Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking,beautiful and at times thought provoking.
This book is a portfolio of the best moments from the Planet earth series.It covers everything from the great sands to the shallow seas.11 different sections in total.I recieved it as a birthday gift and couldnt be more pleased with it. The photos are absolutely stunning and at times thought provoking.The lone polar bear surrounded by melting sea ice really did move me.I...
Published on 16 Dec. 2007 by T.R

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Potentially Beautiful Photographs, spoiled by not being big enough in its size & just reasonable print quality.
I mostly agree with the other reviewers. Indeed, the 'images' in this book are quite spectacular. However, its print quality is not as excellent as the images deserve - but just reasonably good. Nonetheless, the book's small size, is my main gripe.

What on earth were they thinking of to produce a book of such beautiful imagery in a book which is smaller than an...
Published on 5 April 2009 by Mr. T. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking,beautiful and at times thought provoking., 16 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
This book is a portfolio of the best moments from the Planet earth series.It covers everything from the great sands to the shallow seas.11 different sections in total.I recieved it as a birthday gift and couldnt be more pleased with it. The photos are absolutely stunning and at times thought provoking.The lone polar bear surrounded by melting sea ice really did move me.I have looked at the photos time and time again and they are still as special as when i first saw them.If you love wildlife photography then i can't see how you could not enjoy this.Faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Potentially Beautiful Photographs, spoiled by not being big enough in its size & just reasonable print quality., 5 April 2009
By 
Mr. T. White (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
I mostly agree with the other reviewers. Indeed, the 'images' in this book are quite spectacular. However, its print quality is not as excellent as the images deserve - but just reasonably good. Nonetheless, the book's small size, is my main gripe.

What on earth were they thinking of to produce a book of such beautiful imagery in a book which is smaller than an LP record's sleeve!? That's quite an unforgivable error: For this book deserves at least fourteen inches X fourteen inches. Instead it's only under nine inches by nine inches; which is, frankly, a ridiculously small size for a book which really should show off its many great images in all their splendour! Now, notice how I've repeatedly used the word 'images'? Well, sometimes when viewing this book, I can't help thinking that it often comes across as a series of stills from the moving film footage, rather than a series of individual still photos which were taken on a separate top end SLR with pro SLR (as opposed to pro video) lenses.

So, I can only imagine this book may be so small because many of the images/photos might have been lifted from moving film footage - and accordingly, if the book had been any larger, too much grain would have been apparent. Even as it stands, the levels of grain in the photos/images is not always acceptable, in my opinion. Alas, that is something I'd have liked other reviewers to have mentioned before I bought it sight unseen.

Also, for photographers, do not think of purchasing this book in the hope of your expecting to find all kinds of technical setups (aperture, shutter speed, exposure settings etc.) for they are not to be found. Instead, think of it as a book of photographs for a wide audience, rather than as a book about photography, for a specialist audience.

In conclusion: top marks for the imagery. One mark lost for average print quality. And one mark lost for the book's small size. A total of three stars out of five. I really hope this review is of use to persons who are considering buying it. I really do care that others approve of my reviews and your "thumbs up" are very welcome please but if for any reason, someone doesn't like my review, do please leave a comment suggesting why you disagree. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware - the book is small and lessens the impact of the images, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
This book, an accompaniment to the TV series, is packed with photos and has only very limited explanatory text.

The photos, for the most part, are stunning but they lose impact by being small and often spread over 2 pages. This could have been a superb book that would have graced any bookshelf or coffee table but the small, square format just does not do the pictures justice. The quality of the images just about saves this book being a complete disaster.

I find it annoying that the brilliance of the photographers has been treated in this derogatory manner and feel that BBC Books are pulling a bit of a fast one here and cashing in on the TV series with little regard for the customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, hardly matching the description, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
The content of this book was great, pity that the cover was not that neat as could be taken from the description. If a book is used and it is that visible, please be honest in description managing my expectation right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
C. Wheatley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present but actually wanted to keep it for myself! The photography in it is breath-taking and captures such unqiue shots of animals all over the world. The commentry with it is also really interesting and in a way, quite emotive - you find yourself thinking about the world, and how people's, including your own, everyday life effects it. Every time you pick it and have a flick through, you find a photo you haven't seen before! It really is a beautiful book and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 30 May 2008
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
This book describes the Earth in its truest sense, Not what we see every day, but what we should see and help protect.!! A spectacle. It appeals to every human soul, A delight to read it over and over again.

Recommended now and for generations to come..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Wow!, 31 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
Bought Planet Earth as a gift, but nearly kept it myself as the still photographs from the television series are just amazing. It makes you realise that man is in danger of destroying for ever so much that is both breathtakingly beautiful but also at times violent and dangerous. A fantastic book, and was gratefully received as a present by someone who had not seen the programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Photography, 3 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
A tie in book to the BBC series of the same name. This is a collection of the best still images and some from the high definition film of all the locations and animals that they showed on the programme.

The images are exquisite. These is a little explanation of each of the pictures, and this is kept very small, giving more room for the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Size Matters, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant but spoilt by two things:
It should be a larger size, it deserves to be full coffee table size;
And not all of the pictures had descriptions.
Despite these two issues, I am ordering more, it will be my standard barmitzvah present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Photographs (Hardcover)
such wonderful photos, really wonderful. The captions are lovely too, i loved the series so much, this is a perfect condensed version of it (minus david attenborough's voice over...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Earth: The Photographs
Planet Earth: The Photographs by Alastair Fothergill (Hardcover - 4 Oct. 2007)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews