Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good basic guide from a proper expert
Out of this new series featuring all different aspects of gardening, I imagine this will be one of the bestsellers. Growing your own is big news at the moment, and Alan Titchmarsh provides a gentle way in. It has a certain slickness: there are lots of photos of him sitting in his shed polishing his spade / holding a trug of suspiciously clean carrots...

But AT...
Published on 7 April 2009 by emma who reads a lot

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a newbie.
Don't buy this book if you haven't got a clue about vegetable gardening. I did and it left me confused and scared to plant anything. The thought of cutting a slug in half to protect your salad leaves was not a pleasant (insert a squeamish face here). It has no glossary so for a beginner you have no idea what he is going on about, bolting? closed cloches anyone? Also if I...
Published 12 months ago by A. K. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars alan titchmarsh, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
bought as present for someone who has others in same series and says its great. speedy delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The master at his best, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and easy to follow comprehensive instructions
should steer everyone from novices to the more advanced in every aspect of vegetable cultivation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but assumes you know a little already, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
A well laid out book with lots of useful info, but found several times that terms and phrases were used that we did not understand (e.g. bolting) and that were not described elsewhere in the book, so then had to head to the internet to find out what they meant, which sort of negated the point of having a book. Seeing as this book appears to be for the beginner, this was disappointing. If for those more knowledgeable in the field, then this is probably too basic I would have thought.

That said, we still find it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the gardener, 5 May 2009
By 
A. Williams "Barry Fan" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
My son bought this for me, it's a very good book with lots of explanation and when to put your crop in well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
An extremely useful addition to our library of gardening books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it., 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Having been brought up on the practicality and simplicity of the Expert series, I was curious to see what Titchmarsh's attempt at this classic format was like. I have to say I was disappointed. The text was waffling, the photos often irrelevent and appeared to just be filling space, and the narrow text columns made even short passages a tedious read. I have no doubt Titchmarsh is a talented writer, but this book just does not fit the purpose of quick and easy reference. His fiction is much better :)

Don't bother with this attempt, go for the original and best: The Vegetable and Herb Expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Just the job, does what it says on the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
By 
B. Arnold "baz" (wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book even for a novice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
M. Lyon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Really useful tips and ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Well written and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs
Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs by Alan Titchmarsh (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews