Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
This is an excellent book for any one relatively new to veg and fruit gardening. It is written in Alan T's usual pragmatic style, but also with a good level of passion and humour. The overview at the beginning is the good length, and explains techniques, rather than the 'do as I say' style of some veg authors. For example what may happen if you add manure to your potato...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by Sue H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great fro posting
A weighty tome for reference, Not great fro posting.
Published 18 days ago by Linda M beresford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Mar 2008
By 
Sue H "Sunshine Suzzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for any one relatively new to veg and fruit gardening. It is written in Alan T's usual pragmatic style, but also with a good level of passion and humour. The overview at the beginning is the good length, and explains techniques, rather than the 'do as I say' style of some veg authors. For example what may happen if you add manure to your potato patch, and how to rotate crops which are not brassicas, and roots. Why you may want to grow some plants in pots on your patio if you have an allotment which is two miles down the road. There is an section on jobs to do per month, and a lenghty section listed alphabetically by plant. The photo's are very good, and at last a photo of potato blight! Not every brown patch on a leaf is blight. Calendars are helpful to indicate planting sowing and harvesting. However a little confusing at first if one is used to reading seed packets where the information is contained in one or two lines and not three. Alan is organic but does not present this as the only way as other popular garden celebrities do.
Even Mr T though fails to get the science quite correct. Water and vitamins are both chemicals essential to life. Some of the most toxic materials known to man are derived from plants so it should not be assumed that natural is safe. There are a few culinary hints and tips however Sarah Ravens Garden cookbook is not to be missed when wanting lots of seasonal recipes for using the produce you've grown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' reference, 30 Mar 2008
By 
A. Kennedy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
Being relatively new to gardening I am thrilled to have found this book. It is the perfect guide to modern gardening. I found this book refreshing and so practical. Some fantastic tips that really made gardening feel easy and enjoyable. I have got the bug now, and my 'cabbage patch' is close to being fully stocked with beautiful produce. I am very proud, but could not have succeded without Alan's help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book!, 11 April 2008
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
I'm not a gardener, I'm someone who has a bash at growing a few tomatoes, and would like to keep her blueberry bush alive. That's about it.

This book as absolutely wonderful! The information is practical,concise and very easy to follow. There's just the right about of information - not enough to overwhelm you, and not too little that just leaves you with unanswered questions (as with Carol Klein's book). There's also the obvious bonus that this book covers fruit as well as vegetables, whereas most 'grow your own' books are vegetables only.

Alan's book has inspired me to add to my little vegetable patch this year. My tomatoes will be joined by some new ideas, and I now know how to perk up that blueberry bush!

An absolute bargain of a book. A joy to read and a pleasure to work from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
As a newcomer to vegetable growing, I read various reviews and reached the verdict this was the book for me, the reviews were right it is very useful and a good reference book for herbs and fruit too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardener's Dream, 13 April 2009
By 
Mr. M. Haynes (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant for getting your garden, large or small, into shape. Full of practical ideas and in easy step by step instructions. What may seem difficult is made easy... even for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New gardener ..., 15 July 2010
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
I bought this book just after renting an allotment. I have planted veg in my garden but literally just put things in and hoped for the best.

This book is informative and easy to follow. It gives you all the basics from the very beginning on how to start your allotment/kitchen garden without blinding you with science and lists many fruit, vegetables and herbs with instructions on how to plant them. I would highly recommend this book to any beginner in veg and fruit gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, 2 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
Because this book is a bit on the large side and has some fantastic photos it seems to double as a coffee table book and an instruction manual . Its an excellent book and Alan Titchmarsh is at his best here .

The first sixty or so pages is concerned with what Alan calls the ground rules and you get advice on everything from planning and design to feeding and composting . The rest of the book contains the directory where you get a run down on all the common fruit veg and herbs found in most gardens . Now this is pretty comprehensive so expect a little information overload . But personally I think its great to have all this info under the one cover . Definitely a book I will continue to refer to again and again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Titchmarshes allotment book, 10 Feb 2009
By 
M. M. Prophet "readsall" (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
Gardening Book.
A very comprehensive book, lovely illustrations, excelant hints and cookery tips too ! We have a newlt acquired allotment, it will be an invaluable aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT at Work, 28 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. P. Cleaver "Paul" (UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
It's big, it's glossy, and it's full of colour pictures. Thankfully, it's also full of useful and practical advice from a man who doesn't seem too overwhelmed at being a media star. He knows what he's talking about and I found this to be a very useful guide. It's not cheap, and you wouldn't keep it in the garden shed, but it's well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 5 Oct 2008
By 
Mrs. R. King (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg (Hardcover)
I was given this book as a gift and thoroughly enjoyed it. I concur with other reviewers so won't waffle on about how good it is. Why only 4 stars? There's nothing on the importance of companion planting when using organic methods and without this, my veg patch wouldn't survive. This info can be researched elsewhere, so other than that, I would recommend this book, especially for a beginner. I'm just about to buy another copy for my best friend who is just that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg
The Kitchen Gardener: Grow Your Own Fruit and Veg by Alan Titchmarsh (Hardcover - 6 Mar 2008)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews