Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and gripping read !!
I found it very difficult to put this book down.

Simon Baker takes a refreshingly novel approach to describe the centuries-long panoply of the rise and fall of the greatest empire the world has ever known.

Instead of plodding through the subject, the author chooses a number of critical events upon which the fate of the empire turned. He devotes a...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Alan J. Stedall

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but with predictable writing style, and major gaps
All in all, this is an excellent book. The author seems to understand Rome better than most others do, or at the very least, better than most others can explain. For example, I was never aware that the Senate was not actually a political body, but a think tank. Also, I did not know that the Christians that rejected the Holy Trinity, the Arians, were called so due to the...
Published 21 months ago by Peyman Askari


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and gripping read !!, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Alan J. Stedall "yoss_uk" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I found it very difficult to put this book down.

Simon Baker takes a refreshingly novel approach to describe the centuries-long panoply of the rise and fall of the greatest empire the world has ever known.

Instead of plodding through the subject, the author chooses a number of critical events upon which the fate of the empire turned. He devotes a chapter to each of these events and commences each chapter by describing the circumstances surrounding the event; circumstances which often sound bafflingly inexplicable. He then narrates the story of the build-up that led to the event. As such, each chapter is an absorbing and fascinating story in its own right.

Baker writes in an engaging and unpretentious style and has managed to produce a book that is at once both exciting and educational; a difficult task to pull off.

Stepping back from the detail, I think the author does full justice to the Ancient Romans: A brave, clever, determined and brutal people, whose accomplishments and historic remains leave us astounded nearly two millennia later.

Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing introduction to a facinating period in history - completely absorbing, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire (Paperback)
The story of the rise and fall of Rome is infinitely fascinating. I picked up this book with very limited knowledge of Rome and a little curiosity, and put this book down with a brand new enthusiasm for the period.

This book squeezes many pivotal moments of Rome's history into a mere 400 odd pages. Chapters include: Revolution, Caesar, Augustus, Nero, Rebellion, Hadrian, Constantine, and Fall. It was such compulsive reading I finished it within three days - and that almost never happens with non-fiction books. Simon Baker has done a fantastic job of making this history book highly readable and accessible to all. It is informative and educational, but not dry as you might expect from the subject matter.

It is an excellent introduction to that period for the uninitiated, but for those who already have some knowledge it may be too basic an overview for you.

I have given this book 5 stars because the genius of this book is that the process of learning is completely painless. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down.

I thoroughly recommend this to people curious about Ancient Rome, it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 23 Jun 2007
By 
For anyone interested in the Rome, its leaders and the Roman period, and like me ignorant of the facts that lead to its rise and fall. This a most enjoyable and informative book, full of facts that are easy to take in. Therfore I suggest if you have the slightest interest in Rome and the Roman period in history you go and buy this book.

I could not put this book down, finding it riveting and informative this book I rate high on my list as an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 May 2007
I was given this book at Christmas. I was immediately hooked on it as it presents Roman history in an interesting way. I have always been interested in Roman history so was great for me. All the information is presented in a easy to understand way, so that even if you have never read anything to do with Ancient Rome you will be able to read this with ease. There is an abundance of information that will greatly expand anyone's knowledge . The book has obviously been researched and a lot of time has been put into it. I awarded this book Five Stars as it is a very good read and I think you will not be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of the rise and fall of Rome, 25 Feb 2007
By 
A. R. Wilkinson (Somewhere in the North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best history book I have ever read. It presents some key periods in Rome's history in detail, and fleshes out the history and context in between these key episodes. The style is light but informative. The author organizes a lot of material in a truly impressive way, pacing the story with skill - it's a real page turner and has none of the pompous dryness that afflicts many history books. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Reading, 6 May 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire (Paperback)
For anyone interested in the history and events that took place in the Roman Empire this book is like manna from heaven. The author relates Roman history in such a way that the book almost reads like a novel, being both exciting and educational. But if truth be told this is far more interesting than any novel.

Rome was after all one of the greatest, if not the greatest empire ever known. There are figures from its past that stick out like beacons. Probably the greatest of them all Julius Caesar and of course his main adversary Pompey. Others out of the many notables include Mark Antony, Nero, Claudius and many more.

There were also Rome's great buildings. The Forum, the circus maximus and the Flavian amphitheatre, now more commonly known as the Colosseum, all built to show potential enemies the might that was Rome. Then on to the true might of Rome, its Legions. An army that comprised the greatest fighting force the world had ever seen. Because of their discipline and rigid training they were at that period in history, virtually unbeatable.

The author pulls all these facts together beautifully to make a book that is not only informative and educational but also high readable as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read!, 8 Sep 2008
By 
R. M. Tuson (Lancs U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire (Paperback)
I have just returned from a week sitting on a sun lounger by the side of a pool.
I intended to part read the book on holiday and finish it upon my return.
once i started to read i could not stop & finished the book in 3 days.
The book is very informative but not too heavy going.
Lots of detail & well researched, i almost felt i was there watching the romans ultimatly self distruct!.
A superb read. a+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 19 Nov 2009
By 
William (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire (Paperback)
This is popular history at its very best: wonderfully, compulsively readable. It's more like an epic thriller than a history book. If you have the slightest interest in Roman history - and you should - then this is a great place to start. So many parallels with today's world order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely fascinating..., 28 Sep 2006
By 
I bought this book after seeing the BBC 1 programme, (which starred Michael Sheen as Nero - he was brilliant and barking) This book is truely fascinating... it really brings the Roman world to life. In many ways the book is more rewarding than the TV series because it explores this alien world in the detail it deserves. The book takes you through the big moments in Roman history but it doesn't feel like you are reading a solemn history book. The ancient Romans leap off the page - these were not distant people but immediate larger than life figures making big, difficult decisions. As someone with little prior knowledge, if you felt that life was too short to read loads about the Romans and that there was one book to read on the subject i'd recommend this one... it read more like an episode of the west wing or some political thriller than what I imagined Roman history was going to be like... And in the end I had a vivid picture of Roman history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent broad history of Rome, 22 Jan 2007
By 
A. J. Adey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent history of Rome, from its earliest days. It is very readable and full of information which seems to have been passed over in other similar works. There is a useful bibliography from which the reader can fill in the many gaps that such a small book has when it covers such a huge subject.

This is one that I shall probably read again - and soon. I don`t do that with many books. If you are even SLIGHTLY interested, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire
Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall of an Empire by Simon Baker (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews