standard, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
I had borrowed this book from the library but found it so useful that I decided to buy one for my gardening bookshelf. Anyone not sure of pruning their trees or shrubs should consider purchasing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful as reference for beginner, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training (Paperback)
I do find this useful to refer to, but perhaps only slightly more info than Titchmarsh's How to be a gardener which I think is a great learner gardener's book and has been very well thumbed over the last twelve months as I've been tackling my very overgrown garden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training
Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Pruning and Training by Alan Titchmarsh (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews