Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong start for the Eleventh Doctor
This is a good promising start to the Eleventh Doctor in print. It's a run-around romp with spaceships, moonbases, brainwashing, and plenty of running down corridors. The other reviewer so far compared it to a Patrick Troughton story, to me it really reminded me of a Jon Pertwee-style caper, partly thanks to some dodgy science and especially towards the end when the...
Published on 13 May 2010 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side of the Moon
Of the first three `Doctor Who' novels to feature the eleventh Doctor, `Apollo 23' is, for me, the most disappointing. This is somewhat surprising given the body of work that its author, Justin Richards, has behind him.

Things start off promisingly enough with an astronaut suddenly materialising in a shopping mall. We soon discover that moments before he...
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Foggy Tewsday


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side of the Moon, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
Of the first three `Doctor Who' novels to feature the eleventh Doctor, `Apollo 23' is, for me, the most disappointing. This is somewhat surprising given the body of work that its author, Justin Richards, has behind him.

Things start off promisingly enough with an astronaut suddenly materialising in a shopping mall. We soon discover that moments before he appeared, he was on the moon. A woman and her dog are going about their business when they are suddenly transported to the moon. A man walking in a park asphyxiates, his body littered with moon dust.

With something of a nod to second Doctor story, The Seeds of Death, a teleportation system operating from a moon base has been set up. Clearly, the system is malfunctioning, but I have to report that, regrettably, it's not the Ice Warriors who are responsible. No, the alien invaders here are not that interesting.

This novel is well written and the Doctor and Amy's characters are in keeping with their television personas. But the story is quite dull and, at times, predictable. I'm always loath to describe scientific elements in a story as dodgy - I'm no scientist, so what do I know? However, I do think that some of the story's resolutions connected with its mind control aspect were a little too convenient.

If you haven't read any `Doctor Who' novels before, I would not advise you to start with this one. The other two eleventh Doctor novels currently available at the time of writing this review, The Forgotten Army and Night of the Humans, carry more humour and excitement. Also highly enjoyable are tenth doctor stories The Stone Rose and Beautiful Chaos. `Apollo 23' is, I think, one for the completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong start for the Eleventh Doctor, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
This is a good promising start to the Eleventh Doctor in print. It's a run-around romp with spaceships, moonbases, brainwashing, and plenty of running down corridors. The other reviewer so far compared it to a Patrick Troughton story, to me it really reminded me of a Jon Pertwee-style caper, partly thanks to some dodgy science and especially towards the end when the monsters are revealed. It's not especially clever or ground-breaking but it's good fun.

The Doctor and Amy both work very well and are utterly in keeping with what we've seen in the TV series so far. As is often the case it's Amy who's the real focus of the story for much of the time, but she comes across as very likeable so no problems there. The Doctor absolutely shines and gets plenty of witty lines. He begins to feel a bit like a 'greatest hits' of the best attributes of previous Doctors all rolled into one.

There are some interesting little allusions to the 2010 'story arc' about humans forgetting the Doctor's previous Earth adventures. As I write this (13th May) we're still mid-series so we don't know how that will all turn out but this story fits in very nicely to that, without it really getting in the way.

The little cliffhangers on most chapters make it ideal for kids who might be reading it in smaller chunks.

It's not an amazing or gripping novel but a fun read and a good Who book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'We will be fine, Apollo...', 26 April 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
Rather a pedestrian start to the Eleventh Doctor original novel range; I agree that this is very reminiscent of a late Sixties Patrick Troughton story such as "Doctor Who" and the Cybermen (Classic Novels) - I initially expected to see the metal meanies themselves appear from behind the scenes. Unfortunately, unlike the aforementioned Gerry Davis story, Apollo 23 simply lacks a spark; Amy and The Doctor are drawn pretty much as they are in the current TV series but I felt that a writer of Richards' pedigree could have done more with this intriguing idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From the Earth to the Moon, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
A Doctor Who novel which tells an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor and Amy. As with all this range it runs for just under two hundred and fifty pages. It's divided into a prologue and twenty five chapters, and is suitable for readers of all ages.

The characters of the Doctor and Amy are perfectly well captured in prose and you can imagine the two actors saying all the dialogue. This was one of the very first batch of Eleventh Doctor novels and it was written before his first episode had aired on TV, so we can see, especially with the benefits of hindsight, how well the writer did with the characters. Karen Gillan and Matt Smith do look so very young in the cover photo.

The story sees strange things happen in the middle of an ordinary British setting. A man dies of asphyxiation in the middle of a park. An astronaut appears from out of nowhere. A woman is found dead in a crater on the moon.

The Doctor and Amy then arrive on the scene. Their investigations lead to the secret history of the American Space Programme. And a deadly threat to all life on Earth.

This ones gets off to a very good start, thanks to the familiar setting. Good characterisation of both the Doctor and Amy and the original characters created for the story, and having a very intriguing mystery to keep you hooked.

But that doesn't last long enough. It swiftly gets into slightly more familiar Doctor Who territory, with a rather typical cast of soldiers and scientists.

The threat of the story does echo certain classic stories of the show's years gone past. It's also very sinister at times and scary with it. But there are parts where it doesn't really hold the attention, and does just feel a bit too familiar. It does come together for a decent enough finale, though.

A very capable read and a perfectly decent book for what it is. But there are stronger Eleventh Doctor novels out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle has Landed, 27 April 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
Matt Smith's incarnation of the Doctor has invited comparisons with Patrick Troughton's version and this book reminded me very much of an early Troughton story which I had listened to the soundtrack of the week before.

The Bad:
Overall, this is a great story with some very interesting moments and genuine 'cliffhangers', though the resolutions of those moments tend to be somewhat downplayed, almost as though the cliffhangers were forced into the plot.

Amy doesn't seem particularly well characterised until the latter part of the book. Before that it could easily have been any companion involved in the story.

The Birmingham setting of the book is a red herring and does not particularly fit logically with what is going on. It would have been better had this been changed to a mall in Texas (It feels as though Birmingham was shoehorned in to make the story more British).

The Good:
Matt Smith's Doctor comes out clearly in the story, despite having appeared in only a few stories.

The characterisation of the secondary characters, particularly those on the Moonbase are very good.

A nice reference to a Pertwee story is given without getting in the way of the plot.

The 'Apollo 23' of the title - wonderful detail and fun to imagine.

The aliens of the story are very different with a very good reason for doing what they do. It is perhaps unfortunate that they only really make an appearance at the very end of the story.

A nice read that fills in the wait between episodes on the television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 11th Doctor stories, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
The Doctor came across really well and Amy was also interesting. I liked the set-up and there was enough of a mystery and plot developments to make for an interesting read. Definitely one of the better 11th doctor stories I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Apollo 23, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
'For a few moments this afternoon, it rained on the moon...'

An astronaut in full spacesuit appears out of thin air in a busy shopping centre. Maybe it's a publicity stunt. A photo shows a well-dressed woman in a red coat lying dead at the edge of a crater on the dark side of the moon - beside her beloved dog 'Poochie'. Maybe it's a hoax. But as the Doctor and Amy find out, these are just minor events in a sinister plan to take over every human being on earth. The plot centres on a secret military base on the moon - that's where Amy and the TARDIS are.

The Doctor is back on Earth, and without the TARDIS there's no way he can get to the moon to save Amy and defeat the aliens. Or is there? The Doctor discovers one last great secret that could save humanity: Apollo 23.

A thrilling, all new adventure featuring the Doctor and Amy, as played by Matt Smith and Karen Gillan in the hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars well written, 11 Feb 2013
a well written story but nowhere near the usual standard of the dw books. it could have been shortened a lot. to padded out for my liking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 23, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
this book is a brilliant read shame BBC don't turn these stories into an episode like the past Doctors from first doctor to seventh doctor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing defiantly one to read!, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Apollo 23 (Hardcover)
This was the first book I read of the 11th Doctor's adventures and I was amazed! Justin richards had pulled it of again, he is one of my favorite Doctor who book authors and he made a great start to these books! for the price this book is defiantly worth it and the print is a good size to read! 5 stars in my opinion, Now im not gonna spoil the entire story for you! But this is a must have for any Doctor who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Apollo 23
Doctor Who: Apollo 23 by Justin Richards (Hardcover - 22 April 2010)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews