Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good basic guide from a proper expert
Out of this new series featuring all different aspects of gardening, I imagine this will be one of the bestsellers. Growing your own is big news at the moment, and Alan Titchmarsh provides a gentle way in. It has a certain slickness: there are lots of photos of him sitting in his shed polishing his spade / holding a trug of suspiciously clean carrots...

But AT...
Published on 7 April 2009 by emma who reads a lot

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a newbie.
Don't buy this book if you haven't got a clue about vegetable gardening. I did and it left me confused and scared to plant anything. The thought of cutting a slug in half to protect your salad leaves was not a pleasant (insert a squeamish face here). It has no glossary so for a beginner you have no idea what he is going on about, bolting? closed cloches anyone? Also if I...
Published 19 months ago by A. K. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good basic guide from a proper expert, 7 April 2009
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Out of this new series featuring all different aspects of gardening, I imagine this will be one of the bestsellers. Growing your own is big news at the moment, and Alan Titchmarsh provides a gentle way in. It has a certain slickness: there are lots of photos of him sitting in his shed polishing his spade / holding a trug of suspiciously clean carrots...

But AT does have a good turn of phrase and he has clearly written the main text himself. "Power to your potager" surely has to be a Titchmarsh joke for example... He even has a good section on "reality check" where he points out that unless you really have a passion for growing, some things are always going to be better bought from the supermarket! An honest admission.

The book's simplicity is its strongest point, along with the price. And it still manages to cover the important aspects. For example on digging, he's pretty fair in his coverage of no-dig veg growing, though he's clearly a double-digging man himself. There's a detailed lot of info on site preparation, fertilisers and a step-by-step guide to making a compost bin (Alan does embrace chemicals so if you are committed to being organic, that's one thing to think of) And I think his list of six easy crops: courgettes, garlic, onions, rocket, salad and spinach - is really a good one. He even gives half a page's advice on how to leave your crops and go on holiday!

You are in safe hands with Alan Titchmarsh. The more I flicked through this book the better I realised it was. Very, very comprehensive, packing loads in without overwhelming you at all. And the A-Z guide to crops, pages 61-131, is encyclopedic: a whole page each on chicory, endive, kohl rabi, two on peas, and excellent "difficulty" ratings. A really good bargain I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novice vegetable grower, 14 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Thought this year I would grow some veg on the patio in pots and grow bags. Was not really which ones and how to look after them. A friend has purchased this book and on reading it realised it was exactly what I needed to know. It gives advice on what to grow - which are easy veg - when to grow - how to grow them and how to look after them. The pictures are in colour and the book is just great. Forget the others - this is the one you want. Now have beans, peppers, courgettes and tomotoes all doing well!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a newbie., 6 Aug. 2013
By 
A. K. Smith "angels960" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Don't buy this book if you haven't got a clue about vegetable gardening. I did and it left me confused and scared to plant anything. The thought of cutting a slug in half to protect your salad leaves was not a pleasant (insert a squeamish face here). It has no glossary so for a beginner you have no idea what he is going on about, bolting? closed cloches anyone? Also if I tried to follow it step by step I would have been in a real mess. Near the start you read on about how to add organic matter to your soil so I ticked that box then much later on in the book it says "oh no don't add it if you are growing root vegetables" wow I guess no carrots for me next year then? It did have great (but sometimes irrelevant) pictures. I also liked that it gave you information on each veg or herb you could plant. That's about it really.

So get this book if you know a bit about gardening first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant illustrated book, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
Mrs. A. M. Hobbs (Piegut Pluviers, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Hi I have just started to learn how to have a vegetable garden and this book is brilliant, lots of good advice and lots of pictures which I love in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great wee book, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
This is a great wee book! It's written in a no-nonsense style, tells you the issues there are with each type of veg, which helps you decide what to have a go at growing. There are helpful pictures....why don't all gardening books show you what the things will look like when they are growing so you don't accidentally weed them out?
This one does! Written in a non- patronising, encouraging style, this will get you growing veg anywhere...even if like me you have no veg plot or allotment.....containers of all sorts, , wee corners of flowerbeds... this delightful book will get you growing your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Mr Titchmarsh is best at ....., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
This is my second copy of this book, having lost the first one. I`ve only been trying to grow my own for about four years and this book really helped. I like it because he gives most things just one or two pages at most, covers every stage of the plants life with detail that even the most inexperienced (me) gardener can follow. In a chatty and helpful tone. No reams of irritating detail to plough through. Just find the page and go from there approach. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guide for novice gardeners, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great reference book, easy to understand.
I've used it frequently over the past year as I have become an allotment holder. The practical advice has been very useful and the writing style is unassuming and mentoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for a beginner, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
I've watched Alan Titchmarsh on TV a few times now and find that he talks my language. Being a novice when it comes to growing anything edible, I found his book to be a great beginners guide. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every word is precious for a gardener :-), 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
Great book for begginers but also for those, who have just a few questions about gardening - everyone can find some interesting news for them. Plus garden-loving style of writing and a huge amount of garden sensibility. Can't stop reading it over and over :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A handy guide, 7 May 2010
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs (Paperback)
The book has lots of pictures and diagrams to give added information. It is very easy to follow and has lots of useful information and tips for all aspects of gardening. I especially like the a-z guide of vegetable and herbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs
Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Vegetables and Herbs by Alan Titchmarsh (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews