Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bennett.....
3 of Alan Bennett`s short plays including 2 of his favourite leading ladies , Dame Thora and Patricia Routledge. I had read the first two before , the third , a dialogue between himself and Dame Judi Dench was a stranger to me . This collection is classic Bennett at it`s very best -- a joy to listen to . Hopefully more of his early works will find their way onto disc soon.
Published on 9 April 2007 by A. Bradley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I prefer watching the plays
I have enjoyed some of the plays on TV in the past, so I bought this to listen in the car on long journeys getting to work.
Unfortunately I found it a bit boring to listen to.
Maybe I am a bit of a phleb, but I will stick to the visual medium in future.
But for Alan Bennett fans who are less of a phleb than me, I should think this would fit the bill.
Published 16 months ago by bridgesilver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bennett....., 9 April 2007
By 
A. Bradley (BRENTWOOD, ESSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
3 of Alan Bennett`s short plays including 2 of his favourite leading ladies , Dame Thora and Patricia Routledge. I had read the first two before , the third , a dialogue between himself and Dame Judi Dench was a stranger to me . This collection is classic Bennett at it`s very best -- a joy to listen to . Hopefully more of his early works will find their way onto disc soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Alan Bennett, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Alan (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
Alan Bennett is the master of observation of the querkiness of people and situations. The 3 tales in the triple bill are wonderful examples of this, made even more enjoyable by the superb selection of the casts of these mini radio plays.
A joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Audiobook, 28 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
Three short stories written and adapted into mini plays by the author,Alan Bennett. Each play takes an unexpected turn of events which leave the listener thinking and amused by the outcome. I have listened to this disc several times and always enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life after Talking Heads, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
This collection of three two-handers is as good as the two series of "Talking Heads", and stylistically in similar mould. As always, the plots have a twist in the tail, and the casting is perfect - all the actors are Bennett regulars, including Bennett himself. The first two stories, though with comic moments, have serious undertones of unfulfilled wishes and nostalgia (again typical Alan Bennett) whereas the last is pure black comedy.

Another gem from possibly the most literate and entertaining author in Britain today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triple Bill, 12 Feb 2009
By 
P. J. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
A trilogy of very amusing, poignant stories, starring Patricia Routledge, Judi Dench, Hugh Lloyd, Imelda Staunton, Thora Hird, Brian Wilde, and even the author himself, Alan Bennett. Many 'laugh out loud' moments and a tonic after a hard day's work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant CD, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
I put it onto my Ipod and a flight never seemed so short. It not only gives you an excellent picture of the time but you also want to keep listening in order to find out what happens to all the characters. - And who could describe it better than Alan Bennet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Bennett Triple Bill CD, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
A good bargain : three Bennett pieces for the one price.
He's such a talented writer : and these stories are no exception,
with his usual humour,humility and acutely observed situations that we can all relate to.

Thankfully, though I'd ordered the CD late, the package arived early, in time to give as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you review Alan Bennett?, 1 Jun 2011
By 
DC (Horrible Hayes, Middx, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
Thanks again Alan.
I don't feel worthy to review your stuff. I just listened to it and really, really enjoyed it. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alan Benneitt, Triple bill, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
I thought it was going to be read like a story, but it was acted out like a play, we listened to it in the car and my husband who's Christmas present really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Bennett at his best, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Alan Bennett, Triple Bill (Audio CD)
What can you say about Alan Bennett? He just observes human life and reproduces all our idiosyncracies to perfection. It's on my iPod and I have listened to it several times. There are some wonderful moments - especially from Thora Hird, God bless her. Alan Bennett can make you laugh out loud one minute and cry the next. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Bennett, Triple Bill
Alan Bennett, Triple Bill by Alan Bennett (Audio CD - 2 April 2007)
£3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews