Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Rural China
The book provides detailed information of the history, the culture, the wildlife, and the topography of China, with six chapters applicable to the wonderful BBC Wild China DVD. The maps are particularly good. There are many quality photographs, although a few of the best in the DVD have not been included. This book is worth purchasing, ideally with the DVD. The wealth...
Published on 13 Jun 2008 by Well Read

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly packaged
Fantastic book! Dreadful packaging, a grey plastic bag..... The spine is split and I know it is due to a lack of care because the other marks are noted by the seller. How on earth can a book travel through the postal system in a bag and not get hurt?????? They could have wrapped it in a piece of cardboard first,. Therefore one star I'm afraid.
Published 8 months ago by Carlyn Burchill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Rural China, 13 Jun 2008
By 
Well Read "saro319" (Norhampton England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
The book provides detailed information of the history, the culture, the wildlife, and the topography of China, with six chapters applicable to the wonderful BBC Wild China DVD. The maps are particularly good. There are many quality photographs, although a few of the best in the DVD have not been included. This book is worth purchasing, ideally with the DVD. The wealth of information presented by the Wild China team is excellent. After seeing the DVD, the book was a must buy. I'm delighted with it. I have a better insight and respect for this most ancient culture. The BBC team had unprecedented access to the rural areas. Previously so enigmatic, China is a land of extraordinary beauty with its magnificent landscapes, rich variety of wildlife, and ingenious ethnic groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 13 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
Beautiful in it's self this was really useful fo pulling out the 'must see' scenic bits of China when planning an extended trip. The most useful guide book I found (and the only one of the 3 I purchased that I'll be lugging with me to China) was Frommer's China (Frommers Complete) published in April 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wild china, 11 Jun 2008
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
This an excellent book but is of necessity a poor reflection of the tv series.The book follows the tv series closely dividing China into 6 diverse regions.The text is outstanding while the pictures are satis factory.There is avery good gazettear at the back which deals with places of inttrest and culturaldifferences and wildlife The maps are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but let down by the layout, 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
I bought this book after watching the TV series, and it's just as informative.

The book is divided into three main sections, with the middle section having 6 subsections.

* Section one contains the Introduction, a brief overview of China, it's food, people, plants, animals, etc.

* Section two contains the meat of the book. It is divided into 6 subsections: The Heartland, North Of The Wall, The Tibetan Plateau, Yunnan, The Great Rice Bowl & Crowded Shores.

The Heartland opens with information on the Yellow River and goes on to Pandas, Golden snub-nosed monkeys & Taikin amongst other animals and also introduces the more esoteric aspects of Chinese life.

North Of The Wall takes us through the coldest and driest regions of China, and introduces several ethnic groups the Hezhe, the reindeer-herding Ewenki and then on to the Taklimakan, a desert whose name has been translated as "you go in and you never come out". There is also the rather surprising town of Turpan, which manages to grow grapes in the midst of the desert.

The Tibetan Plateau discusses what life is like in the Himalayas and on the Plateau itself. Despite the inhospitality of the area, life thrives here, from tiny Pika to the cunning looking Tibetan fox to the Chiru and on to the great Yak. There are even snake that live in hot springs. Buddhism is discussed next, with information on how the religion melds with the landscape.

Yunnan is a land of forests and steep cliffs. From monkeys to suspension cable bridges over the gorges, one apparently needs to be fit to get around here. The fauna and flora are equally surprising, with the Temminck's tragopan and the elephant's foot yam. There is also more information on the local people, the Dai.

The Great Rice Bowl is a place of towering karst formations, caves and rice paddies. Among the animals that are discussed are the Chinese giant salamander, the Siberian crane and a particular variety of carp that has an unexpected relationship with the paddy farmers.

Crowded Shores takes us to China's coast, along with China's future. There are animals here, but there's strong competition from humankind too. Can old and new, human and animal continue to coexist happily?

* Section Three contains the gazetteer, a geographical dictionary/directory, a section on further reading and the Index.

Generally, I'm very impressed with this book. It contains masses of information about China, it's people, animals and plants. It also has still photography to rival that of the DVD series. The one thing that lets it down, in my estimation, is the layout. Text, pictures and little subsections are sprinkled throughout, which makes reading this book quite a haphazard experience. I found I couldn't simply sit and read the book without being distracted by an interesting picture or subsection. This made reading it slightly jarring, and is the reason I give this book 4 stars instead of 5.

Overall, though, I'd definitely buy this book again. It works very well as an expansion to details that were glossed over in the TV series, and contains a lot of new information. Buy this book and the DVD for the complete Wild China experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. A. Mangini (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
Great Book.
having seen the video several times, i found the book was essential to get the places' names right and so forth, as hard to understand in the video because of difficult spelling.
great images and very inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 13 Feb 2009
By 
A. Watts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
Bought becuase my mum wanted it! She'd seen it on tv and wanted the book. Really shows off the best of China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly packaged, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
Fantastic book! Dreadful packaging, a grey plastic bag..... The spine is split and I know it is due to a lack of care because the other marks are noted by the seller. How on earth can a book travel through the postal system in a bag and not get hurt?????? They could have wrapped it in a piece of cardboard first,. Therefore one star I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild China, 7 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
This is an excellent series about what has turned out for me, a very fascinating country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wild China, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
The documentary film and the accompany book looks beautiful, but the content is flawed and full of factual errors. The terrace fields have not been there for thousands of years, they are a recent man made environment disaster. To build them, vast virgin forests were destroyed. The practice of burning animal feces as fuel is result of deforestation, as there is no other nature (wood or grass) fuels left. Also China does not produce enough rice to feed its population. In fact since the 17th century, China has been import rice from South East Asia. Many of the things the film depicted no longer exists in China in everyday life. I bet they are staged for the film crew. The film is a piece of propaganda for the Chinese government. The producer claims that he wants the Chinese people to feel proud of their country, but who are the Chinese people? The film is largely essentialising China as one timeless kingdom and a largely a primitive society with ancient practices and wild nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic and delivered incredibly, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land (Paperback)
fantastic
and delivered incredibly quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild China: Natural Wonders of the World's Most Enigmatic Land
20.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews