Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get these audiobooks
OK, why buy the CD version of the story for an extra five quid or so? Because it's read by David Tennant, and if you're like me and love the way his voice just bleeds with enthusiasm you'll want to give this a try. He reads the prose sections in his natural accent before effortlessly switching to the voice of the Doctor, as well as all the incidental characters - a...
Published on 23 July 2006 by Ms. K. M. Kitching

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit disappointing
I found this book a little bit disappointing. It is still good, but not nearly as good as I was expecting. It has some good one-liners and I suppose if your looking for a book about water monsters feasting on living drowned people this is just the thing! I'd still recommend you to read it!
Published on 6 Aug 2007 by dosn't matter who I am


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get these audiobooks, 23 July 2006
By 
Ms. K. M. Kitching "karen30002" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned: 2 (Audio CD)
OK, why buy the CD version of the story for an extra five quid or so? Because it's read by David Tennant, and if you're like me and love the way his voice just bleeds with enthusiasm you'll want to give this a try. He reads the prose sections in his natural accent before effortlessly switching to the voice of the Doctor, as well as all the incidental characters - a cleaning lady, an American admiral, an Indian shopkeeper, a little old lady from Edinburgh... I won't lie and say Rose and Mickey didn't give him a bit of trouble, but in this format the book feels far more like a real extra episode of Doctor Who, perfect for banishing those "end of series" blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve's done it again!, 11 April 2006
By 
Troo (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Steve's been awful busy of late, but I was excited to hear he'd been offered the rare opportunity of one of the latest batch of Doctor Who books to be released in conjunction with the new series.
Feast of the Drowned taps into one of humanity's primal fears - that of death by drowning - and uses it to devastating effect. As soon as the book starts the undercurrent sucks you in, flooding you with... okay, I'll pack it in, I promise.
Steve's also done his research into the workings and politics of the Royal Navy, and the text glows with the authenticity of its setting, providing a backdrop of personal power and military might that is almost as frightening as the mysterious ghostly apparitions and the drowning... Did I mention the drowning?
He also throws plenty of action at the reader. Right from the start this book is on the move, with the loss at sea of the Navy's latest, hugely expensive, technologically advanced warship. We have gorgeous set-pieces such as the Doctor crouched on the bow of a tug shouting directions through the tarpaulin-covered windows to the poor, blind driver within whilst under a hail of bullets from a squad of marines.
This one's right up there with Vanishing Point for sympathetic characters, twists and turns, and edge-of-the-seat thrills. If you only buy one Doctor Who book this year, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the first 3 tenth doctor books!, 18 April 2006
By 
V. K. Brennan "victoriakate88" (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having only watch two episodes with David Tennant as the new doctor this book i think really catches the personality and atributes of the tenth doctor! It feels very much like an episode that could be shown as part of the new series! There is a good plot development and all the characters bring their own emotions!

The thing that i liked about the book, is personally it was an easy read and hadt of action to keep you reeling through the chapters! I sometimes get confused by the technicality of the solutions to problems, but this ones easy to understand!

Would deinately recommend, but I'm just warning you that as a younger reader and not having watched/read beyond the ninth doctor my opinions are quite bias to the style of the newer doctors and characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waving not drowning, 18 May 2009
The Feast of the Drowned is the eighth original BBC Doctor Who novel to tie-in with the revived series, this time featuring The Tenth Doctor and travelling companion Rose Tyler.
The story as fast-paced and as accessible as you'd expect from this series, the plot isn't complicated and Stephen Cole has created a tense and creepy atmosphere from the start. His portrayal of the Tenth Doctor, as played by David Tennant on TV, is spot-on; with the right blend of quirkiness, manic energy, fierce intelligence, and the occasional burst of controlled anger at the stupidy and willfulness of his favourite species, humans .

The novel replicates the feel and characterizations of the TV show admirably, focusing as much on personal stories as the science fiction and fantasy. The plot reminded me a little of recent audio story `The Nemonite Invasion'; its story of possessed and `zombified' cadavers returning to life and its nautical setting. This is no bad thing though, as it retains its own character and style, and manages to link in to the TV series without slavishly adhering to continuity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars terror in the thames, 27 July 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an original novel featuring the tenth doctor who and his companion rose tyler. as usual with these it runs for 248 pages approx, can be read by readers of all ages, and tells an original story not one based on a tv episode.

the regular cast are well captured on the printed page, all the mannerisms of the characters coming across exactly as you would expect.

the story involves the loss of a royal navy vessel, and relatives of those on board being haunted by their ghosts. but is there more to it than meets the eye? the whole of london faces a deadly threat from beneath the river thames. can the doctor save the day?

grounded in present day london like so much of the early episodes of the new series, this starts very well with an intriguing set up. whilst it does devolve into a more standard runaround of a story later on, there's some decent stuff here. good supporting characters, an old friend of rose's who is strongly characterised thanks to a good subplot about her personal life, and quite an original alien race, who make for some creepy moments.

not the best in the range, but a slightly above average entry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit disappointing, 6 Aug 2007
I found this book a little bit disappointing. It is still good, but not nearly as good as I was expecting. It has some good one-liners and I suppose if your looking for a book about water monsters feasting on living drowned people this is just the thing! I'd still recommend you to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the Doctor!, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned: 2 (Audio CD)
I do hope the rest of the Doctor Who books get put to audio book and even more that David Tennant will read them, as he brings the stories alive. Find all those adventures they had while off screen. I used to have my mother read me to sleep as a child and now I have a sexy scot instead, definately an improvment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned: 2 (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift, the recipient, a 73 year old granny loves it!The price was very reasonable as audio books are very expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome Adventures with the Doctor and Rose as they uncover a fishy mystery beneath London's most used water way …the Thames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book years ago just when David Tennant started the role. Stephen Cole perfectly gets the Doctor's character right. A good creepy story which unfolds the enemies insidious plans not too soon. Good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned: 2
Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned: 2 by Stephen Cole (Audio CD - 3 July 2006)
9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews