Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Christie readers!
This has to be one of my favourite Agatha Christie books. The clues flow nicely through the story, but they never let you know the murderer's identity until the end.
Miss Emily Arundell has an accident one night and everyone blames it on the dog's ball, but Miss Arundell knows her terrier Bob too well. She is convinced that her 'accident' was no accident, so she...
Published on 30 April 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but too big
Good new book however own a few agatha books this is a big book not pocket size or small bag
Published 20 months ago by O


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Christie readers!, 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dumb Witness (Poirot) (Paperback)
This has to be one of my favourite Agatha Christie books. The clues flow nicely through the story, but they never let you know the murderer's identity until the end.
Miss Emily Arundell has an accident one night and everyone blames it on the dog's ball, but Miss Arundell knows her terrier Bob too well. She is convinced that her 'accident' was no accident, so she writes a letter to Poirot. By the time Poirot receives this letter two months later, Emily Arundell is already dead. Poirot's curiosity gets the better of him and he undertakes the case on the dead womans' behalf.
This is the classic scenario of the relatives who desperately need money and Miss Christie does not fail the reader in her twisting and turning approach. By the end of the book you will have fallen in love with Bob the terrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb Witness (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
John Moffat and Simon Williams are at their best in an excellent adaptation. The essence of the story is there and it is so nice to hear a full cast recording where it is easy to differentiate between voices as well - rather crucial for enjoyable listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Agatha Christie mystery!, 14 Jan 2001
By 
rj_fc@yahoo.co.uk (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This is actually one of my favourite Christie novels. The main reason for this is that it contains all of the classic ingredients that really make one of her novels; a fabulous array of characters, especially the terrier dog, Bob, an excellent plot that will keep you guessing to the very end, a wonderful setting and, of course, Hercule Poirot with all his foibles to solve the mystery. A must-read for any mystery fan, and as the video starring David Suchet is equally brilliant, I recommend you make sure you own, or have at least seen and read, both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Witness, 13 Jan 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When elderly Miss Emily Arundell has her relatives to stay they are all concerned with one thing - her money. During the visit, Miss Arundell has an accident, falling down the stairs after tripping on her dog's toy ball. Luckily, she is not seriously hurt, but the fall makes her think. What happened worries her so much that she contacts Poirot, although by the time he receives her letter and visits, she has died. Although Poirot has no case, as far as the faithful Hastings can see, he feels a responsibility to discover what happened and whether she was, in fact, murdered.

This is a classic Christie mystery. Poirot and Hastings together are always a joy and the plot is wonderful. There are a wonderful cast of suspects, including a couple of 'bright young things', two medical men, a nervous wife and a devoted companion. Nobody writes crime as well as Christie - her books are exceptional and stand the test of time and this is one of her most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumb, never..., 5 Jun 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb Witness (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
This 2006 BBC radio drama production has a great cast bringing to life a real another twister of a plot. I have only recently begun collecting and listening to these productions and so far have found each one a joy. This particular production has the excellent John Moffatt (born 1922 UK) and a very experienced actor in all fields playing Hercule Poirot (as he does in dozens of such productions). He brings through his characterization a clever detective alive from the pages of Agatha Christie's text.
Likewise the appearance of actor Simon Williams (born 1946) as Captain Hastings is for me a big plus. He does play this part in a number of these excellent radio productions.
The Dumb Witness is none other than a wire-haired terrier and hearing Poirot take note of the dog's behaviour is very entertaining. Listen out for that lovely actress Joanna David (born 1947) who plays Miss Lawson.
The production is directed by Enyd Williams and continuity of director has added to my enjoyment as the atmosphere created is just right with sound effects, music and depth of sound that brings the actors into your living room.
Good value, nicely packaged with full cast information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars passionating and with a little touch of humour, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb Witness (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
as I'm learning english,this is a really usefull audio CD for me,as it's interresting and the quality of the voices is admirable !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best classic mysteries, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb Witness (Poirot) (Paperback)
Another fantastic whodunit from Agatha Christie. When Poirot receives a letter from a woman who died months earlier, he sets out to prove she was murdered, and identify who did it.

This is one of my favourite of the Poirot novels I've read. The characters are the typical bunch, but they are all believable and as usual any of them could have done it. The action flows at a good speed and the reader is filled in on every clue as Poirot and Hastings uncover them - exactly as it should be.

I'm pleased to say that I worked it out around the same time as the characters, which was perfect, and feel that this is one of Christie's best. I look forward to more of this calibre of mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permanent classics, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Thereza C. R. Motta "Thereza Motta" (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dumb Witness (Poirot) (Paperback)
Agatha Christie has become one of my favorite authors as she knew all too very well how to conduct a story. A well told story is too important for the reader. This book in particular was developed from a short story she never published because she considered it good enough to become a novel. Okay then, now the short story was found in her secret Notebooks and published too. I wanted to know how she developed the novel, as I read the shortstory when I translated it into Portuguese in the book "Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks". I've just started reading the novel, and as now I know her "secret ways", I can enjoy reading it better. So you should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting and thrilling book., 5 July 2000
By A Customer
Mrs. Emily Arrundel was sure that one of her friends was trying to murder her. She wrote to M. Hercule Poirot on the 17th April, but strangely her letter arrived on 28th June, after she had died of 'liver failure'. M. Poirot goes down to Littlegreen house to investigate......
Another Excellent 'whodunnit?' by Miss Christie, acknowledged queen of crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just love Agatha Christie!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I have seen every tv version ever made of her books, I find that the tv sets the scene of the period but the books get you inside the mind of Hercules Poirot. It is amazing,, we have all the same clues but he is the one to figure it out. This book is particularly charming with Bob the dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dumb Witness (BBC Audio)
Dumb Witness (BBC Audio) by Agatha Christie (Audio CD - 8 Jan 2007)
£7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews