Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun
This audiobook version of an original Doctor Who novel is great for fans wanting to fill the void now that the second series has finished airing. It's helped a lot by having David Tennant narrating, even though his impression of Billie Piper leaves a little to be desired. The story is very good and has the kind of character development many people say is lacking from the...
Published on 9 July 2006 by Mr. A. O'Meara

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the space pirates
a prose novel telling an all new doctor who story, featuring david tennant's tenth doctor and his companion rose tyler. as usual with these they can be read by all ages and the book is a self contained story in roughly 250 pages. this one came a couple of years ago when we hadn't seen much of the tenth doctor on screen at the time, but it captures the character...
Published on 10 Jun 2008 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 9 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. O'Meara "Mr. Paddy" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
This audiobook version of an original Doctor Who novel is great for fans wanting to fill the void now that the second series has finished airing. It's helped a lot by having David Tennant narrating, even though his impression of Billie Piper leaves a little to be desired. The story is very good and has the kind of character development many people say is lacking from the new, 45-minute story structure of the TV series. The Doctor's dialogue is as snappy and well-written as a Russell T. Davies script, particularly in his confrontation with a monster called Kevin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy parents and happy child, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: "Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
My daughter loves Doctor Who and reading but unfortunately suffers from the dreaded car sickness which makes reading in the car a no-no. We decided to try to pass the long holiday journey with an audio book to stop the 'Are we there yet?'and 'I need the sick bucket'outcries. It worked. She has listened to the story on every car trip we have made and loves it and there have been no 'buckets' required. She was particularly enamoured by the fact that the Doctor told the story and that he was a fellow Scot. We will definately be buying more audio as well as conventional Doctor Who books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shiver your timbers!, 14 Jun 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
`The Resurrection Casket' is utterly silly nonsense, but it's also charming, amusing and fun. Blatantly lifting `Treasure Island' (and numerous other pirate clichés) into a science fiction setting this boasts plenty of fun with the Doctor and Rose up against a crew of murderous steam-powered robots and a very unconventional other-dimensional monster. The plot is based around issues of hidden identity (like so many of Richards tales) and most of the plot-twists can be spotted 100 pages away, but this is still enjoyabele. This third 10th Doctor novel is easily the best of the initial batch of three, and indeed the best of Justin Richards three new series novels to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casket not a basket case for the Good Doctor, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
NOTE this is a review of the Audio Book only.

The great David Tennant reads this audio book and my how we do miss him from the TV series.
The book features the old team of the Doctor and Rose and
Justin Richards has wriiten a fine story and David Tennant more than adds to the narration.
He really brings the book and plot to life.

The story is enjoyable. If you're Dr Who fan on audio you will not be disappointed.
I could prdeict the ending a mile off but don't let that fool you it is such an enjoyable trip geting there helped by Tennants wondeful telling of the tale.

A word of warning.
This book in this format was released by the Radio Times as a freebie back in 2008. It was issued as a two parter on two seprate discs.
The story is still the same and read by David Tennant but the cheepo free version has no music so the retail version seems to be the superior BUT of course this does mean that there are an awful lot of copies of the Freebi version floating around and usually found in the 'make a donation box in your local charity stores so you may want to check those out first.
But you should get a good price on this music included version simply because it has been released in the free format.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the space pirates, 10 Jun 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
a prose novel telling an all new doctor who story, featuring david tennant's tenth doctor and his companion rose tyler. as usual with these they can be read by all ages and the book is a self contained story in roughly 250 pages. this one came a couple of years ago when we hadn't seen much of the tenth doctor on screen at the time, but it captures the character perfectly.

the story involves the doctor and rose getting stranded on a world with steam powered technology since more modern things don't work, and getting involved in the hunt for the lost treasure of a legendary space pirate. the setting is well realised and quite original and very stylish. all the characters are much the same, but the book never gets silly or stupid.

The one problem it has it that it takes about a hundred pages to get going, and the nature of the plot and story means younger readers will probably get more out of it than older ones. but stick with it because it does manage some good plot developments and some excellent twists. not a bad book, but could be a little better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Romp, 29 Mar 2007
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The TV tie-in book series continues from where the Ninth Doctor picks up with the Tenth Doctors latest batch of books. One of the things that is important for a Who fan is that the Doctor in question is written in character. Over the years a few writers haven't quite pulled it off and the reader has been left with 'auto doc' who comes over as a mixture of the writers favourite Doctor and the one they are attempting to write. However I can say despite the trappings of the book being so similar to the previous Doctor Justin Richards has nailed David Tennants character perfectly.

The book places The Doctor and Rose in a world of space pirates that feels a bit final fantasyesque. The plot soon kicks in and it's off on a treasure hunt. As expected in a Justin Richards book there's a few plot twists some of which are easily worked out but he sneaked a few in that got past me. Also there's a good lot of gags in here which made me smile and is an achievement considering I'm a bit of a grumpy sod (a clue for one that may pass over the kids heads is 'Bruce Foxton' I'll say no more).

I preferred the first half of the book where it threatened to become a better read than it eventually was but I can't see many people not enjoying it as its a fun enough read. The last half does get a bit bogged down as characters are chased down corridors and hide behind snooker tables. Also it doesn't know when to end and in all honesty could have ended a good 30 pages earlier and made a tighter read. As such it's a good read but the early bits promised something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 30 Oct 2006
This review is from: "Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
I love doctor who and david tennant, so this audio book was..in a word -brilliant! His voices add so much to the overall plot (although Rose does sound more cockney than we're used to!) But this doesn't ruin the flow of the story, and being able to hear the 'Real' Doctor's voice makes this much more exciting!

Excellent to listen to on long journey's, this is a brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 3 May 2014
By 
Dr. G. Pryce (University of Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the first Doctor Who book I'd read - although I'd listened to a couple of the audiobooks when I was younger - and I am quite impressed! Some brilliant ideas and unpredictable plot twists - overall very enjoyable. Some really exciting moments which keep you turning the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) (Audio CD)
Great CD for any Dr Who fan, our son loves it and has listened to it several times, especially great on long car journeys, we also have it on sons MP3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Resurrection Casket, 15 April 2013
Starfall - a world on the edge, where crooks and smugglers hide in the gloomy shadows and modern technology refuses to work. And that includes the TARDIS. The pioneers who used to be drawn by the hope of making a fortune from the mines can find easier picking elsewhere. But they still come for the romance of it, or old-fashioned organic mining. Or in the hope of finding the lost treasure of Hamlek Glint - scourge of the spaceways, privateer, adventurer, bandit.

Will the TARDIS ever work again? Is Glint's lost treasure waiting to be found? And does the fabled Resurrection Casket, the key to eternal life, really exist? With the help of new friends, and to the horror of new enemies, the Doctor and Rose aim to find out.

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Rose as played by David Tennant and Billie Piper in the acclaimed Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who)
"Doctor Who", the Resurrection Casket (Dr Who) by Justin Richards (Audio CD - 3 July 2006)
8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews